Author Topic: com surrogate  (Read 12551 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

emma

  • Guest
com surrogate
« on: September 15, 2004, 09:59:47 PM »
I had just finished downloading some new MS updates.  When I finished one called MS.Net Framework 1.1 Servic Pack, a notice from ZA popped up and said  Com Surrogate was trying to connect.  I thought it might have something to do with the new download as it came immediately afterward.  But I looked at the ZA website, and it said it was a malicious thing.  I did not allow and put the red X's in the program boxes.  I did some search on  the internet about it but felt there was conflicting information.   I also tried to search this forum, but maybe I didn't search correctly for I did not find anything.

Can someone perhaps give some info about this? I want to be sure I am not stopping something I should allow.
Thank you

Online DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 87085
  • No support PMs thanks
Re:com surrogate
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2004, 10:27:43 PM »
Hi emma,

The "Com Surrogate" doesn't tell the whole story, that is like a user friendly name what will also have been shown in the message would have been 'dllhost.exe' as the originating process/program. The more information you provide the easier it is for us to help.

Using a google search for "Com Surrogate" (with the quotes, this looks for the phrase and not just Com and Surrogate) I found this:

"Com Surrogate" which gave me the dllhost.exe and a google search on that led me to the one below.

dllhost.exe - Process Information

Google is a very useful tool learn to use it, it is your friend.

HTH David

Edit: Oops, after all that it would appear that it is ok, however, check out the information for yourself and try the google searches and see if you can replicate what I did.
« Last Edit: September 15, 2004, 10:30:12 PM by DavidR »
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.10.6038 (build 22.10.7633.734) UI 1.0.733/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

emma

  • Guest
Re:com surrogate
« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2004, 11:28:07 PM »
I did go to the suggested site and as usual I always learn something.  The problem seems to be: I don't know what to do with what I learn. :(

I don't think I deleted anything, just checked ZA to not let that com surrogate on  or out ?? again.  And as you see in my attachment I put RED x's in the 4 boxes by com surrogate.
Should I take all the x's out?

The Update that I was getting did seem to "take" ok.

Thanks

Online DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 87085
  • No support PMs thanks
Re:com surrogate
« Reply #3 on: September 15, 2004, 11:38:13 PM »
If after investigation, you are happy that there was/is nothing malicious then you can remove the x but the decision will have to be yours.

Is there not a ? (ask option) that can be put in there so you will be asked again if access is requested and you can monitor which program is trying to gain access.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.10.6038 (build 22.10.7633.734) UI 1.0.733/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31196
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re:com surrogate
« Reply #4 on: September 16, 2004, 02:24:09 AM »
Unless you are a developper, there is no need to have the .net framework sp1. You can safely block the dllhost.exe in ZA

emma

  • Guest
Re:com surrogate
« Reply #5 on: September 16, 2004, 03:03:24 AM »
It seems the only thing I develop is more trouble for myself.

It really is hard for a simple user to know which updates to get especially when MS  puts them in the "you better get" category.  But keep doing my best.
I guess I will just leave all as is.  
Thanks

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31196
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re:com surrogate
« Reply #6 on: September 16, 2004, 03:07:56 AM »
Non devellopers need the .NET Framework 1.1 to run applications developed using the .NET Framework 1.1. Available HERE (MS download center)

Normal users don't need the .net framework SDK.
« Last Edit: September 16, 2004, 03:08:46 AM by Eddy »

emma

  • Guest
Re:com surrogate
« Reply #7 on: September 16, 2004, 03:47:09 AM »
Thank you, Eddy

Think I will pass on downloading anything else.  I am content just to be a Normal User and send my emails, play a little yahoo bridge, and read the good news on the web.  And when I really have a yen for the big time, I will read the avast forum.    
 Seriously, I do read much of it.  I have your page link and try to study it too.  I believe there was some discussion about  reading the manuals\directions in a recent post.  Many of us try but often need more guidance to understand what to do.  I sure do.  Gentle help and reassurance is appreciated by many.
emma

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47573
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:com surrogate
« Reply #8 on: September 16, 2004, 03:53:11 AM »
Eddy
I have some programs that apparently need .NET Framework 1.1. However, when I install it, then Windows updates always prompt for an update for that program and the update always returns an error and never gets installed.
Any Ideas?
Remember, I'm using SP2.
« Last Edit: September 16, 2004, 03:54:05 AM by bob3160 »
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 22.5, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31196
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re:com surrogate
« Reply #9 on: September 16, 2004, 03:59:51 AM »
Tried it with the redistributable package?

Gene Johnson

  • Guest
Re:com surrogate
« Reply #10 on: September 16, 2004, 08:26:09 AM »
I installed .NET Framework 1.1 yesterday, and today downloaded CleanMOCache V1.04 (which required .NET) from Majorgeeks with no problems. everything seems to be running normal.

CleanMOCache cleans up Opera which CCleaner does not.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47573
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:com surrogate
« Reply #11 on: September 16, 2004, 07:24:11 PM »
Gene
My problem isn't with the original install of version 1.1 The problem is the subsequent update from Windows Update of the security patch.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 22.5, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://

Gene Johnson

  • Guest
Re:com surrogate
« Reply #12 on: September 17, 2004, 03:12:20 AM »
Bob: You feel that the problem is with the GDI+ tool? That's the only "update" I have seen. Did I miss one?

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47573
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:com surrogate
« Reply #13 on: September 17, 2004, 03:28:52 AM »
No Gene, it's the update for .NET Framework 1.1 that I can't install
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 22.5, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://