Author Topic: Sobig not caught on file copy?  (Read 12664 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jarron

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
Re:Sobig not caught on file copy?
« Reply #15 on: August 27, 2003, 11:13:20 AM »
Question on updates - I was surprised to see that the software's last update was August 22.  I manually updated and it came up with something from today... makes me worry that it wasn't updating properly?  Or was it just a coincidence that my pc hadn't phoned home yet today even now I leave it on all the time, always connected to the 'net.

Hi Eric,
I had the same problem (especially with the dial-In setting
useras=1 (see AVAST FAQs):

even a day or so after the Email-notification that a new update was available, the autoupdate didn't get me the update...  :-[ ???

see:
http://www.avast.com/forum/index.php?board=2;action=display;threadid=772

especially first and last 2 postings

so far, not resolved :(


Yes, useras=1 seems to be the problem.  I tried adding it to "optimize" my dial up settings.  I ended up deleting it because it seemed to stop automatically updating when I went on the net.  Guess I should remember "if it ain't broke don't fix it" since everything seems to be working perfectly without adding useas=1.
"Trust, but Verify"
What's so hard to understand about that?

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Sobig not caught on file copy?
« Reply #16 on: August 27, 2003, 11:18:38 AM »
What OS do you use?
How exactly do you connect to the Internet (which device)?

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline jarron

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
Re:Sobig not caught on file copy?
« Reply #17 on: August 27, 2003, 11:36:08 AM »
98SE
56k dial up modem

I hope that's enough info.  Let me know if it isn't, it's past my bed time so I may not respond again for awhile.

Thanks
"Trust, but Verify"
What's so hard to understand about that?

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Sobig not caught on file copy?
« Reply #18 on: August 27, 2003, 11:51:10 AM »
Would you mind if I sent you a small utility that would let me do a small experiment on your machine? It would just report the status of your modem, and you'd confirm whether the status it reports is correct or not. It would use the same algorithm as the one used in the avast updater.

If you agree please send me an IM or email with the address to which I can send it.

Thanks, and good night (or good morning)
Vlk
« Last Edit: August 27, 2003, 11:53:09 AM by Vlk »
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline mantra

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 688
  • AVAST REVEREND
Re:Sobig not caught on file copy?
« Reply #19 on: August 27, 2003, 02:14:07 PM »
Igor wrote
"Only the files with extensions written in the box are scanned on open - i.e. if it's empty, no files are scanned on open."

but i think we don't know what i must write  :D
AVAST REVEREND
Angelica Bella ROCKS
AVAST ROCKS
the other avs SUCK

Offline jarron

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
Re:Sobig not caught on file copy?
« Reply #20 on: August 27, 2003, 07:37:15 PM »
VLK,

I've PM'd you.  I'll be glad to try the utitility.  If by status you mean connected or disconnected I shouldn't have any problems with it, if it's more complicated than that I might need help.

(I think it was after 3am when I posted, I had a very long day but just had to look at the avast! forum before I retired, couldn't sleep until I did).

Jarron
"Trust, but Verify"
What's so hard to understand about that?

Offline whocares

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1698
  • I'm not a llama! :-)
Re:Sobig not caught on file copy?
« Reply #21 on: August 27, 2003, 07:45:08 PM »
Igor wrote
"Only the files with extensions written in the box are scanned on open - i.e. if it's empty, no files are scanned on open."

but i think we don't know what i must write  :D

Hi Mantra:
if you want to scan all the potentially dangerous filetypes, try this list from VLK:

This is the current default extension set - just copy and paste it to the appropriate box:

COM,EXE,DLL,SYS,SCR,OV?,VXD,386,BIN,BAT,CMD,DO?,XL?, PP?,HT*,HLP,CH?,{*},ASP,CLA*,CPL,CSS,INF,JS*,LNK,MS?,OCX,PDF,PIF,PO?, PRC,RTF,SHS,VB?,VSD,WS?,SWF,AD?,ASX,BAS,CRT,INS,ISP, MDB,MDE,PCD,PRF,REG,SCF,SCT,SHB,URL,EML,NWS


http://www.avast.com/forum/index.php?board=2;action=display;threadid=743;start=msg3669#msg3669
 ;)

Offline mantra

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 688
  • AVAST REVEREND
Re:Sobig not caught on file copy?
« Reply #22 on: August 27, 2003, 07:53:30 PM »
whocares

don't u fear to slow your computer.....

did u try to put *.... does it slow down ????


ps :
with this list , avast scan 2 time the same file
try to run an exe , u will see avast double check the same file
AVAST REVEREND
Angelica Bella ROCKS
AVAST ROCKS
the other avs SUCK

Offline whocares

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1698
  • I'm not a llama! :-)
Re:Sobig not caught on file copy?
« Reply #23 on: August 27, 2003, 07:59:03 PM »
Hi mantra,
I guess the double scan is only on execute.
not on copy, right ?
And it should also happen if you put "*"


you might leave the exe/com/ole-extension out from THIS list

play around a bit, just leave the basic settings page alone ;)

Offline mantra

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 688
  • AVAST REVEREND
Re:Sobig not caught on file copy?
« Reply #24 on: August 29, 2003, 11:24:06 AM »
 whocares

what are u your setting???

i fear to slowdown my machine
AVAST REVEREND
Angelica Bella ROCKS
AVAST ROCKS
the other avs SUCK

Offline whocares

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1698
  • I'm not a llama! :-)
Re:Sobig not caught on file copy?
« Reply #25 on: August 29, 2003, 04:31:54 PM »

what are u your setting???

i fear to slowdown my machine

Hi Mantra,

I THINK I put the above list as it is
into the scan-on-open-Box;
-> and no signifiant slowdown on an AMD 2000+ / 512MB RAM  ;D
But I'm not sure if I left it at that, as I don't really need such extensive scanning..

But I'll check my settings for you when I get home.. ;)

Offline whocares

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1698
  • I'm not a llama! :-)
Re:Sobig not caught on file copy?
« Reply #26 on: August 30, 2003, 01:09:56 AM »
Hi Mantra,

I scan the above default list on-open, too..
no significant slow-down, but i got a rather fast machine, then

What is your hardware ? I could imagine that below 500 Hz, 256 MB you may experience slowdown...

but anyway, I'd wait for the next scan-on-create_bugfixed version  for NT-systems

 ;)