Author Topic: [SOLVED] After upgrading Avast error c000021a  (Read 10357 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Omonimo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
[SOLVED] After upgrading Avast error c000021a
« on: February 27, 2011, 10:42:21 AM »
After upgrading Avast I reboot and the PC crash at logon with error
STOP: c000021a (Fatal System Error). The Windows Logon
Process System process terminated unexpectedly with a
status of 0xc00000080 (0x0000000 0x00000000). The system
has been shut down
I can't go also in safe mode (a similar error) wath can I do ?
Maybe Avast installed some driver in the last release ?

yours

Alberto
« Last Edit: March 13, 2011, 12:10:48 PM by Omonimo »

Offline DavidCo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 257
Re: After upgrading Avast error c000021a
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2011, 10:55:35 AM »
Are you using XP, if so do a search on the code
Seems to be a known problem and not dependent on your AV
 
Asus P5, E8500/3.16GHz, 4GB Corsair X2E, Sata11 'Cudas, 512MB Nvidia
Vista HP 32Bit, Avast AV/V6 Pro, Mbam on demand

Offline Omonimo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
Re: After upgrading Avast error c000021a
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2011, 11:05:03 AM »
Yes I use XP,
but I did a search, the rare people that received this error
(complete with 0xc00000080) seems to solve with a reistallation,
I think it depend from the AV because the error appeared at reboot after
upgrading the AV, and I saw that the upgrading downloaded a SYS file.
I don't do anything else in this session.

yours

Alberto

Offline DavidCo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 257
Re: After upgrading Avast error c000021a
« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2011, 11:09:46 AM »
Or repair
From the look of the Microsoft KB's on the subject it isn't so rare
Have you search Technet
Asus P5, E8500/3.16GHz, 4GB Corsair X2E, Sata11 'Cudas, 512MB Nvidia
Vista HP 32Bit, Avast AV/V6 Pro, Mbam on demand

Offline Omonimo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
Re: After upgrading Avast error c000021a
« Reply #4 on: February 27, 2011, 11:22:19 AM »
I tried from the CD recovery console, but the LAST KNOWN GOOD CONFIGURATION
don't work, I can try the recovery of the registry as explained in he technet,
wayh do you think ?

Alberto

Offline DavidCo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 257
Re: After upgrading Avast error c000021a
« Reply #5 on: February 27, 2011, 12:26:32 PM »
What version of XP are you running, especially the SP
XP dosn't back up all of the hives, so whilst it shouldn't make things worse....
Asus P5, E8500/3.16GHz, 4GB Corsair X2E, Sata11 'Cudas, 512MB Nvidia
Vista HP 32Bit, Avast AV/V6 Pro, Mbam on demand

Offline Dwarden

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1789
  • Ideas, that's ocean without borders!
    • Bohemia Interactive
Re: After upgrading Avast error c000021a
« Reply #6 on: February 27, 2011, 06:38:49 PM »
please follow these  instructions

please upload Your minidump to so Avast staff can analyze it
to
ftp.avast.com/incoming

(files are usually located in C:\Windows\Minidump
it's .dmp file from time of the BSOD

https://twitter.com/FoltynD , Tech. Community, Online Services & Distribution manager of Bohemia Interactive

Offline DavidCo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 257
Re: After upgrading Avast error c000021a
« Reply #7 on: February 27, 2011, 07:16:34 PM »
Dwarden
The OP can't get past logon

Asus P5, E8500/3.16GHz, 4GB Corsair X2E, Sata11 'Cudas, 512MB Nvidia
Vista HP 32Bit, Avast AV/V6 Pro, Mbam on demand

Offline Dwarden

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1789
  • Ideas, that's ocean without borders!
    • Bohemia Interactive
Re: After upgrading Avast error c000021a
« Reply #8 on: February 27, 2011, 08:18:33 PM »
he should try boot into safe mode / safe mode with networking and uninstall Avast there then

and ofcourse upload the dumps if any present

(i dont think renaming the avast asw*.sys files to e.g. asw*.sys_disabled in Windows XP will work w/o issue)
https://twitter.com/FoltynD , Tech. Community, Online Services & Distribution manager of Bohemia Interactive

doktornotor

  • Guest
Re: After upgrading Avast error c000021a
« Reply #9 on: February 27, 2011, 08:20:42 PM »
he should try boot into safe mode / safe mode with networking and uninstall Avast there then

That won't exactly work either:

I can't go also in safe mode (a similar error) wath can I do ?


Offline DavidCo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 257
Re: After upgrading Avast error c000021a
« Reply #10 on: February 27, 2011, 08:45:44 PM »
Use a live CD and copy the file to another medium
It may help, but....
Asus P5, E8500/3.16GHz, 4GB Corsair X2E, Sata11 'Cudas, 512MB Nvidia
Vista HP 32Bit, Avast AV/V6 Pro, Mbam on demand

Offline Dwarden

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1789
  • Ideas, that's ocean without borders!
    • Bohemia Interactive
Re: After upgrading Avast error c000021a
« Reply #11 on: February 27, 2011, 09:00:06 PM »
or usage of last known working configuration tho that might be tricky
https://twitter.com/FoltynD , Tech. Community, Online Services & Distribution manager of Bohemia Interactive

Offline Omonimo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
Re: After upgrading Avast error c000021a
« Reply #12 on: February 28, 2011, 09:29:56 AM »
or usage of last known working configuration tho that might be tricky

thanks for replay but in recovery console the last working configuration don't
do anything, I already try it

another thing is the asw*.sys the only file loaded by the registry ?


yours

Alberto
« Last Edit: February 28, 2011, 09:34:12 AM by Omonimo »

Offline Omonimo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
Re: After upgrading Avast error c000021a
« Reply #13 on: February 28, 2011, 01:48:38 PM »
up

Offline DavidCo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 257
Re: After upgrading Avast error c000021a
« Reply #14 on: February 28, 2011, 02:05:00 PM »
Quote
another thing is the asw*.sys the only file loaded by the registry ?

I think I am losing it :-[
I do not understand the quoted above
If you cannot get access to Windows - no logon, no safe mode etc how can you 'see' what is loaded by registry

Asus P5, E8500/3.16GHz, 4GB Corsair X2E, Sata11 'Cudas, 512MB Nvidia
Vista HP 32Bit, Avast AV/V6 Pro, Mbam on demand