Author Topic: Avast free 5.0.677 blocks firefox & IE  (Read 4516 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline debris23

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Avast free 5.0.677 blocks firefox & IE
« on: January 04, 2011, 11:52:55 PM »
Everything was fine before holidays, shut computer down and when came back I can only access the web by turning off the web shield in avast free.  System is XP Sp3.  I get a message that problem loading page server reset while loading page.  I'm connected to the internet, spybot, emisoft malware & ad aware can get updates directly with no problems.  I'm not blaming avast just looking for an answer.  I've tried newer version 5.0.864 had same problem, uninstalled both versions and back to 5.0.667 right now. 

Offline don55

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Avast free 5.0.677 blocks firefox & IE
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2011, 02:13:40 AM »
well i have 864 & don't have a problem with either firefox or ie

Offline Charyb

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2328
Re: Avast free 5.0.677 blocks firefox & IE
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2011, 02:22:03 AM »
What firewall are you currently using?

Why don't you try this and report back. See reply #3
http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=65054.0
« Last Edit: January 05, 2011, 03:12:03 AM by Charyb »

Offline debris23

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Avast free 5.0.677 blocks firefox & IE
« Reply #3 on: January 06, 2011, 02:52:10 AM »
Charyb

     I'm using windows firewall, I've run it on & off and have it on now.  I tried your suggestion of winsock utility but didn't seem to help.  I had a friend that thought I might be missing my TEMP folder for Windows but I checked the directory and it was still there.   Thanks for your suggestion.

Offline Charyb

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2328
Re: Avast free 5.0.677 blocks firefox & IE
« Reply #4 on: January 06, 2011, 04:14:52 PM »
How do you connect to the internet?

Please read this concerning Spybot. http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=61077.0 and this regarding emisoft. http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=65656.0

Also, adaware can cause conlicts with resident AV scanners.

Before you went out for the holidays you say that everything was working ok. Have you added any security software since then? How did you remove and reinstall Avast? Did you use the unintall utility? http://www.avast.com/uninstall-utility
« Last Edit: January 06, 2011, 04:28:25 PM by Charyb »

Offline debris23

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Avast free 5.0.677 blocks firefox & IE
« Reply #5 on: January 07, 2011, 05:07:22 AM »
Charyb
 
    DSL modem for the internet.  I haven't installed any new security software.  I uninstalled spybot & emisoft malware and still can't get on.  Avast I removed through control panel first, then used Revo uninstaller pro the last time with reboots after any and all uninstalls.  Thanks for your time.

Offline debris23

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Avast free 5.0.677 blocks firefox & IE
« Reply #6 on: January 08, 2011, 05:41:26 AM »
Charyb

    I took all security off except avast and couldn't get on the internet.  So I put it all back and uninstalled avast then I could get on the internet just fine.  So I'm using outpost(free) av and firewall with no problems.  Thanks for all of your help.  I have had avast on this machine for over three years along with the other three with no problems.   Thanks again.

Offline prakash2484

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Avast free 5.0.677 blocks firefox & IE
« Reply #7 on: January 08, 2011, 05:46:10 AM »
sp3 is gross
my is sp2 and avast is working fine :-*