Author Topic: High CPU Usage for avastsvc.exe in 5.1.889 (Free)  (Read 40059 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84752
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: High CPU Usage for avastsvc.exe in 5.1.889 (Free)
« Reply #45 on: January 21, 2011, 07:35:54 PM »
Well going back to 5.1.864 is a bit over the top considering PK (one of the avast developers) has said that this bug has been found in some of the dump files users have sent him (Reply #38 above) and an update should hopefully be released tomorrow in the virus definitions update.

So unless your increased CPU is making things unworkable I would advise waiting for the update (hopefully tomorrow) to see if it resolves it for your particular system.
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.2.2455 (build 21.2.6096.648) UI 1.0.608/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Heldon

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 22
Re: High CPU Usage for avastsvc.exe in 5.1.889 (Free)
« Reply #46 on: January 21, 2011, 11:09:18 PM »
Well going back to 5.1.864 is a bit over the top considering PK (one of the avast developers) has said that this bug has been found in some of the dump files users have sent him (Reply #38 above) and an update should hopefully be released tomorrow in the virus definitions update.

So unless your increased CPU is making things unworkable I would advise waiting for the update (hopefully tomorrow) to see if it resolves it for your particular system.

Hello,

Finally I downgraded to 5.0.677 (and not to 5.1.864 that causes the same symptom of high CPU usage)

Result --> no more CPU high level (less than 1%)

So, I keep this version until a further solution.

Bye.
_________________________________________________________________________________________________
Core I5/750 - 4Gb - Win XP Home SP3 - Avast Free 5.1 - Online Armor - AdAware - Spybot S&D - HJT - Cobian

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: High CPU Usage for avastsvc.exe in 5.1.889 (Free)
« Reply #47 on: January 22, 2011, 12:40:40 AM »
Heldon, most probably, the difference between the versions make Behavior Shield the culprit.
Maybe you can, as a workaround, disable it or not install it until next version.
The best things in life are free.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84752
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: High CPU Usage for avastsvc.exe in 5.1.889 (Free)
« Reply #48 on: January 22, 2011, 12:50:56 AM »
Well there is also the Acronis issue mentioned in this topic by pk, here, http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=69540.msg586216#msg586216 and that is hoped to be fixed by a virus definitions & engine update tomorrow.

Whilst that should work for those using acronis it may also have a wider affect, given that some dumps pk has received aren't from those using acronis.
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.2.2455 (build 21.2.6096.648) UI 1.0.608/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Heldon

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 22
Re: High CPU Usage for avastsvc.exe in 5.1.889 (Free)
« Reply #49 on: January 22, 2011, 09:40:41 PM »
@ DavidR, Tech and PK

As I have no Acronis softwares, and the inactivation of self-defense module has the same effect in 5.1.889 and 5.1.864, I keep 5.0.677.

I suppose the scan of the boot (or the MBR)is a effect of the last versions of Avast.

Regards.
_________________________________________________________________________________________________
Core I5/750 - 4Gb - Win XP Home SP3 - Avast Free 5.1 - Online Armor - AdAware - Spybot S&D - HJT - Cobian

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: High CPU Usage for avastsvc.exe in 5.1.889 (Free)
« Reply #50 on: January 22, 2011, 09:50:18 PM »
I suppose the scan of the boot (or the MBR)is a effect of the last versions of Avast.
Boot time scanning (not MBR scanning) on 64bits systems was introduced in 5.1 version. For 32bits, it was there since version 4.
The best things in life are free.

Offline Heldon

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 22
Re: High CPU Usage for avastsvc.exe in 5.1.889 (Free)
« Reply #51 on: January 23, 2011, 03:31:05 PM »
I suppose the scan of the boot (or the MBR)is a effect of the last versions of Avast.
Boot time scanning (not MBR scanning) on 64bits systems was introduced in 5.1 version. For 32bits, it was there since version 4.

Ok, I note, but I don't understand why 5.0.677 is OK  :D
_________________________________________________________________________________________________
Core I5/750 - 4Gb - Win XP Home SP3 - Avast Free 5.1 - Online Armor - AdAware - Spybot S&D - HJT - Cobian

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: High CPU Usage for avastsvc.exe in 5.1.889 (Free)
« Reply #52 on: January 23, 2011, 06:36:31 PM »
But I don't understand why 5.0.677 is OK  :D
Because in version 5.1 you have Behavior Shield in action and not exactly on version 5.0.
The best things in life are free.

Offline FigVam

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: High CPU Usage for avastsvc.exe in 5.1.889 (Free)
« Reply #53 on: January 24, 2011, 04:58:44 PM »
Does anybody know if the problem's been fixed?
« Last Edit: January 24, 2011, 06:45:03 PM by FigVam »

Offline Heldon

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 22
Re: High CPU Usage for avastsvc.exe in 5.1.889 (Free)
« Reply #54 on: January 24, 2011, 10:18:58 PM »
But I don't understand why 5.0.677 is OK  :D
Because in version 5.1 you have Behavior Shield in action and not exactly on version 5.0.


Hello,

Well, but I have the same result when Behavior Shield is stopped...

Bye.
_________________________________________________________________________________________________
Core I5/750 - 4Gb - Win XP Home SP3 - Avast Free 5.1 - Online Armor - AdAware - Spybot S&D - HJT - Cobian

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84752
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: High CPU Usage for avastsvc.exe in 5.1.889 (Free)
« Reply #55 on: January 24, 2011, 11:28:52 PM »
From my understanding of what PK said this was related to a scan for rootkits rather than the behaviour shield, but I could be wrong in my interpretation.

We have already received some dumps, the problem is with TDL3/4 malware detection. This will be fixed and update will be delivered within virus database update (hopefully soon, maybe tomorrow).

If however, I'm right it would mean that disabling the behaviour shield is unlikely to resolve it (should have been uninstall behaviour shield); but that should have been resolved with an update to the detections on the 22nd Jan 2011. What virus definitions version you you have (latest 110124-1) ?

If you have the latest and that hasn't resolved it try uninstalling the behaviour shield and report progress.
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.2.2455 (build 21.2.6096.648) UI 1.0.608/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline FigVam

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: High CPU Usage for avastsvc.exe in 5.1.889 (Free)
« Reply #56 on: January 25, 2011, 05:09:40 AM »

If you have the latest and that hasn't resolved it try uninstalling the behavior shield and report progress.
I still have 97% on avastsvc process. Stopping behavior shield doesn't make change. (Sure, I have the last definitions)

After rebooting with behavior shield off it seems OK now. Will have a look on it during the day.


2 minutes past - 97% :-(

I'll make a dump in the evening if you need it.
« Last Edit: January 25, 2011, 05:29:30 AM by FigVam »

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84752
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: High CPU Usage for avastsvc.exe in 5.1.889 (Free)
« Reply #57 on: January 25, 2011, 03:10:32 PM »
The dump file may help the developers, the file is likely to be large, zip it to compress. Upload it to ftp://ftp.avast.com/incoming - Using Internet Explorer, Connect to the link and drag the file into the Right pane and drop it, that starts the upload, you don't have read access to this folder. Give the zip file you are uploading a unique name, so they can identify it.

It might not be a bad idea to create a text file (readme.txt) with any relevant information, avast topic URL, user name, etc. etc. in the zip file.
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.2.2455 (build 21.2.6096.648) UI 1.0.608/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline FigVam

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: High CPU Usage for avastsvc.exe in 5.1.889 (Free)
« Reply #58 on: January 25, 2011, 09:40:47 PM »
My dump: ftp.avast.com/incoming/FigVam_MEMORY.DMP.25.01.2011.zip

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84752
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: High CPU Usage for avastsvc.exe in 5.1.889 (Free)
« Reply #59 on: January 25, 2011, 10:00:47 PM »
OK, hopefully they will find it of use.
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.2.2455 (build 21.2.6096.648) UI 1.0.608/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security