Author Topic: Avast Pro 5.1 becomes Free after reboot.  (Read 6062 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline need_help1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Avast Pro 5.1 becomes Free after reboot.
« on: January 20, 2011, 06:34:45 PM »
Hello avast community. I have a problem here.

Every time i supply the Pro license file to my antivirus, it becomes Pro, but reverts back to free after reboot.

I have tried to uninstall the previous version of avast using the uninstall tool, and reinstalled it. When i insert the license file, it accepts it and i have a Pro edition installed. After i reboot my pc, this Pro edition becomes Free without any warning or anything. Just Free edition that wants me to register it in 30 days. If i insert the license file again, it upgrades to Pro without need to restart.

Might the problem be, that i marked the checkbox "Custom installation" and chose not to install P2P, IM and Mail shields?
« Last Edit: January 20, 2011, 06:38:05 PM by need_help1 »

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11804
    • AVAST Software
Re: Avast Pro 5.1 becomes Free after reboot.
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2011, 06:45:24 PM »
Can you post a screenshot of the Subscription page after you've inserted the license?

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67249
Re: Avast Pro 5.1 becomes Free after reboot.
« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2011, 07:05:14 PM »
Post a screenshot, see how: http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=8982.0.
You can use Gadwin PrintScreen to get a screenshot (http://www.gadwin.com/printscreen/) or the free version of WinSnap 1.1.10 (http://www.filehippo.com/download_winsnap/?2173).
The best things in life are free.

Offline need_help1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11804
    • AVAST Software
Re: Avast Pro 5.1 becomes Free after reboot.
« Reply #4 on: January 20, 2011, 07:39:08 PM »
Hmm... strange. Is avast! service (i.e. the AvastSvc.exe process) running, if you check e.g. in Task Manager?
What build of avast! is that?

Offline need_help1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Avast Pro 5.1 becomes Free after reboot.
« Reply #5 on: January 20, 2011, 07:57:13 PM »
Hmm... strange. Is avast! service (i.e. the AvastSvc.exe process) running, if you check e.g. in Task Manager?
What build of avast! is that?
AvastSvc.exe is running and also set to run automatically.
5.1.889
« Last Edit: January 20, 2011, 08:03:33 PM by need_help1 »

Offline need_help1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Avast Pro 5.1 becomes Free after reboot.
« Reply #6 on: January 22, 2011, 11:53:04 AM »
So noone can help :( ?

Offline danny96

  • Malware Fighter
  • Advanced Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 668
  • No-malware!
Re: Avast Pro 5.1 becomes Free after reboot.
« Reply #7 on: January 22, 2011, 12:30:36 PM »
Post a screenshot, see how: http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=8982.0.
You can use Gadwin PrintScreen to get a screenshot (http://www.gadwin.com/printscreen/) or the free version of WinSnap 1.1.10 (http://www.filehippo.com/download_winsnap/?2173).
omg printscreen is enought to snap 1 stupid pic  :)
Real-time protection and Firewall: COMODO Internet Security 12.0.0.6810 -- Additional Protection: Web Of Trust, Ublock, NoScript, Malwarebytes Premium, Avast! Online Security, Hitman Pro -- OS: Windows 10

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9384
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re: Avast Pro 5.1 becomes Free after reboot.
« Reply #8 on: January 22, 2011, 12:44:51 PM »
What happens if you try re-inserting the license? I've had a similar problem with certain avast! 5.1 builds and simply re-inserting the license did the trick. Though in my case i was getting "License expired" message...
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline need_help1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Avast Pro 5.1 becomes Free after reboot.
« Reply #9 on: January 22, 2011, 02:41:20 PM »
What happens if you try re-inserting the license? I've had a similar problem with certain avast! 5.1 builds and simply re-inserting the license did the trick. Though in my case i was getting "License expired" message...
It displays license information for some seconds in those "-" fields, then it disappears again.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85640
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast Pro 5.1 becomes Free after reboot.
« Reply #10 on: January 22, 2011, 03:19:24 PM »
Post a screenshot, see how: http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=8982.0.
You can use Gadwin PrintScreen to get a screenshot (http://www.gadwin.com/printscreen/) or the free version of WinSnap 1.1.10 (http://www.filehippo.com/download_winsnap/?2173).
omg printscreen is enought to snap 1 stupid pic  :)

It does the job of snapping and saving to an image file, so the OP doesn't have to do the screen capture, use image application to save the file, not to mention crop if it is enormous (for the benefit of those stuck on dial-up). It allows for capture, editing and saving in one application and I'm sure once on the system it won't just be used once.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.8.2487 (build 21.8.6586.691) UI 1.0.666/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline need_help1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Avast Pro 5.1 becomes Free after reboot.
« Reply #11 on: January 24, 2011, 04:57:48 PM »
Thanks for the help in making a screenshot, but i'd rather get some help on how to make my avast Pro again, so it stops reverting back to Free.

Offline SafeSurf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5198
Re: Avast Pro 5.1 becomes Free after reboot.
« Reply #12 on: January 25, 2011, 10:10:28 AM »
You can contact Avast online here http://www.avast.com/contact-form.php?loadStyles - use the drop down menu for technical or sales inquiry.
Mac 10.9.4 /Safari and Firefox (NoScript/AdBlockPlus/BetterPrivacy/Ghostey)/
Vista Home Prem (same add-on's)/Avast Free/Online Armor Premium Firewall/MBAM Premium)/ Mobile MBAM.