Author Topic: High CPU Usage for avastsvc.exe in 5.1.889 (Free)  (Read 40082 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Heldon

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 22
Re: High CPU Usage for avastsvc.exe in 5.1.889 (Free)
« Reply #60 on: January 26, 2011, 08:06:47 PM »
If you have the latest and that hasn't resolved it try uninstalling the behaviour shield and report progress.

Hello,

I have the latest definitions (110126-1) and Behavior shield if desactivated --> Avastsvc.exe run at 25% (for my config).

You wrote to uninstall the behavior shield : how can I do this action ?

Bye.
_________________________________________________________________________________________________
Core I5/750 - 4Gb - Win XP Home SP3 - Avast Free 5.1 - Online Armor - AdAware - Spybot S&D - HJT - Cobian

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84759
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: High CPU Usage for avastsvc.exe in 5.1.889 (Free)
« Reply #61 on: January 26, 2011, 08:53:16 PM »
From windows Add Remove Programs, Change/Remove, select Change and uncheck the Behaviour Shield option, click Next and OK your way out, reboot and that should allow you to use the AOL software. See image, whilst this is for XP the process is the same for other OSes.
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.2.2455 (build 21.2.6096.648) UI 1.0.608/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Heldon

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 22
Re: High CPU Usage for avastsvc.exe in 5.1.889 (Free)
« Reply #62 on: January 26, 2011, 09:51:27 PM »
@ DavidR

Hello,

I'm in 5.1.889 and I have STILL level of CPU for AvastSvc.exe below at 25%   :( :( :(

I uninstalled the 'Behavior Shield' (within Windows with Add/remove, Change , uncheck Behavior Shield, Reboot).

It doesn't change anything

Bye.
_________________________________________________________________________________________________
Core I5/750 - 4Gb - Win XP Home SP3 - Avast Free 5.1 - Online Armor - AdAware - Spybot S&D - HJT - Cobian

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84759
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: High CPU Usage for avastsvc.exe in 5.1.889 (Free)
« Reply #63 on: January 26, 2011, 10:32:59 PM »
OK, this is getting out of my knowledge of avast and the latest build, but when you have this CPU level is the avast icon in the tray rotating ?

Since there is some reference in other topics to Acronis and the MBR scan (I know you aren't using acronis), do you have any other disk imaging software ?
I'm just wondering if your issue is still related to this MBR scan done by the anti-rootkit scan 8 minutes after boot.

Does this activity kick in at roughly 8 minutes after boot ?
If so you could try disabling the anti-rootkit scan on boot and see if that makes any difference. From the avastUI, Settings, Troubleshooting, uncheck the Enable rootkit scan on system startup.
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.2.2455 (build 21.2.6096.648) UI 1.0.608/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Heldon

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 22
Re: High CPU Usage for avastsvc.exe in 5.1.889 (Free)
« Reply #64 on: January 26, 2011, 11:14:26 PM »
Hello DavidR,

thank you for your support  ;)


OK, this is getting out of my knowledge of avast and the latest build, but when you have this CPU level is the avast icon in the tray rotating ?
--> There is no activity visible on the avast icon.

Quote
Since there is some reference in other topics to Acronis and the MBR scan (I know you aren't using acronis), do you have any other disk imaging software ?
--> I only use COBIAN Backup 10, but it runs only a file's backup (scheduled at 10:00 PM).

Quote
I'm just wondering if your issue is still related to this MBR scan done by the anti-rootkit scan 8 minutes after boot.
--> The High CPU level begin after Windows start.

Quote
Does this activity kick in at roughly 8 minutes after boot ?
If so you could try disabling the anti-rootkit scan on boot and see if that makes any difference. From the avastUI, Settings, Troubleshooting, uncheck the Enable rootkit scan on system startup.
--> I choose to disable all the options of the 'TroubleShooting' (Rootkit scan, raw disk access, self-defense module).


I'll see the result after the next reboot.

_________________________________________________________________________________________________
Core I5/750 - 4Gb - Win XP Home SP3 - Avast Free 5.1 - Online Armor - AdAware - Spybot S&D - HJT - Cobian

Offline Nesivos

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1352
  • Artists Rendering of New Pauley Pavilion @ UCLA
Re: High CPU Usage for avastsvc.exe in 5.1.889 (Free)
« Reply #65 on: January 26, 2011, 11:39:02 PM »
Windows7 HP X64
4GB RAM
Athlon 240x processor
IObit Smart RAM set to Auto free RAM when system is idle and Do Not free during high CPU and Disk usage
AIS 5.1.889 with a license
All real time shields working normally


Just ran a Quick Scan and followed the CPU and Memory usage on AvastSvc.exe during the scan.  It took 6:47 to scan 17.6GB, 128,000 files in 20,000 folders and no infected files found.

Most of the time during the scan the CPU usage for AvastSvc.exe was in the 40% to 50% range going as low as 5% and as high as 75% but both of those extreme numbers only happened a couple of times and only for a few seconds.

Most of the time the Memory usage was at around 34,000K which is about 1K higher then when the orange ball is not rotating.  On a couple of occasions for a a few seconds at the most Memory usage got up to 150,000K - 175,000K but then went right back down to the 34,000K number

No noticeable change in available physical memory from before the scan and after the scan.
« Last Edit: January 26, 2011, 11:41:51 PM by Nesivos »
OS: W7-SP1, Security: AIS 7, SAS Pro, WinPatrol Plus Network:2 Dell 570MT x64 1 Dell 660 Desktop with 8GB RAM Default Browser & Email: Firefox & Thunderbird latest Betas

Offline FigVam

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: High CPU Usage for avastsvc.exe in 5.1.889 (Free)
« Reply #66 on: January 26, 2011, 11:55:58 PM »
Does this activity kick in at roughly 8 minutes after boot ?
If so you could try disabling the anti-rootkit scan on boot and see if that makes any difference. From the avastUI, Settings, Troubleshooting, uncheck the Enable rootkit scan on system startup.
There is no icon activity when CPU is high. The high CPU becomes in less then 8 min after boot (but not in the same time: 2-6 min)
I disabled the anti-rootkit scan on boot and didn't disable or uninstall behavior shield. 10 min past. The CPU is still normal. Hope it was the cause.
20 min past. Still Ok.

Let you know tomorrow if it's ok.

« Last Edit: January 27, 2011, 12:09:34 AM by FigVam »

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84759
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: High CPU Usage for avastsvc.exe in 5.1.889 (Free)
« Reply #67 on: January 27, 2011, 12:40:47 AM »
<snip>
OK, this is getting out of my knowledge of avast and the latest build, but when you have this CPU level is the avast icon in the tray rotating ?
--> There is no activity visible on the avast icon.

Quote
Since there is some reference in other topics to Acronis and the MBR scan (I know you aren't using acronis), do you have any other disk imaging software ?
--> I only use COBIAN Backup 10, but it runs only a file's backup (scheduled at 10:00 PM).

Quote
I'm just wondering if your issue is still related to this MBR scan done by the anti-rootkit scan 8 minutes after boot.
--> The High CPU level begin after Windows start.

Quote
Does this activity kick in at roughly 8 minutes after boot ?
If so you could try disabling the anti-rootkit scan on boot and see if that makes any difference. From the avastUI, Settings, Troubleshooting, uncheck the Enable rootkit scan on system startup.
--> I choose to disable all the options of the 'TroubleShooting' (Rootkit scan, raw disk access, self-defense module).

I'll see the result after the next reboot.

The lack of activity would tend to indicate some conflict causing a hang of a process.

I don't know if COBIAN Backup 10 would load a low level driver at startup even though it is only scheduled to run a file backup at 10pm.

I wouldn't recommend unchecking all options in the troubleshooting section or how will we know which makes any improvement. So we should stick with just the rootkit scan at system startup disabled.
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.2.2455 (build 21.2.6096.648) UI 1.0.608/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84759
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: High CPU Usage for avastsvc.exe in 5.1.889 (Free)
« Reply #68 on: January 27, 2011, 12:49:40 AM »
Does this activity kick in at roughly 8 minutes after boot ?
If so you could try disabling the anti-rootkit scan on boot and see if that makes any difference. From the avastUI, Settings, Troubleshooting, uncheck the Enable rootkit scan on system startup.
There is no icon activity when CPU is high. The high CPU becomes in less then 8 min after boot (but not in the same time: 2-6 min)
I disabled the anti-rootkit scan on boot and didn't disable or uninstall behavior shield. 10 min past. The CPU is still normal. Hope it was the cause.
20 min past. Still Ok.

Let you know tomorrow if it's ok.

I though your problem was resolved http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=69540.msg586419#msg586419.

So you should go back to that point in the topic and read through it again and see if there are any links to other topics also mentioned.

The one that you actually linked to, http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=69533.msg586405#msg586405, which indicates that this should have been resolved in a virus definitions & engine update.

Ensure that you have the latest update.
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.2.2455 (build 21.2.6096.648) UI 1.0.608/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline FigVam

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: High CPU Usage for avastsvc.exe in 5.1.889 (Free)
« Reply #69 on: January 27, 2011, 01:49:01 PM »
I though your problem was resolved http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=69540.msg586419#msg586419.
It wasn't actually (you can read this branch through to find out that I've pointed on this http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=69540.msg588065#msg588065 ). As in my case the CPU was loaded on 97% even after that definition update.
The only thing that might have been helpful was disabling rootkit scanning on startup (I'll confirm it in the evening).
« Last Edit: January 27, 2011, 01:50:35 PM by FigVam »

Offline FigVam

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: High CPU Usage for avastsvc.exe in 5.1.889 (Free)
« Reply #70 on: January 27, 2011, 06:21:30 PM »
Yes, preventing rootkit scanning on system startup resolves the problem with high CPU!

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84759
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: High CPU Usage for avastsvc.exe in 5.1.889 (Free)
« Reply #71 on: January 27, 2011, 06:39:36 PM »
OK, thanks for the update, hopefully with the dumps you sent previously they can find the conflict.
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.2.2455 (build 21.2.6096.648) UI 1.0.608/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Heldon

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 22
Re: High CPU Usage for avastsvc.exe in 5.1.889 (Free)
« Reply #72 on: January 27, 2011, 10:59:26 PM »
@DavidR


The lack of activity would tend to indicate some conflict causing a hang of a process.

I don't know if COBIAN Backup 10 would load a low level driver at startup even though it is only scheduled to run a file backup at 10pm.

I wouldn't recommend unchecking all options in the troubleshooting section or how will we know which makes any improvement. So we should stick with just the rootkit scan at system startup disabled.

Hello,

1 - I disabled only the rootkit scan at startup (and checked "self-defense" and "raw disk access during avast! boot-time scan",
2 - I'm going to disable COBIAN service : at the next reboot, we'll see what's happend...

Bye
« Last Edit: January 27, 2011, 11:01:49 PM by Heldon »
_________________________________________________________________________________________________
Core I5/750 - 4Gb - Win XP Home SP3 - Avast Free 5.1 - Online Armor - AdAware - Spybot S&D - HJT - Cobian

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84759
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: High CPU Usage for avastsvc.exe in 5.1.889 (Free)
« Reply #73 on: January 27, 2011, 11:55:59 PM »
Lets see how things go with the rootkit scan disabled for a little while a few reboots and confirm the findings before disabling the Cobian service.

When you do that you should enable the rootkit scan at system startup and see if things are OK, no high CPU and that would confirm that the conflict is between those two elements.
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.2.2455 (build 21.2.6096.648) UI 1.0.608/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline DraGonflY_27z

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: High CPU Usage for avastsvc.exe in 5.1.889 (Free)
« Reply #74 on: January 28, 2011, 10:41:38 AM »
Yes, preventing rootkit scanning on system startup resolves the problem with high CPU!
Thanks, that seems to have works for me for now. My CPU usage had been high several times since the 5.1.889 update but nowadays it was all the time.
Now, the process uses 00-02% of my CPU cycles.