Author Topic: whistler virus and how use BTKR_RunBox on usb hard drive  (Read 10589 times)

krass

whistler virus and how use BTKR_RunBox on usb hard drive
« on: January 22, 2011, 11:49:01 AM »
hi
- my query  concerns how to use cleaning tools rather than diagnosis.

i'm on win xp  - i updated my free avast to the new version and the first auto scan threw up alert for whistler virus

my pc has one internal hard drive (drive number 0) and several other external usb drives - when i ran MBRCheck.exe it showed whistler virus in the mbr of all the drives

nothing i tried would clean the mbr of the drives until i ran BTKR_RunBox.exe which successfully replaced the infected mbr on the internal drive

i have no experience of using command line, and my query is how to get BTKR_RunBox.exe to repair the mbr in the usb drives?

i have BTKR_RunBox.exe and remover.exe  on my desktop - if i run the following script (by savinng it on desktop  as a .cmd file and then clicking on it):

Code: [Select]
@echo off
start remover.exe fix \\.\PhysicalDrive5
exit

the result i get is:-

Code: [Select]
Bootkit Remover
(c) 2009 eSage Lab
www.esagelab.com

Program version: 1.2.0.0
OS Version: Microsoft Windows XP Professional Service Pack 3 (build 2600)

System volume is \\.\C:
\\.\C: -> \\.\PhysicalDrive0 at offset 0x00000000`03ec1000
Restoring boot code at \\.\PhysicalDrive5...
ATA_Read(): DeviceIoControl() ERROR 50
ERROR: Can't read first sector of the disk.

Done;
Press any key to quit...

does anyone know how i get bootkit remover to fix the usb drives? it seems the perfect tool to deal with mbr infection

as an alterntive i tried reformatting one of the usb drive using the "format" option in windows explorer , but that didnt touch the mbr -  is there a better way to reformat a usb hard drive that will re-write the mbr also?

thanks
chris

Offline Pondus

• Probably Bot
  • Not a avast user
Re: whistler virus and how use BTKR_RunBox on usb hard drive