Author Topic: XP and Zonealarm  (Read 7465 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Hairbender1950

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 38
XP and Zonealarm
« on: March 16, 2011, 06:30:00 PM »
My computer is windows XP home.  I also run an older version of Zonealarm free.  My question:  Will I have problems when I update my Avast 5.0(free) to Avast 6.0 (free)
I have been waiting after reading that XP and Zonealarm firewall had issues with the new Avast 6.0

Thank you for your answers, in advance.  Becky
Dell desktop:Windows XP home,sp3,Avast 2014(free), ZA(free),MAB(free),SAS (free),SpywareBlaster.
Dell Netbook: Windows XP home, sp3, Avast 2014(free) ,Win.firewall,MAB(free), SAS ,SpywareBlaster.
Mom's Emachine,WinXP(home)x64,sp2,Avast 8.0.1497(free),SAS,MAB,WinFirewall,spywareblaster

doktornotor

  • Guest
Re: XP and Zonealarm
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2011, 06:33:28 PM »
Use the prerelease version if you are using ZA:

http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=73657.0

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: XP and Zonealarm
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2011, 06:33:55 PM »
In theory, both programs could run side by side without conflicts.
Could you test and check if you have any trouble?
The best things in life are free.

Offline Hairbender1950

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 38
Re: XP and Zonealarm
« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2011, 06:42:19 PM »
I am considering uninstalling Zonealarm free firewall and turning on the windows firewall.  I know it only blocks, one way.  I also have a hardware firewall turned on in my wireless router.  Would I be protected with the hardware firewall and windows firewall?
Dell desktop:Windows XP home,sp3,Avast 2014(free), ZA(free),MAB(free),SAS (free),SpywareBlaster.
Dell Netbook: Windows XP home, sp3, Avast 2014(free) ,Win.firewall,MAB(free), SAS ,SpywareBlaster.
Mom's Emachine,WinXP(home)x64,sp2,Avast 8.0.1497(free),SAS,MAB,WinFirewall,spywareblaster

Offline whitty

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re: XP and Zonealarm
« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2011, 06:47:31 PM »
I'm running avast and za on one computer with xp  and one with windows 7 with no problems whatsoever if thats any help.
Dell E310 with Windows XP Service Pack 3. Avast 6.0,ZA free, malwarebytes free,SAS free, and spywareblaster.  Toshiba laptop with Windows 7, Service Pack 1 ZA free, SAS, and malwarebytes free. Avast 6.0 Spywareblaster.

Offline Hairbender1950

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 38
Re: XP and Zonealarm
« Reply #5 on: March 16, 2011, 06:50:20 PM »
whitty,  my zonealarm is an earlier version.  Should I update zonealarm first?
Dell desktop:Windows XP home,sp3,Avast 2014(free), ZA(free),MAB(free),SAS (free),SpywareBlaster.
Dell Netbook: Windows XP home, sp3, Avast 2014(free) ,Win.firewall,MAB(free), SAS ,SpywareBlaster.
Mom's Emachine,WinXP(home)x64,sp2,Avast 8.0.1497(free),SAS,MAB,WinFirewall,spywareblaster

doktornotor

  • Guest
Re: XP and Zonealarm
« Reply #6 on: March 16, 2011, 06:54:21 PM »
You should keep your security software up-to-date as a general rule of thumb. Avast v6.0.1027 prerelease should fix the ZA compatibility issues on XP, don't use older ones. If you don't want to use prerelease versions, wait for next official release before updating to v6.

Offline Hairbender1950

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 38
Re: XP and Zonealarm
« Reply #7 on: March 16, 2011, 06:57:10 PM »
Thank you for your advice.  When I do update.  I will report back how it went.  Becky
Dell desktop:Windows XP home,sp3,Avast 2014(free), ZA(free),MAB(free),SAS (free),SpywareBlaster.
Dell Netbook: Windows XP home, sp3, Avast 2014(free) ,Win.firewall,MAB(free), SAS ,SpywareBlaster.
Mom's Emachine,WinXP(home)x64,sp2,Avast 8.0.1497(free),SAS,MAB,WinFirewall,spywareblaster

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84777
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: XP and Zonealarm
« Reply #8 on: March 16, 2011, 07:29:04 PM »
I am considering uninstalling Zonealarm free firewall and turning on the windows firewall.  I know it only blocks, one way.  I also have a hardware firewall turned on in my wireless router.  Would I be protected with the hardware firewall and windows firewall?

Short answer would be No you wouldn't be fully protected. Most hardware router/firewalls only provide the same one way protection unless it specifically states it has outbound protection, I would say it is unlikely to do so.

Any malware that manages to get past your defences will have free reign to connect to the internet to either download more of the same, pass your personal data (sensitive or otherwise, user names, passwords, keylogger retrieved data, etc.) or open a backdoor to your computer, so outbound protection is essential.

So best to keep ZA firewall, though I feel there are better alternatives out there.
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.3.2459 (build 21.3.6164.561) UI 1.0.609/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline whitty

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re: XP and Zonealarm
« Reply #9 on: March 16, 2011, 07:37:34 PM »
I'm using the latest version of za, and avast 6.0.1000 and never had any problem at all.
Dell E310 with Windows XP Service Pack 3. Avast 6.0,ZA free, malwarebytes free,SAS free, and spywareblaster.  Toshiba laptop with Windows 7, Service Pack 1 ZA free, SAS, and malwarebytes free. Avast 6.0 Spywareblaster.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84777
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: XP and Zonealarm
« Reply #10 on: March 16, 2011, 07:53:40 PM »
Rather depends on what OS you are using as this topic relates to XP and ZA; you don't say what OS you are using.
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.3.2459 (build 21.3.6164.561) UI 1.0.609/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline whitty

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re: XP and Zonealarm
« Reply #11 on: March 16, 2011, 07:57:44 PM »
I'm using xp on a desktop and windows 7 on a laptop.
Dell E310 with Windows XP Service Pack 3. Avast 6.0,ZA free, malwarebytes free,SAS free, and spywareblaster.  Toshiba laptop with Windows 7, Service Pack 1 ZA free, SAS, and malwarebytes free. Avast 6.0 Spywareblaster.

Offline Hairbender1950

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 38
Re: XP and Zonealarm
« Reply #12 on: March 16, 2011, 09:32:14 PM »
My computer is Dell, XP, sp 3.  Avast 5.0 free.

I will get the latest zonealarm installed before I install Avast 6.0.  I will wait until Avast asks me to download Avast 6.0. 

I do have a Dell netbook, XP, sp 3, windows firewall.  Still has Avast 5.0, but up to date.

My mom's EMachine computer, win XP, 64, sp3, windows firewall.

Thanks for all the advice.  I appreciate it very much.
Becky
Dell desktop:Windows XP home,sp3,Avast 2014(free), ZA(free),MAB(free),SAS (free),SpywareBlaster.
Dell Netbook: Windows XP home, sp3, Avast 2014(free) ,Win.firewall,MAB(free), SAS ,SpywareBlaster.
Mom's Emachine,WinXP(home)x64,sp2,Avast 8.0.1497(free),SAS,MAB,WinFirewall,spywareblaster

Offline Big Ian

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: XP and Zonealarm
« Reply #13 on: March 16, 2011, 10:00:01 PM »
Just sorted a computer out for a family member.

XP Media Centre Edition SP3
Avast Free 6.0.1000
Zone Alarm Free

Especially problematic with Spotify plus general freezing.
Had to uninstall Spotify and Zone Alarm in Safe Mode,reinstall Spotify and Outpost Free firewall.
All OK now.

Ian


Offline BILL G

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 40
  • I'm a llama!
Re: XP and Zonealarm
« Reply #14 on: March 17, 2011, 05:21:42 PM »
    I use WIN XP HOME SP3    AVAST V 6.0.1027   ZAF V 9.2.105.000 Working Good .
IP4-2.0GHZ-512Mb MEM.- XPSP3-FF+nos v3.6.18

 Avast V7.0.1456 - ZAF V 9.2.`05.000 - PG V3.5 -  - WinPatrol +  - Seconfig XP  V1.5   OD    SAS - Mbam