Author Topic: windows not genuine?!!?!!!  (Read 3630 times)

jewellworks

windows not genuine?!!?!!!
« on: February 11, 2011, 04:43:59 AM »
im using the free version of avast.  ive been using it for 3 or 4 months now.  not problems, until now.
i just completed a full system scan and it found nothing.  then it asked to do a auto-start scan, and it would require the computer to reboot and it would do another full scan durring the bootup process.  it took forever, and it found a few things. at every instance, i told it to move the suspisious item in the virus chest, or ignore the item alltogether, if it couldnt be moved.
after it finally rebooted, i have a message in the lower right corner of my desktop that says that my copy of windows is not genuine!!!  i know this to be completely wrong!  i bought this laptop new and have never had any problems with it, certainly not requiring a new install of the operating system!  its all original from the factory.  what just happened?!!  what did Avast do to my laptop??!!  and how do i get it back!??! 
having a "not genuine" copy of windows suddenly means i dont get any new updates!  this is CRAP!
my operating system is windows vista.

IM REALLY PISSED OFF RIGHT NOW. >:(

Offline Tarq57

• Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • If at first you don’t succeed; call it version 1.0
Re: windows not genuine?!!?!!!
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2011, 10:41:05 AM »
I guess it's possible that the boot scan may have removed a valid file.

Have a look in the chest, and please post the original file name and path of each detection for the boot scan, and the malware name Avast assigned to it.

Had you modified any of the behaviour or other settings?
Windows 10,Windows Firewall,Firefox w/Adblock.

Offline Eddy

• Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2011, 10:26:05 AM »
Click on Start and then Control Panel.