Author Topic: Avast 4 Home edition: "unable to scan" help  (Read 2515 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DrJeepney

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Avast 4 Home edition: "unable to scan" help
« on: August 31, 2004, 04:33:14 AM »
I have windows xp home edition, and i have avast 4 home edition.

i did a virus scan on my computer and at the end of the scan there was a lot of files thats said "unable to scan" next to them.  is there any reasons why it is unable to scan?

is that normal? if not, how do i resolve that issue?

thnx.
« Last Edit: August 31, 2004, 04:33:52 AM by DrJeepney »

Offline bob3160

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 45149
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:Avast 4 Home edition: "unable to scan" help
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2004, 05:34:12 AM »
DrJeepney
It's very normal to have files that can't be scanned.
Any file currently in use by the operating system for instance can't be accessed. There could also be compressed files which are password protected that would not be accessible.
To get the most thorough scan, do a boot-time scan.  
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v20H2 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline MustangLady

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re:Avast 4 Home edition: "unable to scan" help
« Reply #2 on: September 01, 2004, 04:45:57 AM »
I have the same problem.  What is a boot scan and how do I do it?   ???

Offline MikeBCda

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2248
Re:Avast 4 Home edition: "unable to scan" help
« Reply #3 on: September 01, 2004, 06:25:34 AM »
Hi,

A boot-time scan has avast check your drive(s) during the boot-up process, essentially before Windows has loaded, so you don't run into that "file is in use" problem.

If you open the "main" menu (i.e., with the inferface open, not that tooltray-icon menu), you'll see one of the choices is Schedule Boot-Time Scan.  Select that, then the kind of scan you want, and it'll then tell you you'll need to reboot and do you want to do that now.  Answer yes, and avast will do the scan, then reboot one more time normally.
Intel Atom D2700, 2 gig RAM, Win 7 x64 SP1 & IE-11, Firefox 51.0
(default). 320 gig HD, 15Mb DSL, Win firewall, Avast 12.3.2280 free, SpywareBlaster, MBAM Prem., Crypto-Prevent

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11791
    • AVAST Software
Re:Avast 4 Home edition: "unable to scan" help
« Reply #4 on: September 01, 2004, 09:35:50 AM »
Was there any additional reason regarding the "unable to scan" files?
If they were password-protected archives, then they will always be unable to scan (i.e. there's no use trying to use the boot-time scan). However, you don't have to worry about such files - they're rather common.