Author Topic: avast scan query  (Read 4737 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

adam

  • Guest
avast scan query
« on: August 26, 2004, 12:15:55 AM »
is a boot scan the same type of scan , as one that is performed within the avast program, provided the settings are the same. so if i do a boot scan of local disk, with archives selected, would i then need to perform a scan with the avast program? many thanks adam  :)

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67235
Re:avast scan query
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2004, 03:17:21 AM »
is a boot scan the same type of scan , as one that is performed within the avast program, provided the settings are the same. so if i do a boot scan of local disk, with archives selected, would i then need to perform a scan with the avast program? many thanks adam  :)

As far I know if you select to scan archives in both boot time scanning and Home version, you will have the same detection rate. Even the Professional version will give you the same in a on-demand scanning. Professional version is able to do on-access scanning of archives which on-demand can't...  ;)
The best things in life are free.

Offline MikeBCda

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2248
Re:avast scan query
« Reply #2 on: August 26, 2004, 06:26:55 AM »
One other slight difference (between boot-time and "normal" on-demand scans) I'd questioned a week or two ago and Vlk was kind enough to confirm.

If you've set up exclusions (folders which are nothing but JPG's, for example), a boot-time thorough local-disk scan will ignore your exclusions and scan everything.  That's apparently because when running the boot scan, avast doesn't yet have access to the setup info where you've defined the exclusions.

Or at least that's the case in Home, and it's a reasonable guess that the same is true in Pro also.
Intel Atom D2700, 2 gig RAM, Win 7 x64 SP1 & IE-11, Firefox 51.0
(default). 320 gig HD, 15Mb DSL, Win firewall, Avast 12.3.2280 free, SpywareBlaster, MBAM Prem., Crypto-Prevent

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:avast scan query
« Reply #3 on: August 26, 2004, 08:49:50 AM »
Also, the boot-time scanner doesn't support so many archives as the Win32 version (the Windows GUI version). I believe only ARJ and ZIP are in fact supported...
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47453
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:avast scan query
« Reply #4 on: August 26, 2004, 09:43:40 PM »
Vlk
Will that change in 4.5?
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 22.5, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67235
Re:avast scan query
« Reply #5 on: August 27, 2004, 04:42:15 AM »
Vlk
Will that change in 4.5?

It will be good  :P
Why aren't these information on the help files?  :(
The best things in life are free.

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11818
    • AVAST Software
Re:avast scan query
« Reply #6 on: August 27, 2004, 09:38:40 AM »
Will that change in 4.5?

I'm afraid it's not very likely  :-\

Offline vojtech

  • Avast team
  • Advanced Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 939
    • ALWIL Software
Re:avast scan query
« Reply #7 on: August 27, 2004, 09:45:30 AM »
The help says:
"This scanner supports the following archives: ZIP, ARJ, self-extracting EXE and NTFS stream."

It is on page 'Enhanced User Interface Menu', which is probably not very good place for it.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67235
Re:avast scan query
« Reply #8 on: August 27, 2004, 01:47:36 PM »
The help says:
"This scanner supports the following archives: ZIP, ARJ, self-extracting EXE and NTFS stream."
It is on page 'Enhanced User Interface Menu', which is probably not very good place for it.

No, I think not...
There is a specific page for the Boot time scanning (howto_simple_test_po_restartu.htm). Maybe the features of the boot time scanning including the archive scanning should be there...  ;)
The best things in life are free.