Author Topic: Avast 6 take long-time boot...  (Read 34928 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 45696
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast 6 take long-time boot...
« Reply #45 on: April 15, 2011, 11:46:31 PM »
Exactly. Why not use both. I do. Windows backup is known not to replace all files.
Hopefully you have proof to back up that statement.
I've been using it since beta days and have never run across that problem.
As to using both, that might be fine if you have nothing better to do.  ;D
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 21.6, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85383
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast 6 take long-time boot...
« Reply #46 on: April 15, 2011, 11:49:03 PM »
in settings, you have the option to tell avast to load its components only after the system has finished to boot.

Wrong, it is Load avast! services only after loading other system services.' Note my emphasis, this is only for system services and not other services and certainly not after the system has booted.

This is likely only to shave of fractions of a second waiting for windows system services.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.5.2470 (build 21.5.6354.675) UI 1.0.646/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Dieselman

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 621
Re: Avast 6 take long-time boot...
« Reply #47 on: April 16, 2011, 12:47:02 AM »
Exactly. Why not use both. I do. Windows backup is known not to replace all files.
Hopefully you have proof to back up that statement.
I've been using it since beta days and have never run across that problem.
As to using both, that might be fine if you have nothing better to do.  ;D

But have you successfully mount several images with no errors?

Offline dagrev

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 424
Re: Avast 6 take long-time boot...
« Reply #48 on: April 16, 2011, 02:54:19 AM »
I've used Win 7 restore with some success at work.  Doesn't always get everything right.
Toshiba P870 Intel i7 2.30 GHz, 8GB Ram / Win7 (x64) SP1 | AIS 8 | MBAM Pro | AX64 Time Machine | Acronis TI | iDrive (free) | Pale Moon Browser
Naturalism postulates a non-rational source for man’s rationality. (K.Samples)
Would any one trust in the convictions of a monkey’s mind...? (Darwin)

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67250
Re: Avast 6 take long-time boot...
« Reply #49 on: April 16, 2011, 03:35:23 AM »
You gave up on Comodo Time Machine. ???
Yes. I can't use a abandonware... Comodo is NOT developing it anymore.
So I'm waiting - for some time - for them to get it back.
The best things in life are free.

Offline Dieselman

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 621
Re: Avast 6 take long-time boot...
« Reply #50 on: April 16, 2011, 03:37:51 AM »
Comodo Time Machine is no where near as good as having a system image stored on an external HDD.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67250
Re: Avast 6 take long-time boot...
« Reply #51 on: April 16, 2011, 03:40:23 AM »
I've used Win 7 restore with some success at work.  Doesn't always get everything right.
Windows System restore is NOT Windows Backup.

Comodo Time Machine is no where near as good as having a system image stored on an external HDD.
Different tools. Different technologies. Different goals. Apples and oranges.
The best things in life are free.

Offline Dieselman

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 621
Re: Avast 6 take long-time boot...
« Reply #52 on: April 16, 2011, 03:43:39 AM »
I think what you meant is "Windows 7 Backup and Restore". That is what's its called in the Control Panel. Not to be confused with Windows System Restore.

Online bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 45696
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast 6 take long-time boot...
« Reply #53 on: April 16, 2011, 04:37:34 AM »
Exactly. Why not use both. I do. Windows backup is known not to replace all files.
Hopefully you have proof to back up that statement.
I've been using it since beta days and have never run across that problem.
As to using both, that might be fine if you have nothing better to do.  ;D

But have you successfully mount several images with no errors?
Yes and on different computers also.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 21.6, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline DraKuL

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 392
Re: Avast 6 take long-time boot...
« Reply #54 on: April 16, 2011, 05:13:38 AM »
There is nothing complicated about it. Go into msconfig and its all right there. CCleaner also has a start up item enabler and disabler.



CC cleaner and msconfig cant delay startup processes can they? even winpatrol wont show the full list of processes..
ASRock Extreme 6 - Intel Corei7-3820 3.60GHz | RAM 16.00GB 2400FSB | 2TB HDD +128SSD | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 2GB
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit |Avast! Internet Security V8 | MBAM PRO - RealTime | SUPERAntiSpyware PRO |CC Cleaner | Chrome | Firefox |(The Latest Release of all the Software)

Offline Dieselman

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 621
Re: Avast 6 take long-time boot...
« Reply #55 on: April 16, 2011, 05:19:21 AM »
Delaying start ups is not part of your ordinary start ups. That part of your services. That can be done easily again by using Windows Services. Why use 3rd party software to do what your own OS can do.

Offline DraKuL

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 392
Re: Avast 6 take long-time boot...
« Reply #56 on: April 16, 2011, 05:26:24 AM »
Delaying start ups is not part of your ordinary start ups. That part of your services. That can be done easily again by using Windows Services. Why use 3rd party software to do what your own OS can do.

What do you mean its not part of the ordinary start ups? for eg. I have skype running on my start up, if I delay it, it will run AFTER the normal start up WHEN the system is idle.. that saves like 20seconds.. but if i use msconfig/cc cleaner I can only disable it and run manually.. I prefer to let it run automatically but delayed which I think only soluto lets me do.. I'm not sure if there are other programs that let the user delay start up applications... Winpatrol claim they do but wont let us configure all the programs...

as for 3rd party SW, why not use windows backup and recovery ? :P I have used it and it works perfectly fine.. but I was recommended macrium reflect by some users in this forum, not sure why they choose it over windows backup ( if they both do the same thing, and work fine) even Bob said it did a great job and I didnt have any issues either..
ASRock Extreme 6 - Intel Corei7-3820 3.60GHz | RAM 16.00GB 2400FSB | 2TB HDD +128SSD | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 2GB
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit |Avast! Internet Security V8 | MBAM PRO - RealTime | SUPERAntiSpyware PRO |CC Cleaner | Chrome | Firefox |(The Latest Release of all the Software)

Offline Dieselman

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 621
Re: Avast 6 take long-time boot...
« Reply #57 on: April 16, 2011, 05:34:39 AM »
There are start up items and there are services. Two entirely different things. Open up msconifg and you will see a start up tab and a services tab. There is no reason to have Skype running at start up at all. That feature can be disabled in the program itself. Certain software runs a start up item but does not run a service. Other programs run a start up item and a service. Then there are services themselves. Read up on it and get back to me when you have a better understanding of auto starts and services. Thanks.

BTW...................Please read what I write. I use both Windows 7 Backup and Paragon.

http://www.blackviper.com/2009/01/27/windows-7-how-do-i-change-the-automaticmanualdisabled-function/
« Last Edit: April 16, 2011, 05:40:09 AM by Dieselman »

Offline DraKuL

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 392
Re: Avast 6 take long-time boot...
« Reply #58 on: April 16, 2011, 05:43:12 AM »
There are start up items and there are services. Two entirely different things. Open up msconifg and you will see a start up tab and a services tab. There is no reason to have Skype running at start up at all. That feature can be disabled in the program itself.

BTW...................Please read what I write. I use both Windows 7 Backup and Paragon.

Yes I know about Start up items and Services and that they are not the same  ::)

There might not be a reason for you to have skype running on startup but I do  ;D

Anyway on my computer, I have several toshiba services running, so many applications and services started by applications running, but winpatrol doesnt let me delay services.. MSconfig ONLY lets me DISABLE the programs/services, it wont let me DELAY, I dont know if there is a way to delay them by using another windows utility but as far as I know you cant.. Anyway as I said in my post above, the option to let us delay processes on start up makes it very convenient for users like me.. I dont have to manually start programs like Skype, it will automatically run it when the system is idle..

Ok, so you use 2 different SW for backup.. but why? and why do some say reflect is better than windows backup ? The whole point of that utility is to backup data and if it does that job well why do you need another SW ?
ASRock Extreme 6 - Intel Corei7-3820 3.60GHz | RAM 16.00GB 2400FSB | 2TB HDD +128SSD | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 2GB
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit |Avast! Internet Security V8 | MBAM PRO - RealTime | SUPERAntiSpyware PRO |CC Cleaner | Chrome | Firefox |(The Latest Release of all the Software)

Offline Dieselman

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 621
Re: Avast 6 take long-time boot...
« Reply #59 on: April 16, 2011, 05:48:36 AM »
PLEASE READ WHAT I WRITE. I even provided a link. Services.msc allows you to go into your Windows services. 95% of that Toshiba stuff is unnecessary. Take time to learn your OS instead of using 3rd party solutions. Everything you need is built right into Windows.

I use two backup program encase one gets corrupted. Windows 7 Backup does not allow you to check the integrity of your backups like Paragon. Both are free so why not use  them. Once messes up you have the other. Its best not to argue with me cause you will loose.
« Last Edit: April 16, 2011, 05:51:01 AM by Dieselman »