Author Topic: How exclude a good program  (Read 3127 times)

Offline apollothethird

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • Personal Message (Offline)
How exclude a good program
« on: January 27, 2011, 05:58:29 AM »
Suddenly my alarm clock which I’ve been using for many years on all my computers is being flagged by Avast as a virus.  I know it’s a good program and isn’t infected.  I used the option to restore it from the vault.  However, every time I run the program Avast puts it back into the vault.  The only way I could run this important application was to disable Avast.

Can someone advise me of how to set this program as a good program so that Avast can run without moving this bona fide program?

Thanks in advance.

-- L. James

--
L. D. James
ljames@apollo3.com
www.apollo3.com/~ljames

Offline CharleyO

  • avast! Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 7102
  • Gender: Male
  • Be alert for error code - ID 10T
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: How exclude a good program
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2011, 06:13:02 AM »
***

Well, it would be good to know the name of this alarm clock program else how will we know how to help?


Also :

It would be best for you to remove your email address unless you like getting spam email.

This is a public forum and spambots often troll public forums for available email addresses such as yours.

And, hide your email in your profile as that is also showing publicly.

Never show your email address in any public forum.


***
Self-built desktop (8 years old) - AMD64 3200+_Gigabyte GA-K8NS Ultra-939_4 gb RAM_GeForceFX 5800w/256 ram_XP/SP3_Avast 7_MBAM_ZA Free __and__ Toshiba Satellite Laptop_W7-64bit_ 4 gb Ram_Avast 8_MBAM

Offline Milos

  • avast! team
  • Advanced Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1081
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: How exclude a good program
« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2011, 08:46:10 AM »
Suddenly my alarm clock which I’ve been using for many years on all my computers is being flagged by Avast as a virus.  I know it’s a good program and isn’t infected.  I used the option to restore it from the vault.  However, every time I run the program Avast puts it back into the vault.  The only way I could run this important application was to disable Avast.

Can someone advise me of how to set this program as a good program so that Avast can run without moving this bona fide program?

Thanks in advance.

-- L. James

--
L. D. James
ljames@apollo3.com
www.apollo3.com/~ljames
Hello,
send us (virus@avast.com) the detected file to analyze, please. Put "False positive" to subject.

Milos

Offline apollothethird

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: How exclude a good program
« Reply #3 on: January 27, 2011, 05:07:14 PM »
***

Well, it would be good to know the name of this alarm clock program else how will we know how to help?

The program I'm having a problem with is an example.  I started to mention the name of the program, but decided not to because my specific question is how to be able to control the application and bypass the automatic moving of a file of my choosing.

I like Avast and would hate to have to drop it.  At present it's turned off because it'll move my preferred program.  I used Norton for a long time before moving to a couple of other antivirus program and finally settling and promoting Avast.  I dropped Norton because it become too wild and out of control.

Hopefully there is a control feature in Avast that will allow me to choose bypass an error on it's part.  I spent a couple of hours trying to figure it out before posting my message.

The program name isn't a secret.  It's cac.exe (Computer Alarm Clock, http://www.tarsoft.com/ ).

Again, I can’t see how the name of the program matters when I really would like to know how to configure Avast exclude an application of my choice.  Either it’s possible or it’s not.  Hopefully it’s possible.  So far there isn’t a better Antivus program.  But without a feature for the end user to configure it, there’s a serious problem.

Thanks in advance for any information on the ability to configure Avast, or a confirmation that it’s not user configurable in that matter.  Thanks also for any other input you might have.

Quote



Also :

It would be best for you to remove your email address unless you like getting spam email.

This is a public forum and spambots often troll public forums for available email addresses such as yours.

And, hide your email in your profile as that is also showing publicly.

Never show your email address in any public forum.

Thanks.  I’m very careful.  I’ve been using the internet longer than anyone I know.  I have the same email address that I started out with in 1993.  It works perfectly.  I don’t like spam and control it very well.

I really appreciate the advice.  I used the method of searching my signature to find this forum for which I posted a message… I typed this into Google: http://www.google.com/search?source=ig&hl=en&rlz=&q=avast+ljames%40apollo3.com&btnG=Google+Search&aq=f&oq=#hl=en&sugexp=ldymls&xhr=t&q=avast+%22ljames%40apollo3.com%22&cp=7&pf=p&sclient=psy&aq=f&aqi=&aql=&oq=avast+%22ljames%40apollo3.com%22&pbx=1&fp=fb0aebb266792073

I hope you can see the merit.  I’ve been using it for 18 years.

-- L. James

--
L. D. James
ljames@apollo3.com
www.apollo3.com/~ljames

Offline apollothethird

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: How exclude a good program
« Reply #4 on: January 27, 2011, 05:15:11 PM »
Suddenly my alarm clock which I’ve been using for many years on all my computers is being flagged by Avast as a virus.  I know it’s a good program and isn’t infected.  I used the option to restore it from the vault.  However, every time I run the program Avast puts it back into the vault.  The only way I could run this important application was to disable Avast.

Can someone advise me of how to set this program as a good program so that Avast can run without moving this bona fide program?

Thanks in advance.

-- L. James

--
L. D. James
ljames@apollo3.com
www.apollo3.com/~ljames
Hello,
send us (virus@avast.com) the detected file to analyze, please. Put "False positive" to subject.

Milos

Thanks!

I sent the file to the address, titled as requested.  In the meantime can you advise me if it’s possible to configure Avast not to block or move my preferred applications?

Except for this apparent missing feature if it doesn’t exist, your program is superb.

Thanks in advance!

-- L. James

--
L. D. James
ljames@apollo3.com
www.apollo3.com/~ljames

Offline Charyb

  • avast! Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1768
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: How exclude a good program
« Reply #5 on: January 27, 2011, 05:32:36 PM »
Did you try excluding it under file shield expert settings?

Offline DavidR

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 69205
  • Gender: Male
  • No support PMs thanks
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: How exclude a good program
« Reply #6 on: January 27, 2011, 06:46:17 PM »
- In the meantime (if you accept the risk), add the full path to the file to the exclusions lists (see Note below):
File System Shield, Expert Settings, Exclusions, Add and
avast Settings, Exclusions

Restore it to its original location, periodically check it (scan it in the chest), there should still be a copy in the chest even though you restored it to the original location. When it is no longer detected then you can also remove it from the File System Shield and avast Settings, exclusions lists.

Note: When using the Browse button it only goes down to folder level accept that. Now open the entry in the exclusions and change the \* to \file_name.exe where file_name.exe is the file you want to exclude.
Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 2014 9.0.2018/ Outpost Firewall Pro9.1/ Firefox 28.0, NoScript, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro/ DropMyRights/ MalwareBytes AntiMalware Premium 2.0.1/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security

Offline apollothethird

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: How exclude a good program
« Reply #7 on: January 27, 2011, 09:34:36 PM »
Did you try excluding it under file shield expert settings?

Yes.  I had tried that.  However, now after looking at your image I noticed the prefix in front of the filenames.  I added "*\" to the name I already had there and turned Avast back on.  It works!  I'm glad to have the fabulous Avast back.  I missed it.

Thanks a bunch!

-- L. James

--
L. D. James
ljames@apollo3.com
www.apollo3.com/~ljames

Offline apollothethird

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: How exclude a good program
« Reply #8 on: January 27, 2011, 09:44:07 PM »
- In the meantime (if you accept the risk),

Thanks, David.  It's no risk.  There isn't a problem with the file.  During my efforts to get this resolved I notice an option to submit to lab.  I'll submit the file with a description so that you may resolve whatever it is about your algorithm for the false alarm.

Quote
add the full path to the file to the exclusions lists (see Note below):
File System Shield, Expert Settings, Exclusions, Add and
avast Settings, Exclusions

Restore it to its original location, periodically check it (scan it in the chest), there should still be a copy in the chest even though you restored it to the original location. When it is no longer detected then you can also remove it from the File System Shield and avast Settings, exclusions lists.

Note: When using the Browse button it only goes down to folder level accept that. Now open the entry in the exclusions and change the \* to \file_name.exe where file_name.exe is the file you want to exclude.

Thanks a bunch for the support and concern.  You have a great program.  I've been recommending it to all my friends and encouraging them to purchase it.  I've also been saying for over a year that I will.  I certainly will after I recover from my Christmas expense.  I'll be a paid user before the end of February.

-- L. James

--
L. D. James
ljames@apollo3.com
www.apollo3.com/~ljames

Offline DavidR

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 69205
  • Gender: Male
  • No support PMs thanks
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: How exclude a good program
« Reply #9 on: January 27, 2011, 10:02:11 PM »
You're welcome.
Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 2014 9.0.2018/ Outpost Firewall Pro9.1/ Firefox 28.0, NoScript, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro/ DropMyRights/ MalwareBytes AntiMalware Premium 2.0.1/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security

 

Google Chrome

AVAST recommends using the FREE Google Chrome™ browser.

Download Google Chrome Now