Author Topic: I'm having a problem with Version 5 with Windows XP?  (Read 3915 times)

Freebird

I'm having a problem with Version 5 with Windows XP?
« on: January 18, 2011, 02:28:54 AM »
Hi.    I’ve been using Avast 4 Free Edition for about 3 years now and I really like the way it protects my system.   It doesn’t slow me down like a few other virus programs I’ve used in the past.    But I’m having a problem updating to the newer version 5.    Maybe someone could be so kind and help me out?

When I updated to the newer version and then rebooted my system, I tried a “quick’ scan which worked great.   Later on I wanted to do a more thorough scan so I clicked on “full” and then O.K.   After a few minutes everything just stopped working!!!    It stood idle  for about 20 minutes.  I tried to close Avast but to no avail, so I had to do a hard shutdown.   I rebooted and tried running a Full Scan once again and the same thing happened.   So I had to do another hard shutdown and when I rebooted I tried running a “custom” scan.   Same results.      So I uninstalled the program under Add/Remove, deleting all entries from the registry, then did a fresh install of version 5.   Guess what, same results!!!   It looks like all I can run is a “quick” scan with version 5.    So I went back and reinstalled 4.8.     It works great on my system: Windows XP with no problems.

If someone could help me out why I’m having troubles with "5", I’d truly appreciate it?

Thanks for your time.

John

Roger33

Re: I'm having a problem with Version 5 with Windows XP?
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2011, 09:12:06 AM »
Freebird, I had a similar experience this morning.  Computer came on and a (supposedly) Windows scan was scanning my whole system.  I could not control anything, so I manually shutdown the comp, rebooted, the scanner was gone, and I saw a msg in the sys tray that avast! virus protection (not the entire program) had been rendered inoperable.  I tried the repair function with no avail.