Author Topic: Windows 7 Action Center and avast! 5.1.889  (Read 4072 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline groucho

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Windows 7 Action Center and avast! 5.1.889
« on: February 06, 2011, 04:06:41 PM »
Even though avast! is installed and running, Windows 7 Action Center sounds the alarm saying that "Windows did not find any anti-virus program on this computer." You can stop the Windows Management and Security Center services and then delete or rename the REPOSITORY folder (c:\windows\system32\wbem\repository) but that will not solve your problem. The Windows 7 Action Center has trouble detecting the current version of avast! and this problem must be addressed by both ALWIL and MICROSOFT.

Offline RZPogi

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 236
Re: Windows 7 Action Center and avast! 5.1.889
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2011, 04:26:57 PM »
No problems here in my windows 7 laptop. Windows 7 Action Center detects my avast installation.

What is your windows 7 version(starter, home basic, etc) and avast version (free, pro, or IS)?
DESKTOP: Win 8.1 Pro, Avast 17 Free, Windows firewall, Malwarebytes free, Mcshield, Panda USB Vaccine

LAPTOP: Win 10, Windows Defender, Malwarebytes free, Windows Firewall, Mcshield

Offline CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 11055
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: Windows 7 Action Center and avast! 5.1.889
« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2011, 04:38:28 PM »
A clean reinstall would more than likely fix this issue.

Offline jason7619

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 88
Re: Windows 7 Action Center and avast! 5.1.889
« Reply #3 on: February 06, 2011, 06:39:51 PM »
Experienced that on a new installation of Windows 7 Home Premium. Clean re-install did it as as craigb stated. Cheers all:)
Avast IS 19.8  /  Malwarebytes Premium / Windows 10 x64 Build 1903 / AMD A10 Processor desktop with R9 Graphics 32GB Ram.

Offline logos

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9442
Re: Windows 7 Action Center and avast! 5.1.889
« Reply #4 on: February 06, 2011, 07:06:40 PM »
A clean reinstall would more than likely fix this issue.

yeah that's unfortunately the only way out. I got this problem currently on the beta but I won't bother re-installing just for that.
w7 - ais7

Offline YoKenny

  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 8786
E5200 2.5GHZ, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit, avast! V9.0 Free, IE10
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3 32bit, avast! V9.0 Free, Google Chrome
with hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS

Offline Bernie157

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • old time mainframe guy
Re: Windows 7 Action Center and avast! 5.1.889
« Reply #6 on: February 07, 2011, 09:48:41 PM »
"A clean reinstall" is often mentioned.  What is that?  Do you have to run BOTH Avast uninstall (aswClear5) and Windows' Uninstall software?

My installs were to run aswClear5 in Safe mode, reboot, install setup.AIS.exe, reboot, insert license.  What's wrong with that?

Offline CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 11055
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: Windows 7 Action Center and avast! 5.1.889
« Reply #7 on: February 08, 2011, 05:21:25 AM »
"A clean reinstall" is often mentioned.  What is that?  Do you have to run BOTH Avast uninstall (aswClear5) and Windows' Uninstall software?

My installs were to run aswClear5 in Safe mode, reboot, install setup.AIS.exe, reboot, insert license.  What's wrong with that?
Bernie157 first off you need to uninstall via add remove program's in control panel then reboot into safe mode and run the removal tool and reboot back to normal,now you can install the freash copy, that is a clean install  :)