Author Topic: Avast service stopped!  (Read 4340 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline walman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Avast service stopped!
« on: January 03, 2011, 11:42:09 PM »
Unable to fix or start Avast from summary. Do I need to uninstall and reinstall Avast? Not sure what caused this, but my subscription is active and have had Avast for a couple years. I tried to start from "services.msc" but Avast starts and immediately stops.
Thanks for any help.
walman

Hermite15

  • Guest
Re: Avast service stopped!
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2011, 11:49:47 PM »
yep, try a repair first, reboot, and if that doesn't change anything, uninstall/re-install will be your last option.

Offline walman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Avast service stopped!
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2011, 11:59:52 PM »
Thanks Logos...but where do I start the repair? I did try the "fix" and "start" buttons

Hermite15

  • Guest
Re: Avast service stopped!
« Reply #3 on: January 04, 2011, 12:14:47 AM »
Thanks Logos...but where do I start the repair? I did try the "fix" and "start" buttons

no no, just go to the uninstall panel (Windows), click on the avast entry, and choose repair, it's the last option at the bottom of the list. If you don't see it, scroll down a bit.

Offline walman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Avast service stopped!
« Reply #4 on: January 04, 2011, 12:17:37 AM »
Thanks, I'll try it.

CharleyO

  • Guest
Re: Avast service stopped!
« Reply #5 on: January 04, 2011, 07:24:31 AM »
***

The below is for XP but other Windows OS's will be similar.


To do a repair of avast :

Control panel > Add/remove programs > click once on avast to select it > click on Change/Remove > scroll down the left pane and click on repair > click OK> follow directions


***

Hermite15

  • Guest
Re: Avast service stopped!
« Reply #6 on: January 04, 2011, 12:17:40 PM »
***

The below is for XP but other Windows OS's will be similar.


To do a repair of avast :

Control panel > Add/remove programs > click once on avast to select it > click on Change/Remove > scroll down the left pane and click on repair > click OK> follow directions


***

what's the need of posting what I already posted ??? (post above yours ::) )