Author Topic: why does the the new version block the internet  (Read 1946 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline arthog

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
why does the the new version block the internet
« on: May 21, 2011, 07:56:27 AM »
unless i let it have access to the internet ?
during the setup process it asked if i wanted to check for phishing sites or some such
i said not to . but after the computer restarted , i couldnt browse unless i let avast connect to the internet before my browser starts up ?
this behaviour didnt occur in the previous version . why am i forced to accept it in this version .

Offline SafeSurf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5203
Re: why does the the new version block the internet
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2011, 09:49:48 AM »
Did you upgrade or do a clean install?  What you describe is not normal for either an upgrade or a clean install.   

Where did you originally get this version of Avast from?
What version are you currently using?  The current version is 6.0.1125
What product are you using?
Was your machine acting normally prior to this event?

Please uninstall Avast and do a clean install using the links I provide below:

1. Save a copy of Avast (the product you need) and save it to your HDD:
http://www.avast.com/download-software – all products (Free, Pro, AIS)
2. Download the Avast Uninstall Utility http://files.avast.com/files/eng/aswclear6.exe and save it to your HDD.
3. Disconnect from the Internet at this time.
4. Go to Control Panel and uninstall Avast through Add/Remove Programs if possible and reboot.
5. If Step 4 fails, boot into Safe Mode (hit F8 repeatedly) and run the Avast Uninstall Tool.  Uninstall ALL previous versions and products of Avast one at at a time and reboot in between.
6. Reboot.
7. Install the newest version of Avast and reboot.
8. Get Internet access and register your copy or add the license key for Free, Pro, or AIS.
9. Update the Avast definitions.
1. Run an Avast Quick scan afterwards and report your findings.  Any infection you should put into the Virus Chest.

Let us know if this fixes your problem.  If not, please include in your next post the following:

What other security software do you currently have or did you have in the past on this machine including:
- Antivirus (AV)
- Firewall (FW)
- Trial versions of AV, FW and other security programs
- Other security software
- If they were in the past, how did you remove them (the vendor's uninstaller's tool or  another way)?

Thank you.
Mac 10.9.4 /Safari and Firefox (NoScript/AdBlockPlus/BetterPrivacy/Ghostey)/
Vista Home Prem (same add-on's)/Avast Free/Online Armor Premium Firewall/MBAM Premium)/ Mobile MBAM.

Offline arthog

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: why does the the new version block the internet
« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2011, 04:32:35 PM »
i did a clean install like you suggested . it still seems to want to check my sites for me even though i didnt activate the web rep add on . so i might dig deeper into that issue , as for how i updated . well thats easy , avast said it wanted to update to the new version , so i let it , after it finished , it wanted to restart , so i let the computer restart , and when it did , when i wanted to use my browser , suddenly i found myself not able to unless i let avast vet my browsing . being somewhat preferring of wanting to make "some" of my own mistakes and not wanting things to add themselves automatically to my browser , i wanted to find out how to turn it off . i probably cant if i want to keep using what is a free program but , i did want to look into it . thanks for the advice .

Offline Daris

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 181
Re: why does the the new version block the internet
« Reply #3 on: May 21, 2011, 09:07:55 PM »
If you are talking about the "web rep"  You don't have to have it installed...I don't have mine installed ...Go to "additional protection" and choose which browser you want "web rep" in....
Windows XP SP3 Vista capable but Prefer SP2, Avast 6, PC Tools Firewall, Spyshelter, Malwarebytes Free, SAS Free, CCleaner, Eusing Free Reg, Wise Reg Cleaner Portable, Wise Disc Cleaner Portable, Glary Utillities Portable, ClamWin Portable scanner, Firefox portable, Revo Un installer, IE7 and Opera

Offline SafeSurf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5203
Re: why does the the new version block the internet
« Reply #4 on: May 22, 2011, 10:45:01 AM »
@ arthog,

You can also in the future, with just about any software, do a "Custom" install instead of a regular install.  This way you can only install the features you want.  If you do not want a toolbar, for example, you do not need to install it.  Avast, however, does design itself so that it gives users the option that by default you have the option to disable features.  I'm just letting you know that if you need to do a clean install again, you can do a Custom install should you choose.

Is Avast working fine for you now or do you still have issues? 
Mac 10.9.4 /Safari and Firefox (NoScript/AdBlockPlus/BetterPrivacy/Ghostey)/
Vista Home Prem (same add-on's)/Avast Free/Online Armor Premium Firewall/MBAM Premium)/ Mobile MBAM.

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9237
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re: why does the the new version block the internet
« Reply #5 on: May 22, 2011, 12:28:17 PM »
This problem appears here and there but i still can't seem to figure it out what causes it. Had similar problem with some of our customers, but they were not willing to help us out finding the solution. Heh.
Visit my webpage RejZoR's Flock of Sheep