Author Topic: Version 6 killed Comodo  (Read 6844 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline caledoniannorm

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
Version 6 killed Comodo
« on: February 25, 2011, 09:27:15 AM »
I upgraded to new version 6 free edition yesterday.

It disabled my free edition of the Comodo firewall.
I got that running again by means of a clean reinstall of Comodo.

When I booted this am........Comodo was disabled again.

Have reverted back to Avast free version 5.1.889 and Comodo is behaving as it should again.

Will stick with 5.1.889 until it becomes unsupported and will then change to another AV prog.
Win 7 64bit



Avast Free Edition 2014.9.0.2018

Offline cvsa

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 275
Re: Version 6 killed Comodo
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2011, 09:42:24 AM »
That's weird......  ???   didn't notice any trouble of that kind on my 3 pc with CFW and avast.... what is your CFW version ?
Win xp and Vista  - Comodo Firewall v4 - Mozilla Firefox  - Foxmail 5.0 - Avast! v5

Offline caledoniannorm

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
Re: Version 6 killed Comodo
« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2011, 09:46:40 AM »
Thank you for your response.

Using version 3.0.25.378 firewall only....Defense+ is disabled.
Win 7 64bit



Avast Free Edition 2014.9.0.2018

doktornotor

  • Guest
Re: Version 6 killed Comodo
« Reply #3 on: February 25, 2011, 09:52:07 AM »
Using version 3.0.25.378 firewall only....Defense+ is disabled.

Considering CIS is at 5.3.174622.1216 and you version was released on 30th May, 2008 - may I suggest to upgrade finally  ??? :o

Offline caledoniannorm

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
Re: Version 6 killed Comodo
« Reply #4 on: February 25, 2011, 09:55:07 AM »
As far as I can see, my version is the latest for a stand alone firewall. I don't want a CIS.
Win 7 64bit



Avast Free Edition 2014.9.0.2018

doktornotor

  • Guest
Re: Version 6 killed Comodo
« Reply #5 on: February 25, 2011, 09:58:38 AM »
As far as I can see, my version is the latest for a stand alone firewall. I don't want a CIS.

You can install a standalone firewall just fine w/ CIS installer - read the documentation. You won't get any support for completely obsolete products from Comodo and noone at Avast is going to bother with compatibility issues either, I'm afraid.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 70285
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Version 6 killed Comodo
« Reply #6 on: February 25, 2011, 10:00:10 AM »
I don't want a CIS.

You can choose only to install the FW and D+...
asyn
W8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.4.2463.B4i [UI.617] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.10.1 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 78.10.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 90.1 - Cleanup 21.1 - SecureLine 5.11 - Driver Updater 21.1 - CCleaner 5.78
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline cvsa

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 275
Re: Version 6 killed Comodo
« Reply #7 on: February 25, 2011, 10:21:51 AM »
You don't need to install CIS . Comodo Firewall  v5 is here (the first of the list) :

http://personalfirewall.comodo.com/free-download.html

if you don't want Defense + nor the sandbox, just disable them and clear the Trusted Vendor List and put the FW in Custom settings mode.....

 8)
« Last Edit: February 25, 2011, 10:24:17 AM by cvsa »
Win xp and Vista  - Comodo Firewall v4 - Mozilla Firefox  - Foxmail 5.0 - Avast! v5

doktornotor

  • Guest
Re: Version 6 killed Comodo
« Reply #8 on: February 25, 2011, 10:27:25 AM »
You don't need to install CIS . Comodo Firewall  v5 is here (the first of the list) :

http://personalfirewall.comodo.com/free-download.html

It's the same product/installer - will download CIS. Their website sucks bigtime and confuses the hell out of users.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 70285
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Version 6 killed Comodo
« Reply #9 on: February 25, 2011, 10:29:22 AM »
It's the same product/installer - will download CIS. Their website sucks bigtime and confuses the hell out of users.

Confirm this.
asyn
W8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.4.2463.B4i [UI.617] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.10.1 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 78.10.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 90.1 - Cleanup 21.1 - SecureLine 5.11 - Driver Updater 21.1 - CCleaner 5.78
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline caledoniannorm

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
Re: Version 6 killed Comodo
« Reply #10 on: February 25, 2011, 10:43:24 AM »
Thank you all for your comments, advice and pointers.

Please bear with me...at 89 years old I need some time to understand all this.

Will be back at some point to update on progress.
Win 7 64bit



Avast Free Edition 2014.9.0.2018

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: Version 6 killed Comodo
« Reply #11 on: February 25, 2011, 12:04:19 PM »
The best things in life are free.

Offline mag

  • Advanced Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 740
Re: Version 6 killed Comodo
« Reply #12 on: February 25, 2011, 12:05:58 PM »
Just a thought - is comodo FW really not working, or is it just that windows security centre says it isn't?

(I have had a problem in the last couple of days with windows reporting that comodo FW isn't running - but when I check comodo it is actually fine (a reboot has solved this for me so far).

Offline logos

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9442
Re: Version 6 killed Comodo
« Reply #13 on: February 25, 2011, 12:08:35 PM »
yeah neither the free version of Avast nor the paid ones have the ability to disable any firewall. So it must just be "Action center" messing around as usual.
w7 - ais7

Offline BlacMoon91

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re: Version 6 killed Comodo
« Reply #14 on: February 25, 2011, 02:06:00 PM »
If two Antivirus are in realtime protection that may always a problem to run which is in higher priority. Simply select only firewall in Comodo, then make a flexible in your system.