Author Topic: Visual Studio 2010 Experience Report + Plea for Relief  (Read 4322 times)

FrustratedDev

Visual Studio 2010 Experience Report + Plea for Relief
« on: March 30, 2012, 09:45:03 PM »
As a Visual Studio 2010 developer, I'm extremely frustrated that after a recent update Avast now appears to ignore any exclusions -- specifically exclusions on the folders containing nothing but harmless source code, as well as to sandbox programs launched in debug mode.

Please, I beg you*, add a mode called "I'm a software developer that does not need protection of any kind in this folder path." Make me enter a regular expression, or some fancy JavaScript or something to prove that I know what I'm doing is not for the regular Joe business users or grandparents or whatever.  Make me describe pointer arithmetic, just stop scanning text files.

If there is a known solution to this problem, here's some more information about my setup: Windows 7 x64, Visual Studio 2010 SP1, ReSharper 5.1, Intel Core i3, 8GB RAM, and a 5200RPM disk.  Yes, everything is patched.  Yes, I've rebooted 3 times, blown the dust out of the DVD drive, and chanted over the machine with a group of hippies.

* I use the free version of Avast (7.0.1426), but this is a feature I would pay for.  Yes, I just said that I would pay for a feature that disables AV, yet gives the appearance of having AV running.  As a user of AV products for the last decade, I don't find this ironic.  These products invariably screw-over both production and dev machines, but we're stuck with this fine software because the sales process targets management.
« Last Edit: March 30, 2012, 09:50:50 PM by FrustratedDev »

Gargamel360

Re: Visual Studio 2010 Experience Report + Plea for Relief
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2012, 09:51:49 PM »
Pardon, but are using Avast! Free on a work PC?

If so, this is a clear violation of the EULA.