Author Topic: Can't Install Avast4 Home Edition  (Read 21098 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline downdogWoof

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
  • I'm a Llama, am I..?
Can't Install Avast4 Home Edition
« on: July 14, 2003, 07:24:38 PM »
Hi All,

I've installed it on my Desktop, Windows2000, English version with Regional Settings set to Japanese, as I live there. I run Kerio firewall and there seems to be no problem. But, when trying to install on my Laptop, IBM Thinkpad, R30, with the same OS, but this time Japanese not English and the same firewall, it gets to the OS being booted and then just does a dump and loops through to a reboot. It also kills all my firewall rules in Kerio, meaning I had to do them all again...annoying. Had to go into safe mode and remove Avast to get up and running again. What gives..? Any suggestions..? Cheers.

downdogWoof...
downdogWoof

Yeah, K, Who Stole The Soggy Biscuits..?

Offline techie101returns

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1900
Re:Can't Install Avast4 Home Edition
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2003, 02:33:37 AM »
dog,

It is not necessarily the fault of Avast.  What version are you trying to install...Home or Pro?

Avast can be touchy during installation if there are any other Windows programs running in the background.  It sounds like you have a bad install, or maybe a corrupted file/s.

Have you attempted to reinstall?  If not, before doing so, download a copy of Avclear (for Avast 32) or Avclear4 (for Avast 4) from http://www.avast.com/i_idt_1336.html which will completely uninstall the copy of Avast.  The Windows Add/Remove does not always remove everything.
Try whichever program you need, shut down all Windows programs except System Tray and Explorer (if your system has it), and try a reinstall.

Let me know how it goes.

Remember...Things happen!

 :)
« Last Edit: July 15, 2003, 02:37:46 AM by techie101 »

Offline kubecj

  • Avast team
  • Advanced Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1123
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Can't Install Avast4 Home Edition
« Reply #2 on: July 15, 2003, 02:53:14 AM »
Just to correct few myths, which are senselessly repeated here:

Avast can be touchy during installation if there are any other Windows programs running in the background.  It sounds like you have a bad install, or maybe a corrupted file/s.

1) Avast install doesn't care for other running programs. If there's a 'resident' app which is blocking the install, you can't call the installer of avast 'touchy'.

2) Install never produces bad/corrupted files as it checks their checksums right after the unpacking.

Quote
Have you attempted to reinstall?  If not, before doing so, download a copy of Avclear (for Avast 32) or Avclear4 (for Avast 4) from http://www.avast.com/i_idt_1336.html which will completely uninstall the copy of Avast.  The Windows Add/Remove does not always remove everything.

1) avclear is unnecessary for normal operations. It's just a latest resort for people with completely messed environment, which can't run standard avast uninstall. Running it as 'preventive' measure is superfluous.

2) add/remove (avast uninstaller) should remove everything and I've never heard any report which contradicts this statement. I don't count the bug which prevented version 148 from uninstalling. That's why avclear was written.

« Last Edit: July 15, 2003, 02:56:57 AM by kubecj »
Jindrich Kubec

Offline techie101returns

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1900
Re:Can't Install Avast4 Home Edition
« Reply #3 on: July 15, 2003, 04:44:21 AM »
I don't believe that what I say is "senseless".
I speak from experience with Avast and my different OSs.
Don't tell me Avast isn't touchy.  Maybe it is as you said, where a resident app is interferring, but my W98 won't install Avast no matter what I've tried and no matter what help has been obtained in the forum, and there are no problems with my W98 otherwise.

Are you telling us that a file cannot be corrupted after the checksum process?

I have had to use Avclear before reinstalling Avast4 and I DONT OPERATE IN A MESSED UP ENVIRONMENT!!
The Add/Remove did not do "just fine".   After using Avclear, the installation went well.

I would rather be "superfluous" and careful than to be sloppy and unprotected.

Because you don't agree with what is sometimes said here, or have not seen the quoted behavior does not make them myths!!

I don't imagine what goes on with my systems, and I am not a computer idiot either.  I happen to be rather savy with most apps, although I am still learning about Avast in detail.  The purpose of this forum is to share information, and those things that have been found effective as solutions.  Maybe we are not as technically proficient as you but still we find ways to fix things.  Maybe they are not always the best, or "technically approved", but they WORK!

Shame on your attitude even if your a moderator!
 >:(
« Last Edit: July 15, 2003, 01:48:42 PM by techie101 »

Offline downdogWoof

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
  • I'm a Llama, am I..?
Re:Can't Install Avast4 Home Edition
« Reply #4 on: July 15, 2003, 02:43:23 PM »
Hi All,

I've gone into the Program Files folder and removed all traces of Avast. Is there somewhere else I should look too..? Cheers.

downdogWoof...
downdogWoof

Yeah, K, Who Stole The Soggy Biscuits..?

Offline kubecj

  • Avast team
  • Advanced Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1123
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Can't Install Avast4 Home Edition
« Reply #5 on: July 15, 2003, 06:34:01 PM »
First, take my apologies, I haven't intended my message as a flame or something. Just bear in mind that I'm not a native speaker, so sometimes my messages may sound harsher than I intended.

Don't tell me Avast isn't touchy.  Maybe it is as you said, where a resident app is interferring, but my W98 won't install Avast no matter what I've tried and no matter what help has been obtained in the forum, and there are no problems with my W98 otherwise.

I was not talking about Avast itself. I was talking just about the installation process. And if you still think that the installation process is broken, you're welcome to report that directly to me, as I don't want any bugs like that there.

Quote
Are you telling us that a file cannot be corrupted after the checksum process?

It could be, but with regards to 'messed environment'. On normal system files don't get messed, do they? Also, install can detect and repair such files with 'Repair' option.

Quote
I have had to use Avclear before reinstalling Avast4 and I DONT OPERATE IN A MESSED UP ENVIRONMENT!! The Add/Remove did not do "just fine". After using Avclear, the installation went well.

I would like to get the details, please. (not for version 148, it's a known bug of that version that uninstall haven't worked in that version). Since the code in the uninstall process and the avclear is in effect the same, it _shouldn't_ produce different results.

Quote
Because you don't agree with what is sometimes said here, or have not seen the quoted behavior does not make them myths!!

One of the purposes of this forum is to make our product better.

What if there's really a bug in a uninstall process? If every user just uses avclear without gathering and posting info about the incident, we would never know about that bug and fix it.

avclear is sort of lifebuoy. It is possible to run the streets wearing it  ;) just in case of a flood, but...

CONCLUSION:
Use avclear4 only as the latest resort. We want to learn from our bugs first and make the install/uninstall process as foolproof (no pun intended) as possible.

Ok?
« Last Edit: July 15, 2003, 06:49:31 PM by kubecj »
Jindrich Kubec

Offline downdogWoof

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
  • I'm a Llama, am I..?
Re:Can't Install Avast4 Home Edition
« Reply #6 on: July 16, 2003, 05:32:52 AM »
Fair enough, but, where does all this shit help me, guys..? Cheers.

EDIT: I should also add, this is the second time this has happened on this Laptop, the firewall rules being erased when installing Avast. Not strange..?

downdogWoof...
« Last Edit: July 16, 2003, 05:34:21 AM by downdogWoof »
downdogWoof

Yeah, K, Who Stole The Soggy Biscuits..?

Offline techie101returns

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1900
Re:Can't Install Avast4 Home Edition
« Reply #7 on: July 16, 2003, 05:06:53 PM »
dog,

Okie....Sorry.  We sometimes have these little techinical clashes.

Anyway, I don't have any other ideas at the moment.
What I would suggest is for you to contact support at support@asw.cz
Include a copy of your ini, def, and log files

Send a message to Kubie to see if he has any fresh ideas.

I will continue to look into this using my own system and if I come up with anything, I will contact you.

Techie


Offline kubecj

  • Avast team
  • Advanced Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1123
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Can't Install Avast4 Home Edition
« Reply #8 on: July 16, 2003, 09:48:40 PM »
Fair enough, but, where does all this shit help me, guys..? Cheers.

It's most probably caused by some clash between the residents and your 'exotic' locale. Unfortunately, Vlk's on vacation, he'll be back  :D on monday. In the meantime you could do this:

1) Set your Windows not to reboot when crashing. (Control Panel/System/Advanced/Startup & Recovery and uncheck 'Automatically Reboot') Write down carefully the full error message from the blue-screen.

2) Find the minidump (x:\winnt\minidump) and send it to vlk at asw dot cz

Please, be sure you have the latest version. One or two versions back the residents had some nasty bugs on low-memory machines (if I recall that correctly).

Sorry, with more help you have to wait for Vlk.
« Last Edit: July 16, 2003, 09:51:19 PM by kubecj »
Jindrich Kubec

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Can't Install Avast4 Home Edition
« Reply #9 on: July 21, 2003, 11:36:43 AM »
kubecj is right, I can't do anything without the dump. I need the dump (at least the minidump).

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline downdogWoof

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
  • I'm a Llama, am I..?
Re:Can't Install Avast4 Home Edition
« Reply #10 on: July 21, 2003, 06:16:24 PM »
Hi All,

k, will try to get it to you..even re-installing to re-create the problem. Cheers.

downdogWoof...
downdogWoof

Yeah, K, Who Stole The Soggy Biscuits..?

Offline downdogWoof

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
  • I'm a Llama, am I..?
Re:Can't Install Avast4 Home Edition
« Reply #11 on: July 24, 2003, 03:50:50 PM »
Hi All,

well, I've found the problem. I thought I had removed my previous anti-virus, but hadn't, and once I realized this and did so, everything was honky dory. Cheers for everyone who tried to help, though, eh.

downfogWoof...
downdogWoof

Yeah, K, Who Stole The Soggy Biscuits..?

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Can't Install Avast4 Home Edition
« Reply #12 on: August 04, 2003, 12:15:37 AM »
Does it mean that avast 4 is now working OK on your machine? I'm asking because we've had some similar issues in the past (avast + Japanese Win2K) so I'd like to know whether these problems are already gone or not...

Thanks,
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline downdogWoof

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
  • I'm a Llama, am I..?
Re:Can't Install Avast4 Home Edition
« Reply #13 on: August 04, 2003, 06:53:00 PM »
Hi All,

sorry for the slow reply...yes, it is working fine..cheers.
downdogWoof

Yeah, K, Who Stole The Soggy Biscuits..?

Offline pgroan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Can't find AVCLEAR 4; cannot uninstall Avast
« Reply #14 on: January 18, 2009, 06:40:35 PM »
I cannot run the program or uninstall it; it tells me wrong product configuration.  I'm using the english version and tried home as well as pro nothing works.  I can't the the uninstall program... the url is empty.