Author Topic: Avast 4.7 will not update using Vista Home Prem.  (Read 2221 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline vjleonard

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Avast 4.7 will not update using Vista Home Prem.
« on: January 18, 2009, 04:44:56 AM »
Hello all,

I loaded avast! 4.7 onto a PC using Vista Home Prem.  The software will not update.  An Error stating "cannot find server" and returns a localhost address of 127.0.0.1:80.  I am assuming it is something wrong with the OS and HTTP.  In addition, I can get to google and my internet connection seems to be ok with IPv4 set DHCP.  I removed Trend Micro and no other antivirus software is installed.  Furthermore, I ran CCleaner and Hijackthis.  The firewall and windows defender are both disabled.  I am not using ZA and it is not installed.  Also, I tried changing avast proxy setting to bypass IE7 with no luck.  I  am running out of options.  Hopefully, someone can help.

Thanks

Offline ardvark

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1512
  • John 3:16 (I'm not an "avast! evangelist")
Re: Avast 4.7 will not update using Vista Home Prem.
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2009, 12:47:24 PM »
Hi...

I would first recommend that you uninstall the version you currently have installed with this tool...

http://www.avast.com/eng/avast-uninstall-utility.html

And then install the current version, 4.8, here...

http://www.avast.com/eng/download-avast-home.html

If you no longer have the e-mail that contains your current license key, you can apply for a new one here...

http://www.avast.com/eng/home-registration.php

Let us know if this helps. :)

May God Bless you!

Offline vjleonard

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Avast 4.7 will not update using Vista Home Prem.
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2009, 07:10:50 PM »
The new version worked.  I should have tried 4.8 to begin with.

Thank you...

Offline ardvark

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1512
  • John 3:16 (I'm not an "avast! evangelist")
Re: Avast 4.7 will not update using Vista Home Prem.
« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2009, 07:12:54 PM »
The new version worked.  I should have tried 4.8 to begin with.

Thank you...

Hi...

You're welcome, glad I could help! :)

Best Regards...