Author Topic: AVAST 6 Free has crashed my system and ruined my day.  (Read 13118 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline SpeedyPC

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3279
  • Avast shall conquer the whole world
Re: AVAST 6 Free has crashed my system and ruined my day.
« Reply #15 on: March 16, 2011, 03:09:22 PM »
RedRaleigh, why didn't you upgrade to SP3?
Any failure in removing old antivirus could have an impact on avast (or any other antivirus installation).


+1 And you should installed SP3
ASUS G75VX-T4153H - Avast Premier v20.1.2397 - W8.1 64bit - Avast SecureLine VPN - Avast Secure Browser - Firefox 64bit - Thunderbird 64bit - MBAM Premium - Adguard Premium - CryptoPrevent Premium - Privacy Eraser - MCShield - WinPatrol PLUS - Macrium Reflect Home Edition

Offline RedRaleigh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: AVAST 6 Free has crashed my system and ruined my day.
« Reply #16 on: March 16, 2011, 03:26:12 PM »
RedRaleigh, why didn't you upgrade to SP3?
Any failure in removing old antivirus could have an impact on avast (or any other antivirus installation).


Because I've always kept up with MS hotfixes and there weren't a lot of new features in SP3 that my non-networked box needed. Are you saying, for example, the SP3 SSPI would fix problems with my avast install? Other than avast, I have not experienced any other install problems. I'd rather not take a chance installing SP3 just for the sake of installing avast.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67275
Re: AVAST 6 Free has crashed my system and ruined my day.
« Reply #17 on: March 16, 2011, 03:40:11 PM »
Are you saying, for example, the SP3 SSPI would fix problems with my avast install?
avast 6 requires XP SP2 as minimum. But I'm quite sure SP3 won't hurt. I, technically, can't understand why people avoid having SP3. It's an OS improvement. It's not just an accessory thing.
The best things in life are free.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 64644
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: AVAST 6 Free has crashed my system and ruined my day.
« Reply #18 on: March 16, 2011, 03:43:13 PM »
I, technically, can't understand why people avoid having SP3. It's an OS improvement. It's not just an accessory thing.

+1 ;)
asyn
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 20.4.2408.B#3 [UI.518] - CC 5.65 - EEK - Firefox ESR 68.8 [NS/AOS/uBO/PB] - TB 68.8.1 - ASB/ASL.BC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline YoKenny

  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 8788
Re: AVAST 6 Free has crashed my system and ruined my day.
« Reply #19 on: March 16, 2011, 03:45:39 PM »
avast 6 requires XP SP2 as minimum. But I'm quite sure SP3 won't hurt. I, technically, can't understand why people avoid having SP3. It's an OS improvement. It's not just an accessory thing.
See:
Support for Windows XP Service Pack 2 ends on July 13, 2010
http://support.microsoft.com/gp/lifean31

SP3 provides many Critical system updates and several performance improvements. 8)
E5200 2.5GHZ, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit, avast! V9.0 Free, IE10
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3 32bit, avast! V9.0 Free, Google Chrome
with hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6363
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: AVAST 6 Free has crashed my system and ruined my day.
« Reply #20 on: March 16, 2011, 03:55:06 PM »
RedRaleigh, why didn't you upgrade to SP3?

Yes, my question exactly ??? :-\
***HP ENVY 15K LT W10 Pro 1903 64Bit/750GB HD/16GB Ram/Avast Premium 20.4.2408beta /Secureline v.5.5.522/VS 5.75(WC)/ASB v.81b/SANDBOXIE/Prey Project
**HP Compaq 8510p LT W10 Pro 1903 64Bit/1TB HD/8GB Ram/Avast Premium 20.4.2408beta/ASB v.81b/SANDBOXIE/Prey Project/HotSpot Shield vpn 
     
*Dell Inspiron XPsp4 PRO 32Bit/Avast(since 2002)18.8.2356/WP/Comodo FW 3.14/Secureline/Comodo IceDragon v.40
<LAYERED SECURITY SOFTWARE PROTECTION all OS

Offline RedRaleigh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: AVAST 6 Free has crashed my system and ruined my day.
« Reply #21 on: March 16, 2011, 04:29:33 PM »
Are you saying, for example, the SP3 SSPI would fix problems with my avast install?
avast 6 requires XP SP2 as minimum. But I'm quite sure SP3 won't hurt. I, technically, can't understand why people avoid having SP3. It's an OS improvement. It's not just an accessory thing.

OK, so we can eliminate *not* having SP3 as the problem.

Re: SP3 not hurting: As I recall, lots of people had problems installing SP3 when it was released and subsequently. google it. I'd rather not take a chance right now and then have to spend time recovering from a potential bad install.

I have to say, though, that installing SP3 seems like a side issue. I've experienced no problems installing and uninstalling practically every other antivirus software out there on my SP2 box. I might try avast on my Win7 Pro laptop at some later time.

Rather that continue to go around in circles, the moderator might want to consider this thread closed.

Thanks to everyone for their input.

RR

Offline Nesivos

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1352
  • Artists Rendering of New Pauley Pavilion @ UCLA
Re: AVAST 6 Free has crashed my system and ruined my day.
« Reply #22 on: March 16, 2011, 04:31:15 PM »
If you feel like troubleshooting this further there is a Vipre removal tool at:

http://www.sunbelt-software.com/ihs/cs&vclean.exe


The link above leads to Malware which AIS promptly blocked before allowing download



OS: W7-SP1, Security: AIS 7, SAS Pro, WinPatrol Plus Network:2 Dell 570MT x64 1 Dell 660 Desktop with 8GB RAM Default Browser & Email: Firefox & Thunderbird latest Betas

Offline Gopher John

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2100
Re: AVAST 6 Free has crashed my system and ruined my day.
« Reply #23 on: March 16, 2011, 04:47:50 PM »
The link above leads to Malware which AIS promptly blocked before allowing download

http://www.virustotal.com/url-scan/report.html?id=7d710634231ac383f64538500255ce07-1300286406

http://www.virustotal.com/file-scan/report.html?id=8f8650e92e10740750b1949bb0c0d46329a44900bb5797af5f86ed59cebf4c72-1300290010

File name:
cs%26vclean.exe
Submission date:
2011-03-16 15:40:10 (UTC)
Current status:
queued queued analysing finished
Result:
5/ 43 (11.6%)

Three of the five can be counted as one.  G-Data, Avast 4 and Avast 5 all use roughly the same virus signatures.  This likely is a false positive.
AMD A6-5350M APU with Radeon HD Graphics, 8.0GB RAM, Win7 Pro SP1 64bit, IE11
i7-3610QM 2.3GHZ, 8.0GB Ram,  Nvidia GeForce GT 630M 2GB, Win7 Pro SP1 64bit, IE 11
Common to both: Avast Premium Security 19.7.2388, WinPatrol Plus, SpywareBlaster 5.5, Opera 12.18, Firefox 68.0.2, MBam Free, CCleaner

doktornotor

  • Guest
Re: AVAST 6 Free has crashed my system and ruined my day.
« Reply #24 on: March 16, 2011, 04:51:40 PM »
The link above leads to Malware which AIS promptly blocked before allowing download

Looks like as yet another FP...  >:( The site is definitely legit.

Offline RedRaleigh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: AVAST 6 Free has crashed my system and ruined my day.
« Reply #25 on: March 16, 2011, 04:52:49 PM »
If you feel like troubleshooting this further there is a Vipre removal tool at:

http://www.sunbelt-software.com/ihs/cs&vclean.exe


The link above leads to Malware which AIS promptly blocked before allowing download

False positive.


Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 83009
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: AVAST 6 Free has crashed my system and ruined my day.
« Reply #26 on: March 16, 2011, 05:09:19 PM »
Jotti isn't as good as virustotal as it is Linux based versions of AVs. VirusTotal has more AVs and is using the windows based versions of avast and other AVs.

Not to mention your image shows a scan from 2010-06-29, a lifetime ago in terms of AVs. So you should have had it scan the file again.

I rather suspect that that avast is detecting unencrypted signatures in the Viper routine.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.2.2401 (build 20.2.5130.570) UI-1.0.505/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro

doktornotor

  • Guest
Re: AVAST 6 Free has crashed my system and ruined my day.
« Reply #27 on: March 16, 2011, 05:10:31 PM »
I rather suspect that that avast is detecting unencrypted signatures in the Viper routine.

Virus signatures in removal tool?  ???

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 83009
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: AVAST 6 Free has crashed my system and ruined my day.
« Reply #28 on: March 16, 2011, 05:13:11 PM »
They have to know what they are looking for.

Plus since they are also going to be deleting something that too would be considered suspect.

The big problem we have and leads to speculation is no one has said what the malware name is ?
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.2.2401 (build 20.2.5130.570) UI-1.0.505/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro

Offline Nesivos

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1352
  • Artists Rendering of New Pauley Pavilion @ UCLA
Re: AVAST 6 Free has crashed my system and ruined my day.
« Reply #29 on: March 16, 2011, 05:26:47 PM »
AIS blocked it.  Good enough for me :)

I never ever override what could to be a false positive. There are always multiple products that will perform a computer task that you need done or want to do that are not identified by AIS as Malware.  I would rather find a program that will do what I need or want that doesn't generate a false positive.

No harm comes to my computer from not putting the blocked program in the exclusions list.

On the other hand I will only use other programs to find possible problems that AIS misses.  Of course if another program identifies some software as Malware, Trojan etc that AIS missed I will also remove the program.

Bottom line is that I don't hold by the concept of false positive override.   This may prevent me from using certain programs but will not hurt the computer.  Better safe than sorry when it comes to security.  It is a lot safer that way and has never preventing me from doing anything I wanted or needed to do on my computer. :)

Just the way I do things :)


OS: W7-SP1, Security: AIS 7, SAS Pro, WinPatrol Plus Network:2 Dell 570MT x64 1 Dell 660 Desktop with 8GB RAM Default Browser & Email: Firefox & Thunderbird latest Betas