Author Topic: ad aware6 help?  (Read 5758 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline angi_

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
ad aware6 help?
« on: September 13, 2004, 11:30:10 AM »

 Alexa Object recognized!
    Type               : RegKey
    Data               :
    Rootkey            : HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
    Object             : SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Extensions\{c95fe080-8f5d-11d2-a20b-00aa003c157a}
I always have this but when i try to delete it i cant use the internet any ideas????

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85797
  • No support PMs thanks
Re:ad aware6 help?
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2004, 03:33:04 PM »
Hi Angi_,

To start with I would recommend that you upgrade adaware6 to the latest version of AdAware SE (free) Personal version and get the latest recognition files.

Then run your check again and if there is still a problem, tick it to be fixed/removed by AdAware SE.

You might also want to run a hijackthis check as well, visit Eddy's HiJackThis Info and Analysis page,

HijackThis log file analyzer and follow the directions there and get back to us if you need more

help....
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.8.2487 (build 21.8.6586.697) UI 1.0.666/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline angi_

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
Re:ad aware6 help?
« Reply #2 on: September 13, 2004, 06:06:12 PM »
i installed the newer version and got rid of the above but now all the writing on my screen whilst im on the net is very small??????   any help

Offline MikeBCda

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2248
Re:ad aware6 help?
« Reply #3 on: September 13, 2004, 06:17:00 PM »
Are you getting just the single Alexa "item" from Ad-Aware?  If so, that one unfortunately goes more or less hand-in-hand with IE (IE-6, anyway) and you're probably stuck with it -- it's tied into the "related sites" function, among other things.

There seems to be a general consensus that if you stick with IE, your best bet is to simply add it to Ad-Aware's ignore list.  I also had to do that with my "about:blank" home page, Ad-Aware doesn't like that either because of the worm that uses it as a starting point or hook.
Intel Atom D2700, 2 gig RAM, Win 7 x64 SP1 & IE-11, Firefox 51.0
(default). 320 gig HD, 15Mb DSL, Win firewall, Avast 12.3.2280 free, SpywareBlaster, MBAM Prem., Crypto-Prevent

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85797
  • No support PMs thanks
Re:ad aware6 help?
« Reply #4 on: September 13, 2004, 06:24:55 PM »
I think that this is nothing more than coincidence, AdAware shouldn't effect your browser text size. Unless of course there was something in the form of a BHO (Browser Helper Object) to modify the default text size and you either fixed/removed it in AdAware.

If you are using IE6 just change the text size from the View menu or the Icon on the toolbar. That should stick until you change it.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.8.2487 (build 21.8.6586.697) UI 1.0.666/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline angi_

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
Re:ad aware6 help?
« Reply #5 on: September 13, 2004, 06:30:33 PM »
yes it was just one alexa thing but i deleted it  and ty for the text resizing info did that and its ok now  thanxs again

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re:ad aware6 help?
« Reply #6 on: September 13, 2004, 08:09:37 PM »
If you are using IE6 just change the text size from the View menu.

All other browsers have the same option and, generally, at the same path way...

I also had to do that with my "about:blank" home page, Ad-Aware doesn't like that either because of the worm that uses it as a starting point or hook.

Yeah, this happens. I must add "about:blank" to ignore list too  :P
The best things in life are free.

Offline MikeBCda

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2248
Re:ad aware6 help?
« Reply #7 on: September 13, 2004, 10:46:01 PM »
One last note on Alexa - there was a new A-A defs update out today, and I emptied my ignore list before running a fresh scan.  Alexa no longer turns up, for the first time, so I'm guessing Lavasoft has removed it from their defs essentially because they accept that it's both unavoidable and relatively harmless.

I haven't looked at what's new in these defs (there's a posting somewhere else here), but that's my guess.

P.S. (nearly a day later)  I didn't notice until a later A-A scan, but it looks like the "about:blank" item is now also gone from the defs.
« Last Edit: September 14, 2004, 08:26:26 PM by MikeBCda »
Intel Atom D2700, 2 gig RAM, Win 7 x64 SP1 & IE-11, Firefox 51.0
(default). 320 gig HD, 15Mb DSL, Win firewall, Avast 12.3.2280 free, SpywareBlaster, MBAM Prem., Crypto-Prevent

Offline angi_

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
Re:ad aware6 help?
« Reply #8 on: September 14, 2004, 08:27:37 AM »
thanxs ;D