Author Topic: Some initial questions  (Read 16866 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67241
Re:Some initial questions
« Reply #15 on: September 20, 2004, 03:01:06 PM »
Redman, you complain with scanning ports of avast but you have a 'complex' system of programs:

1. Courier (email client)
2. 1st EAV (program designed to rewrite the HTML)
3. ChoiceMail (Spam blocker)
4. avast

It was promissed that future versions (not the next one, 4.5) could have a new method of scanning. I suggest you disable the 1st EAV for a while and configure ports of Courier = ChoiceMail and different from avast! (that could stay with the default ones).
Will it work?

I use and works like a charm...  8)

1. Outlook Express or Pegasus Mail (email client). pop3 at 120
2. -
3. Spamihilator (Spam blocker). pop3 at 120
4. avast listens the 110
The best things in life are free.

redman

  • Guest
Re:Some initial questions
« Reply #16 on: September 21, 2004, 12:22:00 PM »
redman why not yust shrink the pictures and post them so everyone can see them. However, pop 3 is havdled thru the internetmail module in avast!. The only thing left to figure out is which ports you need to use.
110 or 111     and 25 or 26  or some other combo depending on your other programs.

I'll have a go at saving the screenshots as gif files, which should get me within the 150 kB limit. I'll upload these this evening if possible (UK time). In the meantime, if anyone could tell me exactly what lines I would need to add to the Avast INI file to set this up, it would be a great help (let's say that I'm going to stick with my existing ports for 1st EAV (110), ChoiceMail (110/25 [localhost] and Courier E-Mail (109).
« Last Edit: September 21, 2004, 12:26:05 PM by redman »

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67241
Re:Some initial questions
« Reply #17 on: September 21, 2004, 02:28:45 PM »
How can you use your spam killer at a different port of your email client?
I presume they are not integrated...
I suggest you disable 1st EAV for a while and configure your system to use just the email program + spam killer + avast as stated above. You can let the default configurations at avast4.ini file.
After you got avast scanning your mail, then let's try to help you with the 1st EAV...  ::)
The best things in life are free.

redman

  • Guest
Re:Some initial questions
« Reply #18 on: September 21, 2004, 03:57:05 PM »
How can you use your spam killer at a different port of your email client?

There are two places in ChoiceMail to set ports. If I understand the setup correctly, one is for the incoming side (received from 1st EAV using port 110 and localhost) and the other is the output side to my e-mail client (port 109). ChoiceMail also monitors my outgoing messages using port 25. It should be clearer when I've uploaded the screenshots.

redman

  • Guest
Re:Some initial questions
« Reply #19 on: September 21, 2004, 06:06:07 PM »
1st screenshot

Well I did attach a screenshot but I don't know what's happened to it. I'll try again.
« Last Edit: September 21, 2004, 06:08:39 PM by redman »

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47035
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:Some initial questions
« Reply #20 on: September 21, 2004, 08:01:42 PM »
redman
What sisze was it? and what file type?
It can't be bigger than 150KB and I always find that a .jpg file works fine don't use jpeg.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast One 21.11, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bi

redman

  • Guest
Re:Some initial questions
« Reply #21 on: September 21, 2004, 09:15:18 PM »
redman
What sisze was it? and what file type?
It can't be bigger than 150KB and I always find that a .jpg file works fine don't use jpeg.

It was a gif file (9 kB). I'll try uploading a jpg file. If that works, I'll upload the other three screenshots.

redman

  • Guest
Re:Some initial questions
« Reply #22 on: September 21, 2004, 09:24:45 PM »
Actually, I have 5 screenshots, so here's another attempt at uploading the fisrt one. In each case, the name I have given the file should explain what it is.

Oh well, that didn't seem to work either.
« Last Edit: September 21, 2004, 09:25:40 PM by redman »

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67241
Re:Some initial questions
« Reply #23 on: September 21, 2004, 09:39:24 PM »
Actually, I have 5 screenshots, so here's another attempt at uploading the fisrt one. In each case, the name I have given the file should explain what it is.

Oh well, that didn't seem to work either.

Oh... we're waiting... what's up with your posting?  ::)
The best things in life are free.

redman

  • Guest
Re:Some initial questions
« Reply #24 on: September 21, 2004, 09:49:17 PM »
I've no idea, I put the details in the attach box and it seems to accept it but when I look at the post there are no attachments there.  ???

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67241
Re:Some initial questions
« Reply #25 on: September 21, 2004, 10:00:33 PM »
I put the details in the attach box

You mean the full path of the picture, I suppose  ::)
Something like this C:\My pictures\ScreenShot1.gif
Am I right? Is the file below 150k, is the file a .gif one?
The best things in life are free.

redman

  • Guest
Re:Some initial questions
« Reply #26 on: September 21, 2004, 10:08:44 PM »
Q1: Yes
Q2: Yes, the first attempt this evening was a 9 kB gif file. I then tried a 39 kB jpg file. Both failed.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47035
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:Some initial questions
« Reply #27 on: September 21, 2004, 10:28:45 PM »
a test file
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast One 21.11, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bi

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47035
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:Some initial questions
« Reply #28 on: September 21, 2004, 10:42:54 PM »
Redman I don't know what your doing but the problem isn't at the forum as you can see by the previous test.
when your ready to post the pictures, type your discription of what your sending as usal then at the bottom of the message window there is a line with the heading:
Attach:   at the end of that imput window is the word Browse...
When you click on the word Browse, it opens up a window to allow you to navigate to the file of your choice. Highlight the file you want and select open. That will transfer the info to the Attach: line.
Now all you need to do is click on the word Post
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast One 21.11, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bi

S.Z.Craftec

  • Guest
Re:Some initial questions
« Reply #29 on: September 21, 2004, 11:42:55 PM »
I know exactly what was the wrong thing he was doing... we discussed it in some very old threads long time ago. If you wanna attach some file in your post, you should never ever never pres PREVIEW button. You will loose your attachment in a second. Always click POST when you attach some attachments, never Preview.