Author Topic: SafeZone Quirk  (Read 2413 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Vladimyr

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1639
  • Super(massive black hole) Poster
SafeZone Quirk
« on: March 02, 2011, 03:44:40 PM »
I've upgraded to AIS 6.0.1000 on 5 x XP SP3 machines and in each case the first time I switch to the "safeZone" desktop, its Taskbar is horizontally centred close to the top of the screen rather than at the bottom, and the "close Firefox before importing" warning appears - even thogh Firefox is not running (see pics).
Subsequent SafeZone sessions have everything in the right place and no warning.

Such intrigue! ???
There is a way that seems right to a man,
       but in the end it leads to death
.” - Proverbs 16:25

Offline Vladimyr

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1639
  • Super(massive black hole) Poster
Re: SafeZone Quirk
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2011, 12:23:47 PM »
Slightly different today.
« Last Edit: March 04, 2011, 03:01:49 AM by Vladimyr »
There is a way that seems right to a man,
       but in the end it leads to death
.” - Proverbs 16:25

Offline Vladimyr

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1639
  • Super(massive black hole) Poster
Re: SafeZone Quirk
« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2011, 08:37:34 AM »
And again on restarting Windows.

Great entertainment! ;D
There is a way that seems right to a man,
       but in the end it leads to death
.” - Proverbs 16:25

Offline pk

  • Avast team
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 2085
Re: SafeZone Quirk
« Reply #3 on: March 04, 2011, 11:06:51 AM »
Vladimyr, thanks for info. We have fixed the similar problem a few builds before 1000, so maybe there's a connection with it.

Let me ask you:
1) You said you upgraded AIS on 5 XP SP3 computers, how many computers are involved?
2) Could that taskbar's non standard width refer to anything from default desktop? (e.g. taskbar's width is ~10cm, is there any control on default desktop of similar width?)
3) Your 2nd post shows our background image has rounded top corners, very strange... do you use a special GUI application, e.g. for customizing windows controls? (e.g. WindowsBlind (http://www.stardock.com/products/windowblinds), ...)
4) Do you use multiple monitors?

Thanks.

Offline Vladimyr

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1639
  • Super(massive black hole) Poster
Re: SafeZone Quirk
« Reply #4 on: March 04, 2011, 03:09:27 PM »
Vladimyr, thanks for info. We have fixed the similar problem a few builds before 1000, so maybe there's a connection with it.
Hi Pete. Thanks for coming to the "party".;D

Let me ask you:
1) You said you upgraded AIS on 5 XP SP3 computers, how many computers are involved?
3 computers have this phenomenon, all are XP SP3 (2 x Pro, 1 x Home) on FAT32, and upgraded from 5.1.889.

2) Could that taskbar's non standard width refer to anything from default desktop? (e.g. taskbar's width is ~10cm, is there any control on default desktop of similar width?)
Not that I'm aware of, though earlier today one machine was not allowing program windows (Firefox, Thunderbird, Chrome) to use full screen width. A reboot fixed it.

3) Your 2nd post shows our background image has rounded top corners, very strange... do you use a special GUI application, e.g. for customizing windows controls? (e.g. WindowsBlind (http://www.stardock.com/products/windowblinds), ...)
I didn't pick up on that, thought it was just standard XP floating-window rounding. That particular machine does have an "ancient" 8MB 2xAGP video card but no Windowblinds.

4) Do you use multiple monitors?
None have real multiple monitors but 2 have UltraVNC video hook virtual monitor.

cheers,
Vlad
There is a way that seems right to a man,
       but in the end it leads to death
.” - Proverbs 16:25

Offline Vladimyr

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1639
  • Super(massive black hole) Poster
Re: SafeZone Quirk
« Reply #5 on: March 05, 2011, 05:46:07 AM »
@PK
EDIT
Further to your question 2) in above post. All machines have 'ISYS Desktop' search software installed. It has an optional and adjustable width Search Bar which sits in the Taskbar.

I spoke too soon.:-[ Two have Isys 8, the machine with the "rounded top corners" does not.
More pics from today below.
The first doesn't seem to have rounded corners. They only "appear" after you close the browser (forgot to take a pic).
Closing SafeZone and reopenining resized the background to full screen (also no pic).
The second pic is after a reboot, the backfround looks fine but the Firefox warning is still there.
« Last Edit: March 07, 2011, 03:41:03 AM by Vladimyr »
There is a way that seems right to a man,
       but in the end it leads to death
.” - Proverbs 16:25

Offline YoKenny

  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 8784
Re: SafeZone Quirk
« Reply #6 on: March 05, 2011, 03:46:29 PM »
3 computers have this phenomenon, all are XP SP3 (2 x Pro, 1 x Home) on FAT32, and upgraded from 5.1.889.
I would upgrade them to NTFS
Quote
To wrap up, there may be compelling reasons why your current situation requires a file system other than NTFS or a combination of different systems for compatibility, but if at all possible go with NTFS. Even if you don't utilize its full scope of features, the stability and reliability it offers make it the hands down choice.
http://www.theeldergeek.com/ntfs_or_fat32_file_system.htm
E5200 2.5GHZ, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit, avast! V9.0 Free, IE10
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3 32bit, avast! V9.0 Free, Google Chrome
with hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS