Author Topic: High CPU Usage for avastsvc.exe in 5.1.889 (Free)  (Read 39892 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84586
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: High CPU Usage for avastsvc.exe in 5.1.889 (Free)
« Reply #75 on: January 28, 2011, 04:16:48 PM »
Yes, preventing rootkit scanning on system startup resolves the problem with high CPU!
Thanks, that seems to have works for me for now. My CPU usage had been high several times since the 5.1.889 update but nowadays it was all the time.
Now, the process uses 00-02% of my CPU cycles.

@ DraGonflY_27z
Are you using any kind of hard disk imaging software, like some of the others with this problem ?
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.1.2449 (build 21.1.5968.561) UI-1.0.597/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Heldon

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 22
Re: High CPU Usage for avastsvc.exe in 5.1.889 (Free)
« Reply #76 on: January 28, 2011, 11:14:35 PM »
@ DavidR

Lets see how things go with the rootkit scan disabled for a little while a few reboots and confirm the findings before disabling the Cobian service.

When you do that you should enable the rootkit scan at system startup and see if things are OK, no high CPU and that would confirm that the conflict is between those two elements.

1 - With 'Rootkit scan' disabled and COBIAN disabled : no high CPU activity
2 - With 'Rootkit scan' disabled and COBIAN services activated : no high CPU activity

-->

I'm going to disable COOBIAN and reactivate 'Rootkit scan' and we'll see the results later.
Then I'll reactivate COBIAN.

The results in a future post...

Bye.
_________________________________________________________________________________________________
Core I5/750 - 4Gb - Win XP Home SP3 - Avast Free 5.1 - Online Armor - AdAware - Spybot S&D - HJT - Cobian

Offline DraGonflY_27z

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: High CPU Usage for avastsvc.exe in 5.1.889 (Free)
« Reply #77 on: January 29, 2011, 10:16:28 AM »
Yes, preventing rootkit scanning on system startup resolves the problem with high CPU!
Thanks, that seems to have works for me for now. My CPU usage had been high several times since the 5.1.889 update but nowadays it was all the time.
Now, the process uses 00-02% of my CPU cycles.

@ DraGonflY_27z
Are you using any kind of hard disk imaging software, like some of the others with this problem ?
Well, no. I do use vmware though, and some vmware processes are always running.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84586
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: High CPU Usage for avastsvc.exe in 5.1.889 (Free)
« Reply #78 on: January 29, 2011, 03:31:08 PM »
I was just wondering as it seems that a number of those with this problem have disk imaging software.

Though I wouldn't have thought the VM software would be the same way, but I guess it must have a hidden VM system driver running and that may be a factor.
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.1.2449 (build 21.1.5968.561) UI-1.0.597/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Heldon

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 22
Re: High CPU Usage for avastsvc.exe in 5.1.889 (Free)
« Reply #79 on: February 01, 2011, 12:56:16 AM »
@ DavidR

I was just wondering as it seems that a number of those with this problem have disk imaging software.

Though I wouldn't have thought the VM software would be the same way, but I guess it must have a hidden VM system driver running and that may be a factor.


Lets see how things go with the rootkit scan disabled for a little while a few reboots and confirm the findings before disabling the Cobian service.

When you do that you should enable the rootkit scan at system startup and see if things are OK, no high CPU and that would confirm that the conflict is between those two elements.

Hello,

NO, I Haven't disk imaging software

I try four combinations, below the results:

1 - With 'Rootkit scan' disabled and COBIAN services disabled :  no high CPU activity
2 - With 'Rootkit scan' disabled and COBIAN services activated : no high CPU activity
3 - With 'Rootkit scan' checked and COBIAN disabled or activated : high CPU activity

So, it seems that 'Rootkit scan' checked interfers with other software than COBIAN services...

Bye.
_________________________________________________________________________________________________
Core I5/750 - 4Gb - Win XP Home SP3 - Avast Free 5.1 - Online Armor - AdAware - Spybot S&D - HJT - Cobian

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84586
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: High CPU Usage for avastsvc.exe in 5.1.889 (Free)
« Reply #80 on: February 01, 2011, 01:49:32 AM »
Yes, looks like something doesn't agree with the anti-rootkit scan or vice versa.
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.1.2449 (build 21.1.5968.561) UI-1.0.597/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline egconrad

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: High CPU Usage for avastsvc.exe in 5.1.889 (Free)
« Reply #81 on: February 12, 2011, 06:28:30 PM »
Yes, looks like something doesn't agree with the anti-rootkit scan or vice versa.

Has there been any official resolution to this problem? My system exhibits the same problem as Heldon's.

Thanks.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84586
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: High CPU Usage for avastsvc.exe in 5.1.889 (Free)
« Reply #82 on: February 12, 2011, 06:42:50 PM »
I honestly don't know as this particular topic seems to have some different system software.

If there has been anything found then it is likely to be in either the avast 6.0 beta build or when avast 6.0 is released. So in the meantime the anti-rootkit is the suggestion.

But that isn't a recommendation as we haven't a clue about your system and what you have running on it (e.g. Cobian service like Heldon's system), as there could be a different reason for the activity ?
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.1.2449 (build 21.1.5968.561) UI-1.0.597/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline egconrad

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: High CPU Usage for avastsvc.exe in 5.1.889 (Free)
« Reply #83 on: February 14, 2011, 12:56:25 PM »
My system is WinXP Home/SP3/ with avast! free 5.1.889.

I, too, have disabled rootkit scan and my high CPU activity (was running 90+% avastsvc.exe regularly) has ceased - after reboot. I am using Cobian backup software version 9, but that didn't seem to matter in Heldon's case. I have Spybot-S&D 1.6.2 resident, also.

One other interesting note:  My screen saver now works properly, whereas before the rootkit scan disable it did not.

Thanks.

Offline YoKenny

  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 8784
Re: High CPU Usage for avastsvc.exe in 5.1.889 (Free)
« Reply #84 on: February 14, 2011, 02:29:06 PM »
My system is WinXP Home/SP3/ with avast! free 5.1.889.

I, too, have disabled rootkit scan and my high CPU activity (was running 90+% avastsvc.exe regularly) has ceased - after reboot. I am using Cobian backup software version 9, but that didn't seem to matter in Heldon's case. I have Spybot-S&D 1.6.2 resident, also.

One other interesting note:  My screen saver now works properly, whereas before the rootkit scan disable it did not.

Thanks.
Please start your own topic by selecting NEW TOPIC in:
http://forum.avast.com/index.php?board=2.0

Its best to un-install Spybot S&D as it conflicts with avast! especially its resident protection. 
E5200 2.5GHZ, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit, avast! V9.0 Free, IE10
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3 32bit, avast! V9.0 Free, Google Chrome
with hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS