Author Topic: Firewalls that fully support SP2?  (Read 13004 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9384
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Firewalls that fully support SP2?
« on: August 24, 2004, 01:01:02 PM »
I'm wondering which firewall is fully detected by Security Center. I tried Sygate and Kerio not long ago and they didn't support it.
Thx
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline SpeedyPC

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3347
  • Avast shall conquer the whole world
Re:Firewalls that fully support SP2?
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2004, 02:18:23 PM »
I'm wondering which firewall is fully detected by Security Center. I tried Sygate and Kerio not long ago and they didn't support it.
Thx

G'day RejZoR

The latest Zone Alarm v5.1.011.000 is fully supported with SP2
ASUS G75VX-T4153H | Avast Premium v21.8.2487 | Avast SecureLine VPN | Avast Secure Browser | Avast Driver Updater | Avast BreachGuard | W8.1 64bit | Firefox 64bit | Thunderbird 64bit | MBAM Premium | Adguard Premium | CryptoPrevent Premium | CCleaner Portable | MCShield | Macrium Reflect | 7-Zip

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9384
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re:Firewalls that fully support SP2?
« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2004, 02:45:52 PM »
Except this one because it doesn't work too good with P2P.
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 46009
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:Firewalls that fully support SP2?
« Reply #3 on: August 24, 2004, 02:52:31 PM »
Except this one because it doesn't work too good with P2P.
Which one? and what part?
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 21.6, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9384
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re:Firewalls that fully support SP2?
« Reply #4 on: August 24, 2004, 03:26:50 PM »
ZoneAlarm. It doesn't work with P2P too good.
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 46009
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:Firewalls that fully support SP2?
« Reply #5 on: August 24, 2004, 04:00:41 PM »
RejZor,
Eddy got me set up so that it's working fine for ICQ
it's in off-topic.  Found it. Take a look HERE
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 21.6, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9384
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re:Firewalls that fully support SP2?
« Reply #6 on: August 24, 2004, 04:07:08 PM »
Not ICQ,but real file sharing like eMule or Bittorrent. These two handle enormous amounts of connections which are death for ZoneAlarm.
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31303
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re:Firewalls that fully support SP2?
« Reply #7 on: August 24, 2004, 04:13:11 PM »
ZA Pro has no problem with SP2 and/or p2p applications. Check your settings. I recommend configuring the p2p aplication(s) manually. There is no need for them to have a whole range of ports open. Set the port in them, then open the port in ZA. That's all you have to do.

Basicly it is the same as Bob had to do for ICQ.

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9384
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re:Firewalls that fully support SP2?
« Reply #8 on: August 24, 2004, 04:18:05 PM »
No it works with ZA,but over time it starts to use enormous amounts of memory or simply blocks everything and traffic stops.
Argh i'm gonna try again...
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

S.Z.Craftec

  • Guest
Re:Firewalls that fully support SP2?
« Reply #9 on: August 24, 2004, 05:47:29 PM »
I'm still running Outpost freware 1.0.1817.1645 and it works great. The problem is, like many of them, it's not recognized by Windows Security Center.

RejZor - what happened with your love regarding Outpost ? I know you were so hot for Agnitum Outpost... I would like to hear opinions from as much users as it's possible... all kind of different people. We all know that it's impossible to say which one is the best, 'cause we all are aware that there is nothing like that out there... but still, which ones do you prefer guys ?

Cheers !

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67249
Re:Firewalls that fully support SP2?
« Reply #10 on: August 24, 2004, 05:52:42 PM »
My preferences are already known, but as you asked:

For a free firewall: ZA, Outpost and Sygate. Maybe: Kerio.
For a paid firewall: Outopost  8)

In my mind come a lot of reasons: stability, updates, reliability, configuration issues, features, GUI, etc...  ;)
The best things in life are free.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 46009
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:Firewalls that fully support SP2?
« Reply #11 on: August 24, 2004, 07:12:31 PM »
Hi Sasha
ZA is fully recognized by the Security Center.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 21.6, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

S.Z.Craftec

  • Guest
Re:Firewalls that fully support SP2?
« Reply #12 on: August 24, 2004, 07:48:48 PM »
Yes I know Bob, but I gave up on ZoneAlarm months ago... something that should lay down in a shaddow and protect you silently, shouldn't eat so much system resources. Outpost and Sygate are greatest proof that it is possible to make something like that. No matter I have enough system resources for sharing, why not spend all those resources on something else ?

Cheers !

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31303
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re:Firewalls that fully support SP2?
« Reply #13 on: August 24, 2004, 07:56:57 PM »
 .: SZC :., there where a few issues with the first versions of ZA 5. Many people went back to version 4.x. According to my latest info, most if not all problems are solved with the latest 5.x version. I suggest that if you have a license for ZA pro and have problems with it, use 4.x. That one will work without any problems and will not use a lot of cpu time.

S.Z.Craftec

  • Guest
Re:Firewalls that fully support SP2?
« Reply #14 on: August 24, 2004, 08:07:51 PM »
OK thanks Artras... sorry Eddy... No, I don't have licence for Pro version, I was using ZoneAlarm free version. I remember version 4.something wasn't so bad, but I never tried 5.x

I may give it a try on my wife's computer, just to see how it behaves...

Cheers !