Author Topic: (Resolved)Web shield not really running  (Read 4362 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

yongsua

  • Guest
(Resolved)Web shield not really running
« on: December 28, 2010, 04:17:12 PM »
I don't know why the web shield is not really running?I tried to repair and it doesn't work.
« Last Edit: December 29, 2010, 04:26:22 PM by yongsua »

Offline CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 11248
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: Web shield not really running
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2010, 04:53:08 PM »
You need to post this in the beta section, since your signiture shows you are running an outdated version of the beta you either need to update your signiture or upgrade to the latest beta.

yongsua

  • Guest
Re: Web shield not really running
« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2010, 04:59:50 PM »
Sorry,I forgot to change my signature.I am using the 5.0 version currently. :-[

Silk0

  • Guest
Re: Web shield not really running
« Reply #3 on: December 28, 2010, 05:07:21 PM »
Odd... i have installed the version 5.0.677 in my main machine and is working well.

Maybe a reboot or an installation from scratch?


Offline CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 11248
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: Web shield not really running
« Reply #4 on: December 28, 2010, 05:20:12 PM »
Mine is working fine, try a repair first before you do anything else.
How did you delet the beta?

Silk0

  • Guest
Re: Web shield not really running
« Reply #5 on: December 28, 2010, 05:25:10 PM »
Mine is working fine, try a repair first before you do anything else.
How did you delet the beta?

yongsua already tried and didn't work, craigb. See first post.
That's why i recommended a reboot or an installation from scratch. ;)
By the way, the question is for me?

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 7168
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: Web shield not really running
« Reply #6 on: December 28, 2010, 05:33:18 PM »
Mine is working fine, try a repair first before you do anything else.
How did you delet the beta?

yongsua already tried and didn't work, craigb. See first post.
That's why i recommended a reboot or an installation from scratch. ;)
By the way, the question is for me?

If a Clean Install is the decision chosen, please follow these directions:

  Please Download the latest version of Avast, 5.0.677 http://files.avast.com/iavs5x/setup_av_free_eng.exe (English only) and save it to your hard drive where you can access it easily.
 Then download the Avast Clean up Utility http://www.avast.com/uninstall-utility and save it to your hard drive where you can access it easily.
Please go to Start/Control Panel/Add and Remove Programs and choose Avast and click Remove and then Uninstall. Once the uninstall process is completed, Reboot your computer and when up and running, Reboot again into 'Safe Mode' and find the (aswClear v5) download you saved to your hard drive and run the Clean up tool. Make sure you first choose the version you want to cleanup and then run the tool, your computer will automatically reboot. Once up and running in Normal Mode, Install the latest version of Avast you saved to your hard drive and Walla! All should be fine. Please remember you need to choose the version in the Clean up tool that you have had installed on your system. If you have had both v.4 and v.5 installed, then you need to follow the ‘safe mode’ process twice; once for each version separately.
If you have any problems please feel free to let us know.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 89428
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Web shield not really running
« Reply #7 on: December 28, 2010, 05:41:49 PM »
@ yongsua
Have you at some point had the beta build installed, if so what build number) ?

If so that changed the web shield redirect from 80 to 0 this scanned all http traffic on any port (that is what the 0 meant) if you went back to 5.0.677 without doing a full clean install (including using the aswclear5.exe uninstall utility), then that setting may still be applied.

Check out the avastUI, Settings, Troubleshooting, Redirect Settings, WEB: and ensure that the HTTP port(s) is set to 80.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.6.6121 (build 24.6.9241.848) UI 1.0.809/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 11248
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: Web shield not really running
« Reply #8 on: December 28, 2010, 07:35:16 PM »
Mine is working fine, try a repair first before you do anything else.
How did you delet the beta?

yongsua already tried and didn't work, craigb. See first post.
That's why i recommended a reboot or an installation from scratch. ;)
By the way, the question is for me?
Yes i had forgotten that the op metioned that he already tried a repair, still waiting to see how he deleted the beta though as he could have the problem that DavidR is talking about.
Iv got no idea what your talking about, make's no sense ( the question is for me ) ???

yongsua

  • Guest
Re: Web shield not really running
« Reply #9 on: December 29, 2010, 04:25:48 PM »
@ yongsua
Have you at some point had the beta build installed, if so what build number) ?

If so that changed the web shield redirect from 80 to 0 this scanned all http traffic on any port (that is what the 0 meant) if you went back to 5.0.677 without doing a full clean install (including using the aswclear5.exe uninstall utility), then that setting may still be applied.

Check out the avastUI, Settings, Troubleshooting, Redirect Settings, WEB: and ensure that the HTTP port(s) is set to 80.


Yup,you are right.My previous http(s) port was 0 and I just changed it to 80.Thanks.Now my problem resolved.
« Last Edit: December 29, 2010, 04:27:24 PM by yongsua »

Offline CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 11248
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: (Resolved)Web shield not really running
« Reply #10 on: December 29, 2010, 04:36:26 PM »
Glad your problem is now fixed :) could you please go to your first post and add resolved to the title, thank's  :)

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 89428
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: (Resolved)Web shield not really running
« Reply #11 on: December 29, 2010, 04:47:24 PM »
<snip>
Yup,you are right.My previous http(s) port was 0 and I just changed it to 80.Thanks.Now my problem resolved.

You're welcome.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.6.6121 (build 24.6.9241.848) UI 1.0.809/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

yongsua

  • Guest
Re: (Resolved)Web shield not really running
« Reply #12 on: December 29, 2010, 04:57:36 PM »
Glad your problem is now fixed :) could you please go to your first post and add resolved to the title, thank's  :)

You are late.I had changed it before you ask me to do so. ;)