Author Topic: High CPU Usage for avastsvc.exe in 5.1.889 (Free)  (Read 40049 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Heldon

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 22
High CPU Usage for avastsvc.exe in 5.1.889 (Free)
« on: January 16, 2011, 08:16:38 PM »
Hello,

Since today (16/01/2011): I note that AVASTSVC.exe runs with a permanent use of 25% of CPU (instead of less than 1% the other days).

I didn't install new softwares, and my surf is the same as usual.

I think a new version of avast is responseable of this new comportment


Heldon.
________________________________________________________________________________________
Config :  Win XP (SP3) - Core I5/750 - RAM 4Gb - Avast Free 5.1.889
_________________________________________________________________________________________________
Core I5/750 - 4Gb - Win XP Home SP3 - Avast Free 5.1 - Online Armor - AdAware - Spybot S&D - HJT - Cobian

Offline YoKenny

  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 8784
Re: High CPU Usage for avastsvc.exe in 5.1.889 (Free)
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2011, 08:50:30 PM »
I have no problem on my XP Pro system.

Are you running XP Home or Pro ???
E5200 2.5GHZ, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit, avast! V9.0 Free, IE10
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3 32bit, avast! V9.0 Free, Google Chrome
with hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: High CPU Usage for avastsvc.exe in 5.1.889 (Free)
« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2011, 09:15:02 PM »
Are you running a scheduled scanning?
Any other security program that could interfere?
The best things in life are free.

Online DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84749
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: High CPU Usage for avastsvc.exe in 5.1.889 (Free)
« Reply #3 on: January 16, 2011, 09:18:07 PM »
No problems here either, when you see this 25% activity, is the avast icon rotating (indicates scanning) ?

If not then usually there could be some conflict with another security application.
What other security software do you have installed, firewall, anti-spyware, etc. ?
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.2.2455 (build 21.2.6096.648) UI 1.0.608/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Heldon

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 22
Re: High CPU Usage for avastsvc.exe in 5.1.889 (Free)
« Reply #4 on: January 17, 2011, 01:28:16 PM »
Hello,


I am on XP Home SP3.
No scanning, no other sofware interfers (no more as usual).

It seems some users in the forum have the same pb since the 5.1.889...

I have to test further if it appends only with FireFox or with another browser ...

Regards.
_________________________________________________________________________________________________
Core I5/750 - 4Gb - Win XP Home SP3 - Avast Free 5.1 - Online Armor - AdAware - Spybot S&D - HJT - Cobian

Online DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84749
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: High CPU Usage for avastsvc.exe in 5.1.889 (Free)
« Reply #5 on: January 17, 2011, 03:48:52 PM »
Well when browsing with firefox or any other browser, the web shield redirects http traffic through its local proxy so that it can be scanned. This process and all other avast shields are controlled by avastSvc.exe (the main scanning engine), so it isn't unusual to see activity on avastSvc.exe whilst browsing.
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.2.2455 (build 21.2.6096.648) UI 1.0.608/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Heldon

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 22
Re: High CPU Usage for avastsvc.exe in 5.1.889 (Free)
« Reply #6 on: January 17, 2011, 09:21:24 PM »
Hello,

So, first : I think I'm going first to clean uninstall then re-install 5.1.889 in order to see if it is dur to a bad custominzing.

Regards.
_________________________________________________________________________________________________
Core I5/750 - 4Gb - Win XP Home SP3 - Avast Free 5.1 - Online Armor - AdAware - Spybot S&D - HJT - Cobian

Offline Heldon

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 22
Re: High CPU Usage for avastsvc.exe in 5.1.889 (Free)
« Reply #7 on: January 18, 2011, 01:00:10 AM »
Hello,

I made several actions, but my problem still remains.

0 - Stop network access
1 - Uninstall 5.1.889 with  aswclear5.exe
2 - Reboot
3 - Install 5.1.864
4 - Reboot
5 - Open network access
6 - Open Firefox
7 - AvastSvc.exe run at 25% CPU usage
8 - Close Firefox
9 - Upgrade to 5.1.889
10- Reboot
11- Open Firefox
12- AvastSvc.exe run at 25% CPU usage
13- Close Firefox

14- uninstall Avast 5.1.889 again, reinstall 5.1.864 again
15- reboot.

16- I notice that AvastSvc.exe run at 25% CPU usage but without launching of Firefox or any browser.

--> The activity still remains between 24.6% and 25.3%, for several hours.

I don't know what I can do to stop this activity ? :(

Regards.
_________________________________________________________________________________________________
Core I5/750 - 4Gb - Win XP Home SP3 - Avast Free 5.1 - Online Armor - AdAware - Spybot S&D - HJT - Cobian

Offline pk

  • Avast team
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 2085
Re: High CPU Usage for avastsvc.exe in 5.1.889 (Free)
« Reply #8 on: January 18, 2011, 01:19:50 AM »
Please download: http://download.sysinternals.com/Files/ProcessExplorer.zip

run as administrator, find "AvastSvc.exe" process (avast! service) and when it'll use 25% CPU, right-click and choose "Create dump -> Full dump". Then compress the dump file and upload it on our ftp, I'll look at it, thanks.

please test only 5.1.889 version, thanks.

Offline Heldon

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 22
Re: High CPU Usage for avastsvc.exe in 5.1.889 (Free)
« Reply #9 on: January 18, 2011, 12:15:50 PM »
Hello,

As I have already Proces Explorer installed, I'll make the dump file in the evening.

Regards.
_________________________________________________________________________________________________
Core I5/750 - 4Gb - Win XP Home SP3 - Avast Free 5.1 - Online Armor - AdAware - Spybot S&D - HJT - Cobian

Offline pk

  • Avast team
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 2085
Re: High CPU Usage for avastsvc.exe in 5.1.889 (Free)
« Reply #10 on: January 18, 2011, 12:19:21 PM »
As I have already Proces Explorer installed, I'll make the dump file in the evening.

you must use the latest version, older versions are not able to create dumps

Offline Don_Stewart

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: High CPU Usage for avastsvc.exe in 5.1.889 (Free)
« Reply #11 on: January 18, 2011, 12:46:35 PM »
I was about to start a new thread on this exact topic when I noticed this one was already running.
I too have version 5.1.889 installed on my computers and on most of them it is working fine.
However on one of my laptops after about five minutes Avastsvc.exe starts to use 98% of my cpu resources according to task manager.
The laptop is running XP Home SP3 (all my computers are running either XP Home or Pro SP3) and prior to this version of Avast I have had no problems with Avast on this or any of my computers.
I have tried disconnecting from the internet, disabling all the shields, and even uninstalling and re-installing Avast completely all with same result.
I am not running any browsers or programs apart from the screensaver on this computer.
I have now downloaded the version of ProcessExplorer.Zip which you suggested in the previous post and will try running it and creating a dump file later today.
Any help would be gratefully received as this has effectively disabled this laptop as the only way I can use it is by uninstalling Avast and not connecting to my network.
« Last Edit: January 18, 2011, 12:48:49 PM by Don_Stewart »

Offline YoKenny

  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 8784
Re: High CPU Usage for avastsvc.exe in 5.1.889 (Free)
« Reply #12 on: January 18, 2011, 02:29:16 PM »
I wonder if it is a XP Home problem as I have no problem on my XP Pro system but I do not use Firefox though.

This is with Process Explorer v14.01
E5200 2.5GHZ, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit, avast! V9.0 Free, IE10
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3 32bit, avast! V9.0 Free, Google Chrome
with hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS

Offline Don_Stewart

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: High CPU Usage for avastsvc.exe in 5.1.889 (Free)
« Reply #13 on: January 18, 2011, 04:15:38 PM »
I see there is another thread running on the same subject started by Dragonfly_27z a couple of posts earlier where he was also getting 98% CPU usage which is the same problem I had.

Since I have downloaded and run ProcessExplorer.exe to try to create a memory dump of the problem it seems to have gone away on it's own, which is also what happened to Dragonfly_27z.

If the problem re-occurs I will create the dump requested, but how do I upload the dump to the site ftp?

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: High CPU Usage for avastsvc.exe in 5.1.889 (Free)
« Reply #14 on: January 18, 2011, 05:39:47 PM »
If the problem re-occurs I will create the dump requested, but how do I upload the dump to the site ftp?
Using Windows Explorer, drag and drop.
Or using FileZilla, for instance.
The best things in life are free.