Author Topic: Recognizing Avast  (Read 3811 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline tombailey

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Recognizing Avast
« on: August 20, 2004, 01:45:01 AM »
Hope this isn't an old question but I just installed Avast and my firewall (ZoneAlarm Pro) says it can't detect an antivirus program running.  I don't know that this matters but, how do I know if Avast is running?  I see a tray icon for Avast on-access scanner.  I'm running Windows 2K.

Thanks

Offline inthewildteam

  • Advanced Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 772
  • Computers can do that?
Re:Recognizing Avast
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2004, 01:56:05 AM »
Hope this isn't an old question but I just installed Avast and my firewall (ZoneAlarm Pro) says it can't detect an antivirus program running.  I don't know that this matters but, how do I know if Avast is running?  I see a tray icon for Avast on-access scanner.  I'm running Windows 2K.

Thanks

Welcome to the forums, I'm new and still learning also.

I think a search might throw up some issues about a particular version of ZoneAlarm and various anti-virus programmes, but thats from memory (and mine isn't what it used to be)

If you want to verify that avast! is running, try downloading the eicar test from here.

Just make sure the pc speaker volume isn't set too high!

http://www.eicar.org/anti_virus_test_file.htm
So? I drive a Citroen

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31309
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re:Recognizing Avast
« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2004, 01:56:19 AM »
See the blue spinning sometimes? If so Avast is working

Offline bob3160

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 45258
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:Recognizing Avast
« Reply #3 on: August 20, 2004, 02:37:29 AM »
tombailey
ZA doesn't recognize Avast! It's their loss not ours.
Here is my setting.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v20H2 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline inthewildteam

  • Advanced Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 772
  • Computers can do that?
Re:Recognizing Avast
« Reply #4 on: August 20, 2004, 02:41:27 AM »
Beaten to the reply again!

Heres the info I thought a search might reveal it might not be avast!'s fault

http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,10896814~mode=flat

So? I drive a Citroen

Offline bob3160

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 45258
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:Recognizing Avast
« Reply #5 on: August 20, 2004, 03:13:53 PM »
HERE is the complete link
Sorry inthewildteam
Guess you forgot to use Insert Hyperlik function. http:// The fault is with ZA they only like the Big Boys.
I just turn the function off cause the two programs work very well together provided you use the latest version.
« Last Edit: August 20, 2004, 03:16:18 PM by bob3160 »
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v20H2 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline tombailey

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re:Recognizing Avast
« Reply #6 on: August 20, 2004, 07:47:56 PM »
Thanks to all for the info and background.