Author Topic: Why & What is the Screen Saver scan?  (Read 12648 times)

IHate7_Malware0

Why & What is the Screen Saver scan?
« on: January 20, 2011, 11:16:44 PM »
I’m a newbie to Avast! (free, 5.1.889 version) & to this forum, so I hope I’m doing this right.
I am using a custom-built PC with Windows 7 Home Premium 32-bit, AMD Sempron 3300+ 2.0 GHz processor, 2 GB RAM, IE8 browser. I’m also a “newbie” to Windows 7. (My previous OS was XP.) I had to replace my prior motherboard recently & both hard drives so I now have 1.5 TB total of 2 hard drives. I ALWAYS have ALL real-time shields running unless I physically disconnect from my DSL modem (which is almost never). I’m currently using Window 7 “Bubbles” screensaver.

I was going through the Avast! settings making sure everything’s set correctly when I ran into the screen saver options. So I searched Help where it says:

With avast! installed, it is possible to run a scan even when your computer is not being used and your screen-saver is running. A small window is displayed inside the screen-saver which informs you about the scanning progress, i.e. about the number of scanned files etc.
If you want avast! to scan your computer when the screen-saver is running, you need to locate the screen-saver option in your computer's control panel and then select "avast! antivirus".
To add this scan to the list of pre-defined scans on the Scan Now page, go to the program "Settings" and check the box "Show special scans in avast! user interface". You will then be able to access and adjust the scan parameters as required.

Huh???? I must be dense because I don’t understand this at all. Don’t essentially all schedulable AV programs run while the screen saver is also running?? Can’t Avast do a scan while my screen saver is also running? Does it stop scanning if I get back on my PC & the screen saver stops because I opened a program? Does this scan actually scan the screen saver? What does the above really mean??