Author Topic: With SP2 Avast unables setup of older software  (Read 67426 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jrukim

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
  • I'm a llama!
With SP2 Avast unables setup of older software
« on: August 30, 2004, 09:52:29 PM »
This was referred on another tread 2 or 3, days ago with other software including office 97.
I refomated my drive,with  a fresh install XP/SP2/avast  and all software I have. When I try to install Encarta Word Atlas (1998) and Paint Shop Pro (1996) clicking on setup nothing happens. Tried stop avast with no results.
However uninstalling avast the setup of that software runs ok and remains ok after the reinstalation of avast .
Seems to me this is an avast problem with the SP2 and older software ... ???
Any ideas ?

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9303
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re:With SP2 Avast unables setup of older software
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2004, 10:31:16 PM »
Hm you won't belive. I encountered the very same problem.
I was unable to install Virtual Mechanics Web Dwarf 2.50f (web design software i use for my page) and some old (nostalgic) game F-22 Raptor Demo that i was playing long time ago. I clicked the installer,it extracted files to temp and then nothing happened.
I uninstalled avast! as you suggested and now both installers work.
My machine was fresh installed two days ago when i got bigger disk,so i don't think its a corrupted registry/dll or something. Possibly a WinXP SP2 issue.

I use Windows XP Pro with integrated SP2 and avast! Pro (right now i'll switch back to Home)
Visit my webpage RejZoR's Flock of Sheep

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9303
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re:With SP2 Avast unables setup of older software
« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2004, 11:06:28 PM »
Nope,i fully cleaned avast! Pro and installed avast! Home and the problem persist. Now i belive its related to SP2...
Visit my webpage RejZoR's Flock of Sheep

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:With SP2 Avast unables setup of older software
« Reply #3 on: August 30, 2004, 11:19:27 PM »
The easiest workaround is to remove the reference to the avast driver from \windows\system32\config.nt.

Please use the search feature of this forum (search for the phrase config.nt) to find out more...


Cheers
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9303
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re:With SP2 Avast unables setup of older software
« Reply #4 on: August 30, 2004, 11:32:23 PM »
Ok thanks,but Web Dwarf installer worked just fine before and i have never edited this config.nt file. The last time i installed Web Dwarf was before i installed SP2 and it worked normally with avast! enabled.
« Last Edit: August 30, 2004, 11:32:58 PM by RejZoR »
Visit my webpage RejZoR's Flock of Sheep

Offline jrukim

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
  • I'm a llama!
Re:With SP2 Avast unables setup of older software
« Reply #5 on: August 30, 2004, 11:46:48 PM »
I also had  no problem installing those software before SP2.
Could the reason of this issue due to older  software  than Windows 98 ?

Offline clanky

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • I'm a llama!
Re:With SP2 Avast unables setup of older software
« Reply #6 on: August 30, 2004, 11:51:15 PM »
I'm having this problem with Office 97.

I reinstalled XP + SP2 from a slipstreamed cd.  After installing Avast 4 Home I couldn't install Office 97 or Via 4 in 1 drivers.  This has happened on 2 different pc's.  

Offline rdsu

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 534
  • ...
Re:With SP2 Avast unables setup of older software
« Reply #7 on: August 31, 2004, 01:30:19 AM »
I suggest the avast! Home Edition to a friend, and after he install the Windows XP Pro SP2, he can't run an *.exe in a CD of HP because of avast!

After, he uninstall the avast! Home Edition and install the Symantec...
Avast Free Antivirus: Web Shield & Home Network Security.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67273
Re:With SP2 Avast unables setup of older software
« Reply #8 on: August 31, 2004, 03:00:13 AM »
After, he uninstall the avast! Home Edition and install the Symantec...

When he starts to cry for help and support, just let us know  ;D
The best things in life are free.

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9303
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re:With SP2 Avast unables setup of older software
« Reply #9 on: August 31, 2004, 08:44:56 AM »
Well he should get his butt here so we can solve that problem ;D

Btw that change in config.nt worked :) ,but am i less protected now or that entry isn't so important?
« Last Edit: August 31, 2004, 08:46:06 AM by RejZoR »
Visit my webpage RejZoR's Flock of Sheep

Offline rdsu

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 534
  • ...
Re:With SP2 Avast unables setup of older software
« Reply #10 on: August 31, 2004, 09:10:59 AM »
After, he uninstall the avast! Home Edition and install the Symantec...

When he starts to cry for help and support, just let us know  ;D
I never thought that was because of SP2.
And he doesn't care about the support, if work, work, if doesn't work, doesn't work...  ;D
Avast Free Antivirus: Web Shield & Home Network Security.

Offline rdsu

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 534
  • ...
Re:With SP2 Avast unables setup of older software
« Reply #11 on: August 31, 2004, 09:38:17 AM »
This problem will be fixed in the next version of avast?
Avast Free Antivirus: Web Shield & Home Network Security.

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:With SP2 Avast unables setup of older software
« Reply #12 on: August 31, 2004, 09:57:55 AM »
Here's a quick fix for the problem: just apply the following .reg file:

http://www2.asw.cz/~vlk/vdd2.reg


Important notes:
- this ASSUMES that avast is installed to the default folder, C:\Program Files\ALWIL Software\Avast4

- if you have manually removed the reference to the avast driver from \windows\system32\config.nt, just put it back.


Of course, this issue will be addressed automatically in the next program update.

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline rdsu

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 534
  • ...
Re:With SP2 Avast unables setup of older software
« Reply #13 on: August 31, 2004, 10:04:54 AM »
If we have avast installed in another folder, how we change the reg file?

Thanks
Avast Free Antivirus: Web Shield & Home Network Security.

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:With SP2 Avast unables setup of older software
« Reply #14 on: August 31, 2004, 10:08:37 AM »
In this case, it's probably much easier to change the thing directly in regedit.

The VDD key should contain a single line in the form:

<your-avast-folder>\aswMonVd.dll



Cheers
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.