Author Topic: making changes to an existing install  (Read 3874 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline zelani

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
making changes to an existing install
« on: August 31, 2004, 03:10:02 AM »
avast Pro 4.1.418 on Win XP Pro w/o sp2

When I originally installed avast, I didn't have a IM program installed so I didn't install the IM scanner.

Now the need arises for me to install an IM program (ICQ) so I would like to add the IM scanner to my avast install -- hopefully without having to uninstall avast first.

If I start the set up program, it offers me the selection of changing my install or uninstalling.  If I choose change, it does nothing visible and simply tells me to choose finish and the program closes.

Is there a command-line switch I can add or something to activate the IM scanner without doing an uninstall/reinstalll, and what is the name of the executable program ??


by bill
bbzz@zelani.net


My favorite question is WHY.  My second favorite is WHY NOT.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 44089
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:making changes to an existing install
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2004, 05:51:17 AM »
zelani
Welcome to the Forums
To make that change simple leftclick on the a in the system tray and then follow the diagram.
Hope that helps. :)
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1909 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline zelani

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re:making changes to an existing install
« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2004, 10:01:14 AM »
Hi Bob  & thanks for replying

won't work.  When I originally installed I customized the install and did not install the IM scanner (or anthing else I wasn't using that day including the mail scanner which I later added) so I don't get the same screen you do.

by bill
bbzz@zelani.net


My favorite question is WHY.  My second favorite is WHY NOT.

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:making changes to an existing install
« Reply #3 on: August 31, 2004, 10:02:25 AM »
So why don't you just install the IM provider now?
Control Panel -> Add/Remove Programs -> avast! Antivirus -> Change/Remove -> Change.


Cheers
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline zelani

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re:making changes to an existing install
« Reply #4 on: August 31, 2004, 10:05:03 AM »
Vlk
I tried re-running the setup program ... never thought of starting setup that way.  Already fixed it, thank you much!

by bill
bbzz@zelani.net


My favorite question is WHY.  My second favorite is WHY NOT.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re:making changes to an existing install
« Reply #5 on: August 31, 2004, 03:14:27 PM »
Never thought of starting setup that way.

New applications are using more and more this capability of Windows Installer to be an updater/repair tool  ;)
The best things in life are free.

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11761
    • AVAST Software
Re:making changes to an existing install
« Reply #6 on: August 31, 2004, 03:20:31 PM »
Right, even though avast! doesn't use Microsoft Installer  ;D

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re:making changes to an existing install
« Reply #7 on: August 31, 2004, 03:43:59 PM »
Right, even though avast! doesn't use Microsoft Installer  ;D

You should 'start' it or you won't install anything in Windows.
I'm not talking about the applet but the NT Service. Am I wrong?
The best things in life are free.