Author Topic: Version 6 disables my system after install & reboot [mothership]  (Read 13158 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline zerospam

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
Version 6 disables my system after install & reboot [mothership]
« on: February 24, 2011, 11:19:15 PM »
I attempted to install v6 Pro on WinXP SP3 [edit: after using 4.8 for years]. The install went OK, and Avast appeared to work afterward. But after rebooting, the Avast service and many others refused to start, and even the taskbar wouldn't appear. It turns out that something about Avast prevented the RPC service from starting, which then caused most or all or the other problems.

I tried the troubleshooting/load Avast after other services option, but it made no difference.

After several reboots, including install/uninstall cycles, I uninstalled V6 and installed V5 [Edited to add: 5.0.545], which works OK. I ran a full scan (and a boot-time scan, too) with a current VPS, but Avast found no viruses.

Ideas?

« Last Edit: March 07, 2011, 11:53:29 PM by zerospam »

Offline doluck

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
Re: Version 6 disables my system after install & reboot
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2011, 08:28:15 PM »
I think i have the same problem as you. After the update the computer would load normally up till it loaded itself then none of my other taskbar items would load then the whole computer would freeze up. Unistalled and computer returned to normal.
WinXP SP3 and zonealarm

Offline radunn

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Version 6 disables my system after install & reboot
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2011, 05:16:33 PM »
I think i have the same problem as you. After the update the computer would load normally up till it loaded itself then none of my other taskbar items would load then the whole computer would freeze up. Unistalled and computer returned to normal.
WinXP SP3 and zonealarm
Perhaps we can get more feedback on this issue or has yours been resolved?  I too have the same issue (winXP, sp3).  I was informed that this issue can be resolved by running a memory dump, saving and uploading the file via the Avast ftp server for review.  I am awaiting the upload procedure.  Please share if your issue has been resolved.

Offline Archive_guy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Version 6 disables my system after install & reboot
« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2011, 07:17:58 PM »
I too have experienced this freeze up.

I have traced part of the problem to the "REAL TIME FILE SYSTEM SHIELD" :o

If you disable this (which we should not), you might regain access to your system !!!! :-\
  In my case, using XP (fully updated) ADMIN level account, seems part of problem is with the "scan files for writing".

     Disable this on admin account and system access is restored.... Go figure....

   If your on a limited account, no hope in _______... Tried everything, no luck....

I was forced to down grade back to  version 5. (Lucky I had an old copy ) ;D


My best suggestion.... HOLD OFF upgrade until they resolve this.

I have about 10 friends all running the same thing, and it would be a pain to have to walk them thru how to fix this....







Offline Daris

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 181
Re: Version 6 disables my system after install & reboot
« Reply #4 on: February 27, 2011, 07:26:42 PM »
Out of curiosity, how did you guys Upgrade to Avast 6??  Did you just click the Upgrade button on Avast? I have XP SP3 Professional, had no probs..
Windows XP SP3 Vista capable but Prefer SP2, Avast 6, PC Tools Firewall, Spyshelter, Malwarebytes Free, SAS Free, CCleaner, Eusing Free Reg, Wise Reg Cleaner Portable, Wise Disc Cleaner Portable, Glary Utillities Portable, ClamWin Portable scanner, Firefox portable, Revo Un installer, IE7 and Opera

Offline zerospam

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
Re: Version 6 disables my system after install & reboot
« Reply #5 on: February 27, 2011, 07:27:51 PM »
No, I have not seen anything that resolves this problem. I am sticking with 5.0.545 until I hear the Avast team acknowledge the problem and fix it.

To Daris: I upgraded from v4.8 by downloading and running the 6.0 installer. When that didn't work, I uninstalled 6.0 using its deinstaller, then re-ran the installer. I tried uninstall/reinstall several times, and tried various options (e.g., load Avast after other services) and nothing helped.

BTW, why can't we get older versions of Avast directly from this website? While the files are signed with MS digital signatures, I'd prefer to supplement that level of security by downloading directly from Avast.
« Last Edit: February 27, 2011, 07:41:02 PM by zerospam »

Offline YoKenny

  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 8786
Re: Version 6 disables my system after install & reboot
« Reply #6 on: February 27, 2011, 07:34:52 PM »
No problems on my XP Pro system but when I did on avast! V5 I received great help by following this:
How to invoke memory dump creation?
http://support.avast.com/index.php?_m=knowledgebase&_a=viewarticle&kbarticleid=71

You can get old versions from Filehippo:
http://www.filehippo.com/download_avast_antivirus
« Last Edit: February 27, 2011, 08:25:22 PM by YoKenny »
E5200 2.5GHZ, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit, avast! V9.0 Free, IE10
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3 32bit, avast! V9.0 Free, Google Chrome
with hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS

Offline radunn

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Version 6 disables my system after install & reboot
« Reply #7 on: February 27, 2011, 08:21:46 PM »
No problems on my XP Pro system but when I did on avast! V5 I received great help by following this:
How to invoke memory dump creation?
http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=72467.msg604366#msg604366
Where does link mention memory dump?

Offline YoKenny

  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 8786
Re: Version 6 disables my system after install & reboot
« Reply #8 on: February 27, 2011, 08:24:33 PM »
No problems on my XP Pro system but when I did on avast! V5 I received great help by following this:
How to invoke memory dump creation?
http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=72467.msg604366#msg604366
Where does link mention memory dump?
Sorry I meant:
http://support.avast.com/index.php?_m=knowledgebase&_a=viewarticle&kbarticleid=71
Somehow I did not copy-n-paste the link correctly  :-[
E5200 2.5GHZ, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit, avast! V9.0 Free, IE10
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3 32bit, avast! V9.0 Free, Google Chrome
with hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS

Offline doluck

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
Re: Version 6 disables my system after install & reboot
« Reply #9 on: February 28, 2011, 07:47:04 AM »
I think i have the same problem as you. After the update the computer would load normally up till it loaded itself then none of my other taskbar items would load then the whole computer would freeze up. Unistalled and computer returned to normal.
WinXP SP3 and zonealarm
Perhaps we can get more feedback on this issue or has yours been resolved?  I too have the same issue (winXP, sp3).  I was informed that this issue can be resolved by running a memory dump, saving and uploading the file via the Avast ftp server for review.  I am awaiting the upload procedure.  Please share if your issue has been resolved.

Hey sorry for the late reply i ran out of internet bandwidth. I have reinstalled v5 and will try a clean install of v6 in the weekend. i will let you know how i get on

Offline Daris

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 181
Re: Version 6 disables my system after install & reboot
« Reply #10 on: March 01, 2011, 04:34:57 PM »
Cool..Make sure to download the Avast clean up utillity tool, also after you run the tool ..do a search for old versions of Avast anyways ...and delete the old version folders...Also do a search for old versions in your registry...
    I had a friend who had version 5 installed and it wouldn't work properly. ..couldn't get the shields to run...I did a search for Avast and found he had 4.8 folders still there....So then I deleted them and searched his registry and now he's fine....Luck
Windows XP SP3 Vista capable but Prefer SP2, Avast 6, PC Tools Firewall, Spyshelter, Malwarebytes Free, SAS Free, CCleaner, Eusing Free Reg, Wise Reg Cleaner Portable, Wise Disc Cleaner Portable, Glary Utillities Portable, ClamWin Portable scanner, Firefox portable, Revo Un installer, IE7 and Opera

Offline doluck

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
Re: Version 6 disables my system after install & reboot
« Reply #11 on: March 05, 2011, 01:54:36 AM »
Well i did a complete clean install and still get the same problem. removed every avast/alwil file/folder and every avast/alwil reg entry. Looks like i will be staying with v5.

Avast, zonealarm. sandboxie


Offline doluck

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
Re: Version 6 disables my system after install & reboot [mothership]
« Reply #13 on: March 13, 2011, 06:50:08 AM »
Im glad its not just me then :)

Offline YoKenny

  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 8786
Re: Version 6 disables my system after install & reboot [mothership]
« Reply #14 on: March 13, 2011, 03:18:17 PM »
Im glad its not just me then :)
The latest avast! update solves problems with ZoneAlarm:
Quote
Here's the list of the most important changes:
- solved an incompatibility with ZoneAlarm (WinXP)
http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=73657.0
E5200 2.5GHZ, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit, avast! V9.0 Free, IE10
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3 32bit, avast! V9.0 Free, Google Chrome
with hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS