Author Topic: Stopped 'script blocker' keeps blocking?  (Read 12139 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 48645
  • 64 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:Stopped 'script blocker' keeps blocking?
« Reply #15 on: August 24, 2004, 03:04:41 AM »
jimn
Quote
I do now see that it still is a "work in progress" and I will try to do my bit towards improving the product.
Remember, so is Windows. :)
We have a special post just for suggestions.
You'll find it HERE
Free Security Seminar: https://bit.ly/bobg2023  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v24H2 64bit, 32 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 24.4.6112, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Re:Stopped 'script blocker' keeps blocking?
« Reply #16 on: August 24, 2004, 03:29:59 AM »
I don't know what kind of words you want me to use here...

Sorry. Feel free to post. Maybe it wasn't my best day  :'(

My problem:

I have a small but very useful application that stopped working as soon as I installed Avast! and worked properly again as soon as I removed Avast! using the prescribed program. I have rinstalled Avast! now that this has been proven, becuase I want to get BOTH working well.

Can you post the name of this application and a link to download it? Is it a freeware?

The application is a small window holding icons for links to web sites that I go to often. It remembers:
1) for links that were open when I stopped this app., re-opens them again when I restart the app.
2) the screen size that I had set up for EACH of those links, each a different size.
3) the screen position that the link was at when it was opened last time.
This is a WONDERFUL FREEDOM from IE's "everything the last size" method of operation!

No doubt, seems a very good tool  8)

The application can no longer detect that any link is open. When it 'sees' a link being opened it puts a red box around the icon to indicate it is an opened link. Now, with Avast! installed, it flashes the red box when I d-click a link in it's window but then the box disappears again.

So the application seems to believe that the link was closed again as soon as it was opened.

The only thing I can do know is testing this application in my computer...
I can't imagine why avast is doing this but, can you uninstall the Script Blocker (Control Panel > Add/Remove programs > avast antivirus > Remove/Change and then un-check this module) and see what we get  ???
The best things in life are free.

jimn

  • Guest
Re:Stopped 'script blocker' keeps blocking?
« Reply #17 on: August 24, 2004, 03:42:00 AM »
GOOD NEWS...

I contacted the developer of the application to ask if he had heard of such a problem and ask if he had some workaround.

He had not, and did not. But he did have a new version where development is nearing completion and he was good enough to let me have a pre-release copy. When I replaced the old with the new things got right back to normal.

The name of the application is "MONTAGE" and it has tamed the unwieldy IE for me.
The version I had, the original, was indeed freeware. I don't know about the new version, nor do I know when it will be ready for prime time. But I will ask the developer and report back here once I have his reply.

regards

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Re:Stopped 'script blocker' keeps blocking?
« Reply #18 on: August 24, 2004, 03:48:04 AM »
Jimn, I couldn't be better  8)
Thanks for let us know we are not crazy about avast behavior.
Right now I'm trying to Google the Montage software...

Unfortunatelly, the only one I found it's not a freeware anymore...
http://www.download.com/MyMontage/3000-2356-10172550.html?tag=lst-0-2

Here the description of it: MyMontage is a new web browser that is based upon the standard Microsoft Multiple Document Interface (MDI), enabling users to view multiple sites simultaneously. MyMontage remembers the exact position of each site that is being viewed, so that if you always scroll to a certain position to avoid banner advertisements or menus, MyMontage will automate this for you. MyMontage allows you to create multiple ‘Montages’ containing different types of web content, so as an example you could create a share price montage and a news montage. Additionally, MyMontage suppresses pop-up advertisements and provides an automatic window refresh feature..
The best things in life are free.

jimn

  • Guest
Re:Stopped 'script blocker' keeps blocking?
« Reply #19 on: August 24, 2004, 03:59:57 AM »
That look like a different product altogether.

I have sent a note to the developer and expect I will hear back from him tomorrow.

His is simpler and, in my opinion, more useful looking than the screen shots of the one you found.

I have my MONTAGE set up as a small line of icons in its window and any icon I click opens the site on thye desktop and I am free to move/resize it as I choose. The one you found seems to restrict the web pages to its own window.

Anyway, I will let you know.

By the way, given what I was observing, it made sense to me that Avast! was the cause of the malfunction. I think it should also make sense to you. But now that it's fixed, I am quite very happy because no one has to change anything yet all are now happy. It doesn't get better than that!

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11658
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Stopped 'script blocker' keeps blocking?
« Reply #20 on: August 24, 2004, 01:33:57 PM »
Hi,

glad it works now.

Did the developer of the program tell you what did he fix in the new version? That is, what was the workaround (technically)?

It would be interesting for us to know if there's something wrong in avast or it was rather a problem in the program itself...

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

jimn

  • Guest
Re:Stopped 'script blocker' keeps blocking?
« Reply #21 on: August 24, 2004, 01:50:31 PM »
When I informed him that the new version solved the problem he responded with the following:
"The problem is the splash screen, however transient, which I gather is related to their script-blocking feature.  The newer version of Montage is smarter about not being fooled by such distractions.".

So I cannot say what he did in the program, but since he was unaware of this specific problem and sent me the newer version quickly after my message, I gather that he had "tightened up the code" in that area of the program independently of this issue.

Sorry that I cannot be more precise.

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11658
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Stopped 'script blocker' keeps blocking?
« Reply #22 on: August 24, 2004, 02:20:21 PM »
OK, so it seems that it's not a bug on either side, it's just a plain incompatibility -- the program unexpected the creation of the splash screen.

Anyway, we'll modify the program to show the splash only if the provider is running.


Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Re:Stopped 'script blocker' keeps blocking?
« Reply #23 on: August 24, 2004, 02:54:03 PM »
Jimn, can you post a link to download that application? or, at least, post the email of the developer? Thanks.
The best things in life are free.

morkus

  • Guest
Re:Stopped 'script blocker' keeps blocking?
« Reply #24 on: September 07, 2004, 12:15:45 AM »
Jimn, can you post a link to download that application? or, at least, post the email of the developer? Thanks.

Hi,

Sorry for the delay, but if you're still interested, please go to http://www.ideaxchg.com/montage/.  The problem that Jimn was running into occurred with build #373, which is still available for download.  The latest release, build #517 (just out), fixes this and includes numerous enhancements.  You can obtain it by submitting a free registration form.

Montage is a general-purpose utility for launching, monitoring, and controlling diverse applications.  It needs to identify the application's main window, which can be tricky, since not all applications are "well-behaved".  Recent improvements in Montage's detection logic have made it less likely to be confused by popup windows and other extraneous activity, so it happened (fortunately) to fix the problem with Avast's script-blocker.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Re:Stopped 'script blocker' keeps blocking?
« Reply #25 on: September 07, 2004, 12:33:09 AM »
You can obtain it by submitting a free registration form.

It doesn't seem to be free (http://www.ideaxchg.com/montage/buy.htm)  :-\
The best things in life are free.

morkus

  • Guest
Re:Stopped 'script blocker' keeps blocking?
« Reply #26 on: September 07, 2004, 12:59:53 AM »
You can obtain it by submitting a free registration form.

It doesn't seem to be free (http://www.ideaxchg.com/montage/buy.htm)  :-\

It's a fully functional shareware application, with no time limits, nag screens, or any other gimmicks.  This from the EULA:
"You may, at no cost: ... use Montage as long as it takes to decide if it meets your needs" ;D