Author Topic: Avast 5.0.677 unable to update!  (Read 12653 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline bigspanner

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Re: Avast 5.0.677 unable to update!
« Reply #15 on: November 25, 2010, 10:02:47 PM »
Yes, both ENGINE AND VIRUS DEFINITIONS as well as PROGRAM are set to Automatic Update.

Offline bigspanner

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Re: Avast 5.0.677 unable to update!
« Reply #16 on: November 25, 2010, 10:05:44 PM »
Within the AvastUI, it says : SECURED. Your system is fully protected.

But when mouseover at the system tray icon, it says "Your system not fully protected".

Offline YoKenny

  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 8784
Re: Avast 5.0.677 unable to update!
« Reply #17 on: November 25, 2010, 10:11:06 PM »
Look at avast! shields control > to see if All shields are on.

What is your operating system and Service Pack level?

What is your system CPU and speed and ammount of RAM?
E5200 2.5GHZ, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit, avast! V9.0 Free, IE10
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3 32bit, avast! V9.0 Free, Google Chrome
with hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS

Offline bong2x

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 474
  • My system Protector is avast
Re: Avast 5.0.677 unable to update!
« Reply #18 on: November 25, 2010, 10:12:13 PM »
can you show us your settings?? maybe in self defense module.(See pic)
 
Hardware
Intel Core 2 Duo @ 2.20GHz,3GB RAM.
Software
OS->WinXp-pro Sp3.
Protection->avast Free 6.0.1091,MBAM,SAS
Browser->Firefox 4.0,IE8,G-chrome
Emergency Interface->unlocker 1.8.9

Life is a continue process of learning

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 70068
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Avast 5.0.677 unable to update!
« Reply #19 on: November 25, 2010, 10:19:35 PM »
Yes, both ENGINE AND VIRUS DEFINITIONS as well as PROGRAM are set to Automatic Update.

Go to: Settings - Status Bar
See, if anything is checked, that is not installed/running at your system.
Maybe post a screenshot, if you are not sure...
asyn
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.4.2460.B#1 [UI.612] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.10 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 78.10
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 90.0 - Cleanup 21.1 - SecureLine 5.11 - Driver Updater 21.1 - CCleaner 5.78
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline bigspanner

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Re: Avast 5.0.677 unable to update!
« Reply #20 on: November 25, 2010, 10:36:34 PM »
All the 7 services are turned on.
The Status Bar has ALL the monitored items ticked.
The AvastUI says system is fully protected.

But the system tray says otherwise.

So, this is what I did. I turned off one of the services. In this case, I turned off File System Shield.

Immediately, Windows Firewall prompts me saying "My Computer is At Risk. My Anti-virus is not updated".

So, I turned back on the service File System Shield.

Then I looked again at the system tray icon by mousing over it.

It says: avast1 Antivirus: Your system is secured.

So my guess it is a program bug.

Thanks, everyone for helping.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 70068
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Avast 5.0.677 unable to update!
« Reply #21 on: November 25, 2010, 10:40:59 PM »
1. So my guess it is a program bug.
2. Thanks, everyone for helping.

1. Usually a restart should fix this, but sometimes you need to wait for the next autoupdate to get this fixed...
2. You're welcome..!
asyn
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.4.2460.B#1 [UI.612] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.10 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 78.10
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 90.0 - Cleanup 21.1 - SecureLine 5.11 - Driver Updater 21.1 - CCleaner 5.78
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline bong2x

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 474
  • My system Protector is avast
Re: Avast 5.0.677 unable to update!
« Reply #22 on: November 25, 2010, 10:43:50 PM »
its not a bug it is called a software adoption.

sometimes you need to disable it and enable again so that it will be recognize  :D

thanks for sharing !!!

Best Regards!!!
Hardware
Intel Core 2 Duo @ 2.20GHz,3GB RAM.
Software
OS->WinXp-pro Sp3.
Protection->avast Free 6.0.1091,MBAM,SAS
Browser->Firefox 4.0,IE8,G-chrome
Emergency Interface->unlocker 1.8.9

Life is a continue process of learning

Offline bigspanner

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Re: Avast 5.0.677 unable to update!
« Reply #23 on: November 25, 2010, 10:53:00 PM »
Hi Asyn,

I think it is already fixed. By turning off any of the services and then turning it back on, my guess is that this refreshes the icon message shown when mouseover. Why it is behaving like that, only the program knows.

Now, it is showing "Your system is secured", which is similar to the message shown in the AvastUI interface.

So, thanks for raising the issue of the status bar to my attention which makes me think that most likely I need to turn off and on some services, to refresh the user interface and it worked.



Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 70068
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Avast 5.0.677 unable to update!
« Reply #24 on: November 25, 2010, 10:57:04 PM »
So, thanks for raising the issue of the status bar to my attention which makes me think that most likely I need to turn off and on some services, to refresh the user interface and it worked.

You're welcome..!! ;)
asyn
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.4.2460.B#1 [UI.612] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.10 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 78.10
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 90.0 - Cleanup 21.1 - SecureLine 5.11 - Driver Updater 21.1 - CCleaner 5.78
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline SafeSurf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5198
[RESOLVED] Re: Avast 5.0.677 unable to update!
« Reply #25 on: November 26, 2010, 10:22:55 AM »
@ bigspanner.

Now that your issue is resolved/fixed, please go back to the first open post in this topic, click the modify button in that Post and change the title/subject, add [Resolved] to the beginning of the title so this thread can be closed. 

Feel free to come back any time you need help, to learn something new, or just to ask questions.  We are here 24/7 for your convenience.  Thank you.
Mac 10.9.4 /Safari and Firefox (NoScript/AdBlockPlus/BetterPrivacy/Ghostey)/
Vista Home Prem (same add-on's)/Avast Free/Online Armor Premium Firewall/MBAM Premium)/ Mobile MBAM.