Author Topic: How to menage the url blacklist?  (Read 3136 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline googlavast

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
How to menage the url blacklist?
« on: February 27, 2011, 02:35:10 AM »
Hi everyone, this is my first post. I use Avast 6 from yesterday and i really like it, but I encountered some difficulties with the management of url blacklist. I'm hoping for an improvement in Avast 7 or before but my question is this:

i have more than 60 urls in the list, how do I copy them all together and export the list to another pc???

My "main pc" is win xp sp3, the other one 7 ultimate.

Thanks to all who help me and sorry for my english!
 

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67269
Re: How to menage the url blacklist?
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2011, 03:06:52 AM »
There isn't such a feature.
Do you really need to "block" such sites? I mean, isn't it a parental control measure?
The best things in life are free.

doktornotor

  • Guest
Re: How to menage the url blacklist?
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2011, 08:35:13 AM »
Looks like I am not the only one who thinks there should be export/import feature  ;)

Offline spg SCOTT

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 4130
  • There is no magic, only lost physics
    • spg SCOTT
Re: How to menage the url blacklist?
« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2011, 03:14:53 PM »
The blocked sites are stored in the webshield.ini file:

Vista/7:- C:\ProgramData\AVAST Software\Avast\webshield.ini
XP:- C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\AVAST Software\Avast\webshield.ini
NOTE:Some sections of this loactation will be slightly different depending on your install conditions. i.e. ALWIL instead of AVAST...

The line is under [WebScanner] but before [Common] each entry is separated by a semi-colon ;

So for example:

BlockedURLs=http://.www.google.com*;http://www.avast.com*
“There is a computer disease that anybody who works with computers knows about. It's a very serious disease and it interferes completely with the work. The trouble with computers is that you 'play' with them!”Richard Feynman

Offline danny96

  • Malware Fighter
  • Advanced Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 668
  • No-malware!
Re: How to menage the url blacklist?
« Reply #4 on: February 27, 2011, 03:25:19 PM »
The blocked sites are stored in the webshield.ini file:

Vista/7:- C:\ProgramData\AVAST Software\Avast\webshield.ini
XP:- C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\AVAST Software\Avast\webshield.ini
NOTE:Some sections of this loactation will be slightly different depending on your install conditions. i.e. ALWIL instead of AVAST...

The line is under [WebScanner] but before [Common] each entry is separated by a semi-colon ;

So for example:

BlockedURLs=http://.www.google.com*;http://www.avast.com*
good examples :D (google, avast)
thanks for tip, now we all know where we want to find Blocked URL list ;)
Real-time protection and Firewall: COMODO Internet Security 12.0.0.6810 -- Additional Protection: Web Of Trust, Ublock, NoScript, Malwarebytes Premium, Avast! Online Security, Hitman Pro -- OS: Windows 10

Offline spg SCOTT

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 4130
  • There is no magic, only lost physics
    • spg SCOTT
Re: How to menage the url blacklist?
« Reply #5 on: February 27, 2011, 03:26:16 PM »
First ones that sprung to mind ;D
You're welcome
“There is a computer disease that anybody who works with computers knows about. It's a very serious disease and it interferes completely with the work. The trouble with computers is that you 'play' with them!”Richard Feynman

Offline googlavast

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: How to menage the url blacklist?
« Reply #6 on: February 27, 2011, 08:33:42 PM »
The blocked sites are stored in the webshield.ini file:

Vista/7:- C:\ProgramData\AVAST Software\Avast\webshield.ini
XP:- C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\AVAST Software\Avast\webshield.ini
NOTE:Some sections of this loactation will be slightly different depending on your install conditions. i.e. ALWIL instead of AVAST...

The line is under [WebScanner] but before [Common] each entry is separated by a semi-colon ;

So for example:

BlockedURLs=http://.www.google.com*;http://www.avast.com*


Thank you very much!!! It works!  :D