Author Topic: *** INTRODUCING: New Pre-Release version of Avast 6.0.1027 ***  (Read 100111 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jvidal

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 309
Re: *** INTRODUCING: New Pre-Release version of Avast 6.0.1027 ***
« Reply #135 on: March 14, 2011, 04:49:01 AM »
That could be true, though it didn't interfere in previous versions of Avast 6.

Offline wanxya

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: *** INTRODUCING: New Pre-Release version of Avast 6.0.1027 ***
« Reply #136 on: March 14, 2011, 05:53:00 AM »
My QQ does not work with the new version!

Offline spg SCOTT

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 4124
  • There is no magic, only lost physics
    • spg SCOTT
Re: *** INTRODUCING: New Pre-Release version of Avast 6.0.1027 ***
« Reply #137 on: March 14, 2011, 08:31:38 PM »
I am not too sure but since installing this version, I am greeted with this message on boot...Can't really tell anything by, given it is so informative...

win 7 64 bit | avast free | winpatrol
“There is a computer disease that anybody who works with computers knows about. It's a very serious disease and it interferes completely with the work. The trouble with computers is that you 'play' with them!”Richard Feynman

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 7084
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: *** INTRODUCING: New Pre-Release version of Avast 6.0.1027 ***
« Reply #138 on: March 14, 2011, 08:36:22 PM »
Everything seems good on XP except for icon spinning.(And missing Auto Sandbox in Added Protection)
As I mentioned in another post, the Avast Icon is 'constantly spinning' on my Laptop XP and won't stop. Of course, AvastSvc.exe is working overtime but I can't tell why it doesn't stop spinning. ???
Anyone else ever experienced this constant spinning? :-\
That is one reason I went back to v6.0.1000 as it messed up Acronis True Image Home 2011!
http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=73620.msg611388#msg611388

I have also gone back to v.6.0.1000 on my laptop and the spinning's gone. ;D
Oddly, there is no icon spinning problem on my Desktop XP with v.6.0.1027
Go figure. ???
???HP ENVY 15K LT W10 Pro 21H1 64Bit/750GB HD/16GB Ram/Avast Premium 21.9.2493b/Secureline VPN v.5.12.5699b/ADU v.21.3b/ASB v.94.0b/SANDBOXIE-plus/MailWasherPRO
**HP Compaq 8510p LT W10 Pro 20H2 64Bit/1TB HD/8GB Ram/WD/ADU v.21.4b/SANDBOXIE/MailWasherPRO/HotSpot Shield
     
RIP*Dell Inspiron XPsp4 PRO 32Bit/Avast(since 2002)18.8.2356/WP/Comodo FW 3.14/Secureline/Comodo IceDragon v.40
LAYERED SECURITY SOFTWARE

Offline Nesivos

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1352
  • Artists Rendering of New Pauley Pavilion @ UCLA
Re: *** INTRODUCING: New Pre-Release version of Avast 6.0.1027 ***
« Reply #139 on: March 14, 2011, 08:38:49 PM »
I am not too sure but since installing this version, I am greeted with this message on boot...Can't really tell anything by, given it is so informative...

win 7 64 bit | avast free | winpatrol


Try a scan with Malwarbytes in Safe Mode and see if it finds any infections.
OS: W7-SP1, Security: AIS 7, SAS Pro, WinPatrol Plus Network:2 Dell 570MT x64 1 Dell 660 Desktop with 8GB RAM Default Browser & Email: Firefox & Thunderbird latest Betas

Offline spg SCOTT

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 4124
  • There is no magic, only lost physics
    • spg SCOTT
Re: *** INTRODUCING: New Pre-Release version of Avast 6.0.1027 ***
« Reply #140 on: March 14, 2011, 09:12:23 PM »
How would that help?

1. This is unrelated to infections...
2. MBAM doesn't need running in safe mode, normal mode is better for MBAM
3. I know the machine is clean.

My problem is to do with something within the beta interfering with the starting of ToshibaServiceStation.exe...

“There is a computer disease that anybody who works with computers knows about. It's a very serious disease and it interferes completely with the work. The trouble with computers is that you 'play' with them!”Richard Feynman

Offline Dch48

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 3150
Re: *** INTRODUCING: New Pre-Release version of Avast 6.0.1027 ***
« Reply #141 on: March 15, 2011, 01:19:32 AM »
The only thing I'm noticing other than the sandbox not being in the GUI is that it's taking about twice as long now for definition updates to be applied. There seems to a lot more hard drive activity and performance impact while updating is going on than there ever has been before.
Avatar FX6327X desktop, FX-6300 CPU, RX 470 GPU, 8GB RAM, Windows 10 Home 64 bit
HP dv6-6140us laptop, A8-3500M APU, 8GB RAM, Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
RCA W101 v2 10" tablet, Intel Atom Bay Trail Z3735F processor, 2GB RAM, Windows 10 Home 32 bit

Offline SpeedyPC

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3349
  • Avast shall conquer the whole world
Re: *** INTRODUCING: New Pre-Release version of Avast 6.0.1027 ***
« Reply #142 on: March 15, 2011, 01:32:13 AM »
The only thing I'm noticing other than the sandbox not being in the GUI is that it's taking about twice as long now for definition updates to be applied. There seems to a lot more hard drive activity and performance impact while updating is going on than there ever has been before.

Dch48 is the sandbox working properly in XP in this latest Pre-Release version of Avast 6.0.1027, I remember you've post saying that is wasn't working properly in v6.0.1000 for XP.
ASUS G75VX-T4153H | Avast Premium v21.9.2493 | Avast SecureLine VPN | Avast Secure Browser | Avast Driver Updater | Avast BreachGuard | W8.1 64bit | Firefox 64bit | Thunderbird 64bit | MBAM Premium | Adguard Premium | CryptoPrevent Premium | CCleaner Portable | MCShield | Macrium Reflect | 7-Zip

Offline Rednose

  • Pirate Party Member
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3742
  • Bits of Freedom : https://www.bof.nl
    • Nederlandstalig Avast! forum
Re: *** INTRODUCING: New Pre-Release version of Avast 6.0.1027 ***
« Reply #143 on: March 15, 2011, 02:02:06 AM »
Speedy :)

What Dch48 means is that the AutoSandbox is not in the GUI under "Additional Protection" for XP(?) Avast! (Free?/Pro?) users. As far as I understand, the AutoSandbox is working though :)

Greetz, Red.
OS: Win 10 / iOS 14 / Debian 10 / Tails 4
Real Time: Avast Premium Security
On Demand: Malwarebytes
VPN: NordVPN ( NordLynx ) with CyberSec

Offline Rednose

  • Pirate Party Member
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3742
  • Bits of Freedom : https://www.bof.nl
    • Nederlandstalig Avast! forum
Re: *** INTRODUCING: New Pre-Release version of Avast 6.0.1027 ***
« Reply #144 on: March 15, 2011, 02:14:54 AM »
Btw. maybe it sounds hard : But I am disapointed by the lack of responses from Avast! to the feedback from us beta testers here :-\

Greetz, Red.
OS: Win 10 / iOS 14 / Debian 10 / Tails 4
Real Time: Avast Premium Security
On Demand: Malwarebytes
VPN: NordVPN ( NordLynx ) with CyberSec

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: *** INTRODUCING: New Pre-Release version of Avast 6.0.1027 ***
« Reply #145 on: March 15, 2011, 02:44:23 AM »
Btw. maybe it sounds hard : But I am disapointed by the lack of responses from Avast! to the feedback from us beta testers here :-\

Greetz, Red.
Lucky me that I did not have problems with this particular beta. Everything working.
I could dedicate my time to translate the Business Protection product and test it in my virtual machine.
But, indeed, few participation from avast team in this beta.
Forum is a bit flood with pending issues.
The best things in life are free.

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 7084
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: *** INTRODUCING: New Pre-Release version of Avast 6.0.1027 ***
« Reply #146 on: March 15, 2011, 02:47:25 AM »
Btw. maybe it sounds hard : But I am disapointed by the lack of responses from Avast! to the feedback from us beta testers here :-\

Greetz, Red.

I'm surprised as well.  :-\
???HP ENVY 15K LT W10 Pro 21H1 64Bit/750GB HD/16GB Ram/Avast Premium 21.9.2493b/Secureline VPN v.5.12.5699b/ADU v.21.3b/ASB v.94.0b/SANDBOXIE-plus/MailWasherPRO
**HP Compaq 8510p LT W10 Pro 20H2 64Bit/1TB HD/8GB Ram/WD/ADU v.21.4b/SANDBOXIE/MailWasherPRO/HotSpot Shield
     
RIP*Dell Inspiron XPsp4 PRO 32Bit/Avast(since 2002)18.8.2356/WP/Comodo FW 3.14/Secureline/Comodo IceDragon v.40
LAYERED SECURITY SOFTWARE

Offline SpeedyPC

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3349
  • Avast shall conquer the whole world
Re: *** INTRODUCING: New Pre-Release version of Avast 6.0.1027 ***
« Reply #147 on: March 15, 2011, 03:04:46 AM »
Speedy :)

What Dch48 means is that the AutoSandbox is not in the GUI under "Additional Protection" for XP(?) Avast! (Free?/Pro?) users. As far as I understand, the AutoSandbox is working though :)

Greetz, Red.

How do I test the Avast AutoSandbox to much sure it working even the settings set to ask or auto while it set to enable any ideas ???
« Last Edit: March 15, 2011, 03:19:37 AM by SpeedyPC »
ASUS G75VX-T4153H | Avast Premium v21.9.2493 | Avast SecureLine VPN | Avast Secure Browser | Avast Driver Updater | Avast BreachGuard | W8.1 64bit | Firefox 64bit | Thunderbird 64bit | MBAM Premium | Adguard Premium | CryptoPrevent Premium | CCleaner Portable | MCShield | Macrium Reflect | 7-Zip

Offline Nesivos

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1352
  • Artists Rendering of New Pauley Pavilion @ UCLA
Re: *** INTRODUCING: New Pre-Release version of Avast 6.0.1027 ***
« Reply #148 on: March 15, 2011, 03:15:54 AM »
How would that help?

1. This is unrelated to infections...
2. MBAM doesn't need running in safe mode, normal mode is better for MBAM
3. I know the machine is clean.

My problem is to do with something within the beta interfering with the starting of ToshibaServiceStation.exe...




I am glad that you have started to isolate the problem since your post about it above in which you didn't mention anything about Toshiba*.  I did check all your posts for March and did not see any prior mention of Toshiba* :)

Just curious.   How do you know that the problem has anything to do with the beta interfering with the starting of ToshibaServiceStation.exe?

Thanks

Your signature does not mention that you are using a Toshiba.

Which model are you using?
« Last Edit: March 15, 2011, 03:21:57 AM by Nesivos »
OS: W7-SP1, Security: AIS 7, SAS Pro, WinPatrol Plus Network:2 Dell 570MT x64 1 Dell 660 Desktop with 8GB RAM Default Browser & Email: Firefox & Thunderbird latest Betas

Online DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85966
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: *** INTRODUCING: New Pre-Release version of Avast 6.0.1027 ***
« Reply #149 on: March 15, 2011, 03:24:37 AM »
<snip>
My problem is to do with something within the beta interfering with the starting of ToshibaServiceStation.exe...

I don't know what the ToshibaServiceStation does, but if it modifies any system setting it might fall foul of that option in the Behavior Shield, Expert Settings, Monitor the system for unauthorised modifications. Try unchecking that option and see if it makes any difference.

Anything in the behaviorshield.txt file relating to it ?
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.9.2494 (build 21.9.6698.703) UI 1.0.672/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security