Author Topic: [Resolved] Juniper Networks Connect 6.5.0 and avast home don't work. Help!  (Read 28213 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40604
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Juniper Networks Connect 6.5.0 and avast home don't work. Help!
« Reply #30 on: November 29, 2010, 10:23:36 PM »
Run OTL
  • Under the Custom Scans/Fixes box at the bottom, paste in the following

    Quote
    :OTL
    IE - HKU\S-1-5-21-2909255213-1444390413-3995453835-1006\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings: "ProxyServer" = http=127.0.0.1:6711
    O3 - HKU\S-1-5-21-2909255213-1444390413-3995453835-1006\..\Toolbar\ShellBrowser: (no name) - {42CDD1BF-3FFB-4238-8AD1-7859DF00B1D6} - No CLSID value found.
    O3 - HKU\S-1-5-21-2909255213-1444390413-3995453835-1006\..\Toolbar\WebBrowser: (no name) - {2318C2B1-4965-11D4-9B18-009027A5CD4F} - No CLSID value found.
    O3 - HKU\S-1-5-21-2909255213-1444390413-3995453835-1006\..\Toolbar\WebBrowser: (no name) - {8FF5E180-ABDE-46EB-B09E-D2AAB95CABE3} - No CLSID value found.
    FF - prefs.js..network.proxy.autoconfig_url: "proxy.secureix.com"
    FF - prefs.js..network.proxy.backup.ftp: "83.138.182.254"
    FF - prefs.js..network.proxy.backup.ftp_port: 80
    FF - prefs.js..network.proxy.backup.gopher: "83.138.182.254"
    FF - prefs.js..network.proxy.backup.gopher_port: 80
    FF - prefs.js..network.proxy.backup.socks: "83.138.182.254"
    FF - prefs.js..network.proxy.backup.socks_port: 80
    FF - prefs.js..network.proxy.backup.ssl: "83.138.182.254"
    FF - prefs.js..network.proxy.backup.ssl_port: 80
    FF - prefs.js..network.proxy.ftp: "proxy.secureix.com"
    FF - prefs.js..network.proxy.ftp_port: 80
    FF - prefs.js..network.proxy.gopher: "proxy.secureix.com"
    FF - prefs.js..network.proxy.gopher_port: 80
    FF - prefs.js..network.proxy.http: "proxy.secureix.com"
    FF - prefs.js..network.proxy.http_port: 80
    FF - prefs.js..network.proxy.no_proxies_on: ""
    FF - prefs.js..network.proxy.share_proxy_settings: true
    FF - prefs.js..network.proxy.socks: "proxy.secureix.com"
    FF - prefs.js..network.proxy.socks_port: 80
    FF - prefs.js..network.proxy.ssl: "proxy.secureix.com"
    FF - prefs.js..network.proxy.ssl_port: 80

    :Files
    ipconfig /flushdns /c

    :Commands
    [purity]
    [resethosts]
    [emptytemp]
    [EMPTYFLASH]
    [CREATERESTOREPOINT]
    [Reboot]

  • Then click the Run Fix button at the top
  • Let the program run unhindered, reboot the PC when it is done
  • Open OTL again and click the Quick Scan button. Post the log it produces in your next reply.

pulp

  • Guest
Re: Juniper Networks Connect 6.5.0 and avast home don't work. Help!
« Reply #31 on: November 29, 2010, 11:18:11 PM »
FYI here is the log after Run Fix, running Quick Scan now:

All processes killed
========== OTL ==========
HKU\S-1-5-21-2909255213-1444390413-3995453835-1006\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings\\ProxyServer| /E : value set successfully!
Registry value HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-21-2909255213-1444390413-3995453835-1006\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Toolbar\ShellBrowser\\{42CDD1BF-3FFB-4238-8AD1-7859DF00B1D6} deleted successfully.
Registry key HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\CLSID\{42CDD1BF-3FFB-4238-8AD1-7859DF00B1D6}\ not found.
Registry value HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-21-2909255213-1444390413-3995453835-1006\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Toolbar\WebBrowser\\{2318C2B1-4965-11D4-9B18-009027A5CD4F} deleted successfully.
Registry key HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\CLSID\{2318C2B1-4965-11D4-9B18-009027A5CD4F}\ not found.
Registry value HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-21-2909255213-1444390413-3995453835-1006\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Toolbar\WebBrowser\\{8FF5E180-ABDE-46EB-B09E-D2AAB95CABE3} deleted successfully.
Registry key HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\CLSID\{8FF5E180-ABDE-46EB-B09E-D2AAB95CABE3}\ not found.
Prefs.js: "proxy.secureix.com" removed from network.proxy.autoconfig_url
Prefs.js: "83.138.182.254" removed from network.proxy.backup.ftp
Prefs.js: 80 removed from network.proxy.backup.ftp_port
Prefs.js: "83.138.182.254" removed from network.proxy.backup.gopher
Prefs.js: 80 removed from network.proxy.backup.gopher_port
Prefs.js: "83.138.182.254" removed from network.proxy.backup.socks
Prefs.js: 80 removed from network.proxy.backup.socks_port
Prefs.js: "83.138.182.254" removed from network.proxy.backup.ssl
Prefs.js: 80 removed from network.proxy.backup.ssl_port
Prefs.js: "proxy.secureix.com" removed from network.proxy.ftp
Prefs.js: 80 removed from network.proxy.ftp_port
Prefs.js: "proxy.secureix.com" removed from network.proxy.gopher
Prefs.js: 80 removed from network.proxy.gopher_port
Prefs.js: "proxy.secureix.com" removed from network.proxy.http
Prefs.js: 80 removed from network.proxy.http_port
Prefs.js: "" removed from network.proxy.no_proxies_on
Prefs.js: true removed from network.proxy.share_proxy_settings
Prefs.js: "proxy.secureix.com" removed from network.proxy.socks
Prefs.js: 80 removed from network.proxy.socks_port
Prefs.js: "proxy.secureix.com" removed from network.proxy.ssl
Prefs.js: 80 removed from network.proxy.ssl_port
========== FILES ==========
< ipconfig /flushdns /c >
Windows IP Configuration
Successfully flushed the DNS Resolver Cache.
C:\Downloads\cmd.bat deleted successfully.
C:\Downloads\cmd.txt deleted successfully.
========== COMMANDS ==========
C:\WINDOWS\System32\drivers\etc\Hosts moved successfully.
HOSTS file reset successfully
 
[EMPTYTEMP]
 
User: All Users
 
User: Default User
->Temp folder emptied: 0 bytes
->Temporary Internet Files folder emptied: 33170 bytes
->Flash cache emptied: 41 bytes
 
User: LocalService
->Temp folder emptied: 66016 bytes
->Temporary Internet Files folder emptied: 33170 bytes
 
User: LogMeInRemoteUser
->Temp folder emptied: 0 bytes
->Temporary Internet Files folder emptied: 0 bytes
 
User: NetworkService
->Temp folder emptied: 2263213 bytes
->Temporary Internet Files folder emptied: 49554 bytes
->Flash cache emptied: 405 bytes
 
User: SEM
->Temp folder emptied: 48045335 bytes
->Temporary Internet Files folder emptied: 6035621 bytes
->Java cache emptied: 1518100 bytes
->FireFox cache emptied: 84017100 bytes
->Google Chrome cache emptied: 0 bytes
->Apple Safari cache emptied: 0 bytes
->Flash cache emptied: 3753105 bytes
 
%systemdrive% .tmp files removed: 0 bytes
%systemroot% .tmp files removed: 2046743 bytes
%systemroot%\System32 .tmp files removed: 1260032 bytes
%systemroot%\System32\dllcache .tmp files removed: 0 bytes
%systemroot%\System32\drivers .tmp files removed: 0 bytes
Windows Temp folder emptied: 665171 bytes
%systemroot%\system32\config\systemprofile\Local Settings\Temp folder emptied: 78273880 bytes
%systemroot%\system32\config\systemprofile\Local Settings\Temporary Internet Files folder emptied: 103409 bytes
RecycleBin emptied: 419492495 bytes
 
Total Files Cleaned = 618.00 mb
 
 
[EMPTYFLASH]
 
User: All Users
 
User: Default User
->Flash cache emptied: 0 bytes
 
User: LocalService
 
User: LogMeInRemoteUser
 
User: NetworkService
->Flash cache emptied: 0 bytes
 
User: SEM
->Flash cache emptied: 0 bytes
 
Total Flash Files Cleaned = 0.00 mb
 
Restore point Set: OTL Restore Point (0)
 
OTL by OldTimer - Version 3.2.17.3 log created on 11292010_165659

Files\Folders moved on Reboot...
File move failed. C:\WINDOWS\temp\_avast5_\Webshlock.txt scheduled to be moved on reboot.

Registry entries deleted on Reboot...
« Last Edit: November 29, 2010, 11:23:11 PM by pulp »

pulp

  • Guest
Re: Juniper Networks Connect 6.5.0 and avast home don't work. Help!
« Reply #32 on: November 29, 2010, 11:28:27 PM »
Man, this forum really needs an upgrade!  ;)

The message exceeds the maximum allowed length (10000 characters).

 ???

I'll try attachment.

****EDIT****

Is the attachment okay with you?

« Last Edit: November 29, 2010, 11:31:47 PM by pulp »

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40604
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Juniper Networks Connect 6.5.0 and avast home don't work. Help!
« Reply #33 on: November 29, 2010, 11:47:46 PM »
Attachments are good

CAn you connect now ?

pulp

  • Guest
Re: Juniper Networks Connect 6.5.0 and avast home don't work. Help!
« Reply #34 on: November 30, 2010, 02:09:55 AM »
No, I still can't connect:

Please wait...

Launching Network Connect. This may take several minutes.


and it times out.... STOP avast and it works, go figure.  ???

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40604
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Juniper Networks Connect 6.5.0 and avast home don't work. Help!
« Reply #35 on: November 30, 2010, 09:27:24 PM »
Lets try a little test - Stop Avast and start the network, and connect.  Start Avast and does the connectivity remain or is it blocked.  This has the feel of a Proxy conflict 

pulp

  • Guest
Re: Juniper Networks Connect 6.5.0 and avast home don't work. Help!
« Reply #36 on: December 01, 2010, 02:06:29 AM »
Good news, I did my own test before seeing your post essexboy! Something told me to use Firefox, so I did and it Connected! We're not supposed to use FF but I'm a rebel.  8) ;) So then I thought: "Hmmmmmmmmm... perhaps Firefox jump started something and IE can now get in too!" Guess what?

IE connected!!!  :)

What do you think Firefox kicked into gear?

Thank you all guys, you worked it! :)

Issue RESOLVED!

(but I don't know how)  ;D





« Last Edit: December 01, 2010, 03:12:04 AM by pulp »

pulp

  • Guest
Re: Juniper Networks Connect 6.5.0 and avast home don't work. Help!
« Reply #37 on: December 01, 2010, 02:45:44 AM »
I went into the debug file now that Juniper is working, something to do with:

DSSETUP_PARAMFILE not in cmdline parameters, download only

How avast and IE relate to this.... I haven't a clue.

00174,09 2010/11/30 19:33:44.281 3 SEM JuniperExt.exe JuniperSetupExt p2028 t234 JuniperSetupExt.cpp:285 - 'WinMain()' cmdline :Host=intranet.xxxxxxxx.com;BrowserType=;BrowserProxy=
00159,09 2010/11/30 19:33:44.281 3 SEM JuniperExt.exe JuniperSetupExt p2028 t234 dsSetupClientHelper.cpp:39 - 'DSSetupClientHelper::isSetupClientInstalled()' starting
00162,09 2010/11/30 19:33:44.281 3 SEM JuniperExt.exe JuniperSetupExt p2028 t234 dsSetupClientHelper.cpp:48 - 'DSSetupClientHelper::isSetupClientInstalled()' return true
00163,09 2010/11/30 19:33:44.281 3 SEM JuniperExt.exe JuniperSetupExt p2028 t234 JuniperSetupExt.cpp:251 - 'DSSetupClientHelperExt::checkInstallation()' already installed
00160,09 2010/11/30 19:33:44.281 0 SEM JuniperExt.exe JuniperSetupExt p2028 t234 dsRetrieveNameValue.cpp:38 - 'DSNameValueRetrieve()' name not found: DSSETUP_PARAMFILE
00170,09 2010/11/30 19:33:44.281 3 SEM JuniperExt.exe JuniperSetupExt p2028 t234 JuniperSetupExt.cpp:298 - 'WinMain()' DSSETUP_PARAMFILE not in cmdline parameters, download only
00198,09 2010/11/30 19:34:36.390 0 SEM JuniperExt.exe JuniperSetupExt p3496 t70C dsWinLogserviceApiLib.cpp:834 - '***' **************************************************************************************
00130,09 2010/11/30 19:34:36.406 0 SEM JuniperExt.exe JuniperSetupExt p3496 t70C dsWinLogserviceApiLib.cpp:835 - '***'     JuniperExt.exe
« Last Edit: December 01, 2010, 02:48:17 AM by pulp »

pulp

  • Guest
Re: Juniper Networks Connect 6.5.0 and avast home don't work. Help!
« Reply #38 on: December 01, 2010, 03:04:03 AM »
Attached is the successful IE connect log, below is just a little picture. :)



« Last Edit: December 01, 2010, 03:08:58 AM by pulp »

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40604
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Juniper Networks Connect 6.5.0 and avast home don't work. Help!
« Reply #39 on: December 01, 2010, 09:38:49 PM »
Definitely something to do with proxy settings I feel - but how FF kicked it into action I am not sure, at least it works now  ;D

pulp

  • Guest
Re: Juniper Networks Connect 6.5.0 and avast home don't work. Help!
« Reply #40 on: December 01, 2010, 09:46:45 PM »
Definitely something to do with proxy settings I feel - but how FF kicked it into action I am not sure, at least it works now  ;D

That's because Firefox is so good (despite IT department not officially allowing it) it even fixes crappy Windows product problems.  ;D

Thanks again essexboy!  :)

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40604
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Juniper Networks Connect 6.5.0 and avast home don't work. Help!
« Reply #41 on: December 01, 2010, 09:50:17 PM »
And the added bonus is .... You know your system is clean  ;D

pulp

  • Guest
Re: Juniper Networks Connect 6.5.0 and avast home don't work. Help!
« Reply #42 on: December 01, 2010, 09:52:24 PM »
And the added bonus is .... You know your system is clean  ;D


 8)

Gonna get a new machine for Xmas. This one's a little too slow. ;-)
Will be loading avast! of course!  :)

YoKenny

  • Guest
Re: Juniper Networks Connect 6.5.0 and avast home don't work. Help!
« Reply #43 on: December 01, 2010, 10:16:01 PM »
That's because Firefox is so good (despite IT department not officially allowing it) it even fixes crappy Windows product problems.  ;D

If Firefox is so good then read this for your new system:
IE9, FF4 Beta In Real-World Benchmark
http://www.lucidchart.com/blog/2010/09/16/ie9-ff4-beta-in-real-world-benchmark

Your IT department knows better than you.  ;)

Go for a Windows 7 64bit system:
Benefits Of Windows 7 64-bit Operating System
http://www.bench3.com/2009/06/benefits-of-windows-7-64-bit-operating.html
« Last Edit: December 01, 2010, 10:18:35 PM by YoKenny »

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40604
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Juniper Networks Connect 6.5.0 and avast home don't work. Help!
« Reply #44 on: December 01, 2010, 10:30:01 PM »
Would concur with the 7 64bit system and IE9 - works well for me  ;D