Author Topic: update internet security  (Read 4994 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline krypton

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 328
update internet security
« on: December 11, 2010, 06:10:55 PM »
i have not updated my internet security from last 2 months so i m now  vps update from http://www.avast.com/download-update

is that update contains all definitions till today? and how to put that file in avast?
I GOT LAPTOP.

LAPTOP: LENOVO G50, 4 GB RAM. 500 GB HARD DISK,AVAST INTERNET SECURITY 2015, WINDOWS 8.1 LICENSE VERSION

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 72256
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: update internet security
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2010, 06:25:13 PM »
It contains the complete virus definitions up to the time it was updated on the server, I would guess that it is fairly up to date. In any case a manual update from the avastUI would pick up any incremental updates from that date.

The file downloaded is an executable and you just run it as any executable to update avast. You may have to disable the avast self-defence module first.
Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 2015 10.3.2224 R3 SP1beta / Outpost Firewall Pro9.1/ Firefox 39.0, NoScript, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro/ DropMyRights/ MalwareBytes AntiMalware Premium 2.1.6/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security

Offline krypton

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 328
Re: update internet security
« Reply #2 on: December 11, 2010, 06:33:53 PM »
u mean i have to double click on that file which i downloaded now, and how to disable self defence module?
I GOT LAPTOP.

LAPTOP: LENOVO G50, 4 GB RAM. 500 GB HARD DISK,AVAST INTERNET SECURITY 2015, WINDOWS 8.1 LICENSE VERSION

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 72256
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: update internet security
« Reply #3 on: December 11, 2010, 06:37:40 PM »
Yes, the same as you would to run any .exe file.

I said you may have to disable it, try it first and see if it works, if not then you have to. AvastUI, Settings, Troubleshooting, and uncheck the entry for it, see image.
Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 2015 10.3.2224 R3 SP1beta / Outpost Firewall Pro9.1/ Firefox 39.0, NoScript, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro/ DropMyRights/ MalwareBytes AntiMalware Premium 2.1.6/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security

Offline YoKenny

  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 8798
Re: update internet security
« Reply #4 on: December 11, 2010, 08:52:32 PM »
I see WINDOWS XP SP2 ::)

Support for Windows XP Service Pack 2 ends on July 13, 2010
http://support.microsoft.com/gp/lifean31
E5200 2.5GHZ, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit, avast! V9.0 Free, IE10
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3 32bit, avast! V9.0 Free, Google Chrome
with hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS

Offline krypton

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 328
Re: update internet security
« Reply #5 on: December 11, 2010, 09:39:08 PM »
I see WINDOWS XP SP2 ::)

Support for Windows XP Service Pack 2 ends on July 13, 2010
http://support.microsoft.com/gp/lifean31
i changed to sp3  8)
I GOT LAPTOP.

LAPTOP: LENOVO G50, 4 GB RAM. 500 GB HARD DISK,AVAST INTERNET SECURITY 2015, WINDOWS 8.1 LICENSE VERSION

Offline krypton

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 328
Re: update internet security
« Reply #6 on: December 11, 2010, 09:42:33 PM »
i updated ais

current version is 101211-1

update program is 5.0.677

is this latest definition?how to check if it is latest or old?
I GOT LAPTOP.

LAPTOP: LENOVO G50, 4 GB RAM. 500 GB HARD DISK,AVAST INTERNET SECURITY 2015, WINDOWS 8.1 LICENSE VERSION

Offline Gargamel360

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2351
  • Memento Mori
Re: update internet security
« Reply #7 on: December 11, 2010, 09:56:25 PM »
You are as up-to-date as I am, same definition and version number.
Signature?  But I gots no pen....

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 72256
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: update internet security
« Reply #8 on: December 11, 2010, 09:56:47 PM »
1. Update your signature to indicate XP SP3 and you won't get people 'yokenny' telling you it is out of date.

2. The virus definitions version is in the form of a date, YY (year) MM (month) DD (day) -0 (first update of that day or -1 3nd update) 101211-1 = 11th December 2010 2nd update of the day. So it is fairly easy at a cursory look that yours is up to date or certainly for that day.

3. You can do a manual update check for the Program and that checks you have the latest program version (doesn't look for beta versions unless you are using it) and virus definitions.
Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 2015 10.3.2224 R3 SP1beta / Outpost Firewall Pro9.1/ Firefox 39.0, NoScript, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro/ DropMyRights/ MalwareBytes AntiMalware Premium 2.1.6/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security

Offline krypton

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 328
Re: update internet security
« Reply #9 on: December 11, 2010, 10:09:31 PM »
i updated now.

is there any way to backup virus definitons from my avast so that i dont have to download whole definition setup again for next time.
I GOT LAPTOP.

LAPTOP: LENOVO G50, 4 GB RAM. 500 GB HARD DISK,AVAST INTERNET SECURITY 2015, WINDOWS 8.1 LICENSE VERSION

Offline YoKenny

  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 8798
Re: update internet security
« Reply #10 on: December 11, 2010, 10:26:37 PM »
Happy to see a WINDOWS 7 ULTIMATE user here.

The 2010 virus update history:
http://www.avast.com/virus-update-history-2010
E5200 2.5GHZ, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit, avast! V9.0 Free, IE10
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3 32bit, avast! V9.0 Free, Google Chrome
with hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS

Offline krypton

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 328
Re: update internet security
« Reply #11 on: December 11, 2010, 10:52:40 PM »
i want to backup avast definitions from my avast software.is there any file in alwil software folder so i can copy it for next time.

in some av having that feature  to backup downloaded definiton files ;)
I GOT LAPTOP.

LAPTOP: LENOVO G50, 4 GB RAM. 500 GB HARD DISK,AVAST INTERNET SECURITY 2015, WINDOWS 8.1 LICENSE VERSION

Offline krypton

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 328
Re: update internet security
« Reply #12 on: January 01, 2011, 12:23:02 PM »
nobody said?i want to copy file in which definitions stored.
I GOT LAPTOP.

LAPTOP: LENOVO G50, 4 GB RAM. 500 GB HARD DISK,AVAST INTERNET SECURITY 2015, WINDOWS 8.1 LICENSE VERSION

Offline Avastfan1

  • Advanced Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 968
Re: update internet security
« Reply #13 on: January 01, 2011, 01:26:24 PM »
Why?
Window 7 Home Premium - Avast Pro 7.0.1474 - PC Tools Firewall Plus 7.0.0.123 - MBAM 1.70 - Firefox 17.0.1 - NoScript 2.6.4.2 - Adblock Plus 2.2.1

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11422
    • AVAST Software
Re: update internet security
« Reply #14 on: January 02, 2011, 10:36:09 AM »
Sorry, the definitions are not stored in one file and the program doesn't support just "copying them back" in the case of restore - it would probably damage the program state.