Author Topic: ** INTRODUCING: BETA VERSION OF AVAST 5.1 [NOW 5.1.807] **  (Read 71875 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11805
    • AVAST Software
Re: ** INTRODUCING: BETA VERSION OF AVAST 5.1 [NOW 5.1.798] **
« Reply #90 on: December 07, 2010, 12:29:43 PM »
I also noticed that first letter of whatever connection analysed is corrupted in Network Shield! (See attached sccrenshot)

yeah I've seen the same (+- characters) appear during a full manual scan, no idea what that is ???

What full manual scan? I can see the problem in the network shield handler, but it's NS specific...

Offline logos

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9441
Re: ** INTRODUCING: BETA VERSION OF AVAST 5.1 [NOW 5.1.798] **
« Reply #91 on: December 07, 2010, 12:38:20 PM »
I also noticed that first letter of whatever connection analysed is corrupted in Network Shield! (See attached sccrenshot)

yeah I've seen the same (+- characters) appear during a full manual scan, no idea what that is ???

What full manual scan? I can see the problem in the network shield handler, but it's NS specific...


while I was running a full manual scan yesterday after a fresh install of 5.1, I saw these "+-" characters appear in the middle of a line while a folder was scanned.

edit: forget it, was probably unrelated to the related issue above, some scanned files here might actually contain the +- characters.

« Last Edit: December 07, 2010, 12:52:41 PM by Logos »
w7 - ais7

Offline colinlw

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: ** INTRODUCING: BETA VERSION OF AVAST 5.1 [NOW 5.1.798] **
« Reply #92 on: December 07, 2010, 12:40:56 PM »
Installed this latest beta 5.1.798 over the top of 5.0.677 and rebooted. Seems ok so far but i notice there is no avast scan context menu when using directory opus. So i can't right mouse button and avast scan folders of files in directory opus. It works ok though in the normal windows 7 file explorer etc.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: ** INTRODUCING: BETA VERSION OF AVAST 5.1 [NOW 5.1.798] **
« Reply #93 on: December 07, 2010, 12:43:14 PM »
Memory leak?
Computer freezing...
I'm trying to upload the memory dump (manual), but the ftp server dropped it 5 times... It's big (800Mb zip file).
The best things in life are free.

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11805
    • AVAST Software
Re: ** INTRODUCING: BETA VERSION OF AVAST 5.1 [NOW 5.1.798] **
« Reply #94 on: December 07, 2010, 12:47:18 PM »
Well, computer freezing is computer freezing, not necessarily a memory leak ;)
I can see only one upload going on (though it isn't going very fast) - no previous unfinished files; did you overwrite the previous one? I though there are no rights for that...

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11805
    • AVAST Software
Re: ** INTRODUCING: BETA VERSION OF AVAST 5.1 [NOW 5.1.798] **
« Reply #95 on: December 07, 2010, 12:48:24 PM »
Installed this latest beta 5.1.798 over the top of 5.0.677 and rebooted. Seems ok so far but i notice there is no avast scan context menu when using directory opus. So i can't right mouse button and avast scan folders of files in directory opus. It works ok though in the normal windows 7 file explorer etc.

And it was there in 5.0.677, i.e. has it disappeared in the new version?

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: ** INTRODUCING: BETA VERSION OF AVAST 5.1 [NOW 5.1.798] **
« Reply #96 on: December 07, 2010, 01:10:52 PM »
Well, computer freezing is computer freezing, not necessarily a memory leak ;)
I can see only one upload going on (though it isn't going very fast) - no previous unfinished files; did you overwrite the previous one? I though there are no rights for that...
Tech's.Frozen.Computer.7z
The best things in life are free.

Offline colinlw

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: ** INTRODUCING: BETA VERSION OF AVAST 5.1 [NOW 5.1.798] **
« Reply #97 on: December 07, 2010, 01:19:09 PM »
Installed this latest beta 5.1.798 over the top of 5.0.677 and rebooted. Seems ok so far but i notice there is no avast scan context menu when using directory opus. So i can't right mouse button and avast scan folders of files in directory opus. It works ok though in the normal windows 7 file explorer etc.

And it was there in 5.0.677, i.e. has it disappeared in the new version?


Yes it was there in the previous version. And now gone in this beta version. Thanks

Offline spede1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: ** INTRODUCING: BETA VERSION OF AVAST 5.1 [NOW 5.1.798] **
« Reply #98 on: December 07, 2010, 01:52:30 PM »
So to activate this 5.1 beta, we can just use our full version license file?

Offline logos

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9441
Re: ** INTRODUCING: BETA VERSION OF AVAST 5.1 [NOW 5.1.798] **
« Reply #99 on: December 07, 2010, 02:15:29 PM »
okay this is still happening >>> BSOD when uninstalling Opera11 >>> "System_Service_Exception"

1 this only happens when Avast is installed (well Opera doesn't load any driver so that must be something else conflicting, and the answer is Avast, as there's no problem uninstalling Opera11 when Avast is not there).

2 this happened already here on a previous install of Windows (W7/64) with Avast 5.0.677 and Opera 11 alpha), so, as I've had (for unrelated reasons here) to re-install Windows in the meantime, my setup is not the cause.

3 I could reproduce just now with Avast 5.1.798 and Opera11 beta ( http://my.opera.com/desktopteam/blog/2010/12/06/extension-improvements-updates-to-core-and-some-other-nice-fixes ), any attempt to uninstall Opera leads to a blue screen, did it twice a few minutes ago.

4 when it first happened, as said with Avast 5.0.677 and Opera 11alpha, I already emailed Vlk about it, uploaded a memory dump to Avast ftp and gave Vlk the password, so I guess there's no need to go through that again, concerning this issue, Avast has my data already. Please fix that ;)

edit: just adding if needed that of course Opera 11 can be properly uninstalled in safe mode (i.e. when Avast isn't loaded) or in normal mode, when Avast is not installed at all.
« Last Edit: December 07, 2010, 02:57:28 PM by Logos »
w7 - ais7

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9384
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re: ** INTRODUCING: BETA VERSION OF AVAST 5.1 [NOW 5.1.798] **
« Reply #100 on: December 07, 2010, 02:41:33 PM »
So, will Behavior Shield work under 64bit systems in avast! 5.1 version? AVG Identity Protection works even on 64bit systems, ThreatFire works, just not avast! Behavior Shield...
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline nmb

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3060
Re: ** INTRODUCING: BETA VERSION OF AVAST 5.1 [NOW 5.1.798] **
« Reply #101 on: December 07, 2010, 02:46:30 PM »
Betanews have been mislead : Pro Free

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 7077
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: ** INTRODUCING: BETA VERSION OF AVAST 5.1 [NOW 5.1.798] **
« Reply #102 on: December 07, 2010, 03:14:43 PM »
All is Okay after some messing around with my Firewalls ...shutting down Avast Service then everything stopped only to restart in a few moments and now all is working great ;D

Just an update...After a couple of reboots it turns out 5.1 hangs my one XP2003 Os with OA Premium FW not reacting well the new kid on the block ...while my XP 2002 with OP PRo FW doesn't seem to mind the new version at all.
So after a clean uninstall and a clean install of the 5.1 install pkg. the install process didn't want to get by the "qick systen scan" at the end of the install....scanned for 2.5hrs ??? not so quick...and hung with no apparent activity. Did a clean uninstall of 5.1 and reinstall 5.677 and Vwalla...running smooth again. Will try again later..Also, the install time and process was quite abit longer with 5.1.then with 5.677>>> Why would that be??? :-\
***HP ENVY 15K LT W10 Pro 21H1 64Bit/750GB HD/16GB Ram/Avast Premium 21.9.2491b/Secureline VPN v.5.12.5699b/ADU v.21.3b/ASB v.94.0b/SANDBOXIE-plus/MailWasherPRO
**HP Compaq 8510p LT W10 Pro 20H2 64Bit/1TB HD/8GB Ram/WD/ADU v.21.3b/SANDBOXIE/MailWasherPRO/HotSpot Shield
     
RIP*Dell Inspiron XPsp4 PRO 32Bit/Avast(since 2002)18.8.2356/WP/Comodo FW 3.14/Secureline/Comodo IceDragon v.40
LAYERED SECURITY SOFTWARE

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: ** INTRODUCING: BETA VERSION OF AVAST 5.1 [NOW 5.1.798] **
« Reply #103 on: December 07, 2010, 03:22:31 PM »
So to activate this 5.1 beta, we can just use our full version license file?
Already answered. Yes.
The best things in life are free.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: ** INTRODUCING: BETA VERSION OF AVAST 5.1 [NOW 5.1.798] **
« Reply #104 on: December 07, 2010, 03:24:17 PM »
Well, computer freezing is computer freezing, not necessarily a memory leak ;)
I can see only one upload going on (though it isn't going very fast) - no previous unfinished files; did you overwrite the previous one? I though there are no rights for that...
Tech's.Frozen.Computer.7z
I give up... My Internet connection is not that good to upload 800Mb... I've tried 6 times.
Do you really need the dump file or the freeze is already reproducible in your computers?
The best things in life are free.