Author Topic: AV4 Home Not registered with XP SP2  (Read 10598 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline gary.lane

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re:AV4 Home Not registered with XP SP2
« Reply #15 on: September 08, 2004, 02:32:04 PM »
I tried, but I can't delete the Repositry folder (even in safe mode) as Windows reports that the files are "in use".  Maybe that's because they weren't corrupted or failing like your ones.

Offline Carlospr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re:AV4 Home Not registered with XP SP2
« Reply #16 on: September 08, 2004, 02:44:48 PM »
You have to try to delete the files in it, not the folder itself...

Offline gary.lane

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re:AV4 Home Not registered with XP SP2
« Reply #17 on: September 08, 2004, 02:46:50 PM »
Tried that, same problem.

Offline Carlospr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re:AV4 Home Not registered with XP SP2
« Reply #18 on: September 08, 2004, 04:00:22 PM »
If you really want to give this a try, stop Windows Management
Instrumentation service, then delete the files.

After that, restart your computer.

Make a system restore point before.

Offline gigsvoo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re:AV4 Home Not registered with XP SP2
« Reply #19 on: September 09, 2004, 04:33:22 AM »
Hey guyz,

I was running Windows XP sp1 with AntiVir. The processes are:

1. Install Windows XP sp2
2. Unintall AntiVir Home Edition
3. Install Avast HE 4

Everything is ok.

By the way, does Avast has any official announcement that Avast HE 4 supports XP sp2?

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:AV4 Home Not registered with XP SP2
« Reply #20 on: September 09, 2004, 10:30:38 AM »
Avast 4 HE support XP SP2.

Was this official enough? ;D


(I mean, are we expected to do a press release about this...?) :)
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31335
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re:AV4 Home Not registered with XP SP2
« Reply #21 on: September 09, 2004, 12:15:58 PM »
Launch a world wide tv/radio campaign, road shows and such to tell the people  ;D ;D ;D

Offline Datagg

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 219
  • Perceive things that you cant see
    • Girlfriends Lingerie
Re:AV4 Home Not registered with XP SP2
« Reply #22 on: September 09, 2004, 10:34:54 PM »
Avast 4 HE support XP SP2.

Was this official enough? ;D


(I mean, are we expected to do a press release about this...?) :)

Actualy I would like some planes to be flown around with flyer attatched to rear and a nice display of firworks also..Then and only then will i be convinced...... ;D
X64
GA-K8N-SLI
AMD 64 3500+
Nvidia Nforce4
e-Geforce 6800GT - PCI-E 256M
Gig of PC3200 DDR2

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 44919
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:AV4 Home Not registered with XP SP2
« Reply #23 on: September 09, 2004, 11:09:28 PM »
Avast 4 HE support XP SP2.

Was this official enough? ;D


(I mean, are we expected to do a press release about this...?) :)

Actualy I would like some planes to be flown around with flyer attatched to rear and a nice display of firworks also..Then and only then will i be convinced...... ;D

How about a big extraveganza during the Super Bowl half time show?
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v20H2 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline Carlospr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re:AV4 Home Not registered with XP SP2
« Reply #24 on: September 10, 2004, 02:41:30 AM »
Hi gary.lane,

I hope you saw my last post:

1) stop the WMI service

2) delete the files in the repository folder

3) restart

There is a long alternative to try to solve the issue:
http://www.talkaboutsoftware.com/group/microsoft.public.windowsxp.wmi/messages/2468.html

I know an user that fixed his WMI using the alternative.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67259
Re:AV4 Home Not registered with XP SP2
« Reply #25 on: September 10, 2004, 04:15:20 AM »
Avast 4 HE support XP SP2.

Well, not fully in a clean installation of SP2 (Windows > SP2 > then avast...).
You should correct the VDD Registry Key trouble  :P
The best things in life are free.