Author Topic: ** INTRODUCING: BETA VERSION OF AVAST 5.1 [NOW 5.1.807] **  (Read 66775 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline logos

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9443
Re: ** INTRODUCING: BETA VERSION OF AVAST 5.1 [NOW 5.1.798] **
« Reply #30 on: December 07, 2010, 12:37:56 AM »
okay all works fine now, concerning the wrong program update prompt, doesn't happen anymore after installing the new package. But I got another problem, all shields are off after each reboot. They get re-activated in a click but still, there's a problem. Also, I'm getting the message again that my AIS license has expired, and that's probably causing the shields de-activation...lol, re-activating the shields reactivate my licence too. Okay no big deal.

 That said I just gave a shot to my first boot scan on W7/64 and it worked fine. For obvious reasons it cannot scan EFS files but that doesn't matter, I'm glad to have the boot scan again, last time was with 4.8 on Vista32.

edit: Hi Red ;)
w7 - ais7

Offline zfactor

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 280
Re: ** INTRODUCING: BETA VERSION OF AVAST 5.1 [NOW 5.1.798] **
« Reply #31 on: December 07, 2010, 12:42:30 AM »
i installed my lic and i still have the buy now green box at the top but it shows my normal subscription anyone else see this?
To many systems to list specs lol.. Avast internet security beta.

"Some days your the windshield. Some days your the bug"

Offline disPlay

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 240
  • DISPLAY!
Re: ** INTRODUCING: BETA VERSION OF AVAST 5.1 [NOW 5.1.798] **
« Reply #32 on: December 07, 2010, 12:44:00 AM »
Downloaded and Installed it. Everything is running smoothly here
"The quieter you become, the more you are able to hear."

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 82699
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: ** INTRODUCING: BETA VERSION OF AVAST 5.1 [NOW 5.1.798] **
« Reply #33 on: December 07, 2010, 12:48:03 AM »
OK I have seen my first Behaviour Shield event blocked, this belongs to Outpost Firewall Pro "ACS stands for Agnitum Client Security Service, part of Outpost Firewall Pro" which is required.

This is strange since Vlk said it was in Passive mode (so why would it record a blocking action ?):

Quote from: Vlk's 5.1.798 notes
*The Behavior Shield functionality is still incomplete in this build. And even in the final v5.1, it will work only in "passive mode", which means that the new sensors will be active but won't be stopping the attacks, just reporting them to our backend infrastructure (unless you have opted out from the avast! community membership). This is to allow us to collect enough data before enabling the real thing in Q1 2011.

Does this mean that although the Behaviour Shield says it has blocked this, that it actually hasn't (see image as it is running) ?

Edit: There is still no data relating to detections being entered into the BehaviourShield.txt file. This was something we were screaming in 5.0.677, but nothing seems to have been done about this as there were 12 & 9 so called infected items, image 3
« Last Edit: December 07, 2010, 12:58:33 AM by DavidR »
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.1.2397 (build 20.1.5069.558) UI-1.0.460/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro

Offline logos

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9443
Re: ** INTRODUCING: BETA VERSION OF AVAST 5.1 [NOW 5.1.798] **
« Reply #34 on: December 07, 2010, 12:52:40 AM »
nice option, the timing of Avast popups is now tweakable ;) ...also,I'm noticing that the quickscan (so a pre-set scan) sensitivity and packers settings are not grayed out anymore. IIRC this was already doable through Avast.ini but I preferred to leave it to default, well it's supposed to be a pre-set scan, but okay, may be that's just for the beta phase.

 Oh yes, no change at all with the firewall... I was expecting at least the ability to abort connections, may be in 6.0...
« Last Edit: December 07, 2010, 01:45:59 AM by Logos »
w7 - ais7

Offline zfactor

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 280
Re: ** INTRODUCING: BETA VERSION OF AVAST 5.1 [NOW 5.1.798] **
« Reply #35 on: December 07, 2010, 12:53:36 AM »
okay hmmm. if i do a fresh install and DELETE the 2 leftover folders from the uninstaller it works fine with no buy now green box???
To many systems to list specs lol.. Avast internet security beta.

"Some days your the windshield. Some days your the bug"

Offline Coolmario88

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1549
  • Bronies make the web go round
Re: ** INTRODUCING: BETA VERSION OF AVAST 5.1 [NOW 5.1.798] **
« Reply #36 on: December 07, 2010, 12:55:26 AM »
I hope i don't cause problem to anybody for asking but. Does the Interface of Avast 5.1 look different?
OS: Windows 10 64-bit
Webbrowser: Mozilla Firefox

Offline zfactor

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 280
Re: ** INTRODUCING: BETA VERSION OF AVAST 5.1 [NOW 5.1.798] **
« Reply #37 on: December 07, 2010, 12:56:18 AM »
no it really does not
To many systems to list specs lol.. Avast internet security beta.

"Some days your the windshield. Some days your the bug"

Offline jadinolf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1090
Re: ** INTRODUCING: BETA VERSION OF AVAST 5.1 [NOW 5.1.798] **
« Reply #38 on: December 07, 2010, 12:57:48 AM »
Many thanks Vlk
printed on 100% recycled bytes

Offline superhumanbean

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 414
Re: ** INTRODUCING: BETA VERSION OF AVAST 5.1 [NOW 5.1.798] **
« Reply #39 on: December 07, 2010, 01:00:17 AM »
  • The Antispam will not scan emails unless: "avast! 5" in Exchange Client Extentions is unchecked, with avast! Antispam checked in DCOM Add-ins. (This is in Outlook 2007)
  • The Firewall Packet Rules GUI bug is fixed, however, new rules that are added cannot be saved.
  • I'm also experiencing the problem with some of the shields turned off at startup. (Mail + Web)

So far that's what I've found.. from a clean install (from scratch). Will continue to test.
« Last Edit: December 07, 2010, 01:06:52 AM by GloobyGoob »
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Intel Core i7-7700HQ CPU / 16 GB RAM / Avast Ultimate / MBAM Free

Offline logos

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9443
Re: ** INTRODUCING: BETA VERSION OF AVAST 5.1 [NOW 5.1.798] **
« Reply #40 on: December 07, 2010, 01:03:01 AM »
hmm guys... I'm getting again and again the issue with all shields deactivated and a license expired message after each reboot, always fixed manually as I described above but it happens again.
 I installed from scratch, so an upgrade problem can't be the issue.

edit: the behavior shield doesn't seem to do more than it use to (on W7/64), not that it's just passive as Vlk described, but it still doesn't scan anything, probably still no rule sets like before.
« Last Edit: December 07, 2010, 01:07:04 AM by Logos »
w7 - ais7

Offline NON

  • Japanese User
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4245
  • Whatever will be, will be.
Re: ** INTRODUCING: BETA VERSION OF AVAST 5.1 [NOW 5.1.798] **
« Reply #41 on: December 07, 2010, 01:11:59 AM »
Installed and rebooted over 5.0.677 Free. Seems working properly.

OK I have seen my first Behaviour Shield event blocked, this belongs to Outpost Firewall Pro "ACS stands for Agnitum Client Security Service, part of Outpost Firewall Pro" which is required.

This is strange since Vlk said it was in Passive mode (so why would it record a blocking action ?):

Quote from: Vlk's 5.1.798 notes
*The Behavior Shield functionality is still incomplete in this build. And even in the final v5.1, it will work only in "passive mode", which means that the new sensors will be active but won't be stopping the attacks, just reporting them to our backend infrastructure (unless you have opted out from the avast! community membership). This is to allow us to collect enough data before enabling the real thing in Q1 2011.

Does this mean that although the Behaviour Shield says it has blocked this, that it actually hasn't (see image as it is running) ?

Edit: There is still no data relating to detections being entered into the BehaviourShield.txt file. This was something we were screaming in 5.0.677, but nothing seems to have been done about this as there were 12 & 9 so called infected items, image 3
Same here, but we can see some kind of details if you set BS options to "Ask".
I already see 5 "Asking" dialogs, 3 are about Mozy, 1 is services.exe and 1 is CIS.

Anyway, is it strange that there is too many (75) "blocked" actions, though "Analyzed" events are only 16... still increasing...
« Last Edit: December 07, 2010, 01:13:32 AM by NON »
Main: Win10 Pro 1909 64bit / Core i5-7400 3.0GHz / 16GB RAM / Avast 20 Premier Beta / Comodo Firewall 12
Mobile: Win10 Pro 1903 32bit, Vista SP2 32bit / Core 2 Duo SU9300 1.2GHz / 4GB RAM / Avast 20 Free / Windows Firewall Control
Phone: Android 2.3.4, 4.2.2 / Avast Mobile Security / Avast Anti-Theft

Avast の設定について解説しています。よろしければご覧ください。

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67275
Re: ** INTRODUCING: BETA VERSION OF AVAST 5.1 [NOW 5.1.798] **
« Reply #42 on: December 07, 2010, 01:22:44 AM »
1. The firewall popup is not dismissing in some cases. Need to be closed/killed. It's frozen.
2. I didn't install a custumized sound package. There is only the possibility of exclusion ???
3. The Behav blocked Mozy :'(
The best things in life are free.

Offline logos

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9443
Re: ** INTRODUCING: BETA VERSION OF AVAST 5.1 [NOW 5.1.798] **
« Reply #43 on: December 07, 2010, 01:25:23 AM »
nice on demand scan popup ;)
w7 - ais7

Offline Charyb

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2297
Re: ** INTRODUCING: BETA VERSION OF AVAST 5.1 [NOW 5.1.798] **
« Reply #44 on: December 07, 2010, 01:30:46 AM »
After three attempts to install finally got it. I guess I didn't get the correct install package the first two times. First time it reverted back to .677 after restart. Second time file shield and network shield did not work. Third time is a charm. I noticed that when you right click the avast ball that the menu disappears as it should now.
« Last Edit: December 07, 2010, 01:32:43 AM by Charyb »