Author Topic: Avast conflict with KMP?  (Read 8478 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Yezinki

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 810
Avast conflict with KMP?
« on: March 22, 2011, 09:19:08 PM »
Hi there,

Avast 6 Free Ed doesn't let install or update KM Player.....starts sandboxing....even when asked to ignore doesn't let it auto update....displays this message....."Thread Error: The handle in invalid (6)" what does that mean?

What options do I have.......quit KM & switch to VLC or quit Avast?

Regards!

OS: W7 Pro 32bit.

Protection:  Avast 12.3 Free, MBAM.

Offline Yezinki

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 810
Re: Avast conflict with KMP?
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2011, 09:41:42 PM »
How can I disable Auto Sand box?

Thanks.
OS: W7 Pro 32bit.

Protection:  Avast 12.3 Free, MBAM.

doktornotor

  • Guest
Re: Avast conflict with KMP?
« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2011, 09:44:10 PM »
How can I disable Auto Sand box?

Thanks.

By the checkbox which can't be missed by anyone.  Have you even bothered to open the settings? ::)

Online DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 89334
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast conflict with KMP?
« Reply #3 on: March 22, 2011, 09:47:13 PM »
Set the auto-sandbox to Ask and when it asks about running in sandbox, select Open normally and check the Remember the answer for this program.

This should be the end of it or manually add the programs executable file and path to the auto-sandbox Files that will be excluded from automatic sandboxing list.

Personally I wouldn't recommend disabling the auto-sandbox, try the above and see how you get on.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.5.6116 (build 24.5.9153.762) UI 1.0.808/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Yezinki

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 810
Re: Avast conflict with KMP?
« Reply #4 on: March 22, 2011, 09:47:38 PM »
Yeah thanks.....but still displays error with KMP auto updating & installing Snagit.....
OS: W7 Pro 32bit.

Protection:  Avast 12.3 Free, MBAM.

Offline Omid Farhang

  • Frontend Developer
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1660
  • I wish I could write longer personal text!!
    • Homepage
Re: Avast conflict with KMP?
« Reply #5 on: March 22, 2011, 09:57:40 PM »
Yezinki, avast is not the reason, try without avast and you will get same result ;)
Twitter: OmidFarhangEn - OS: Manjaro KDE

Offline Yezinki

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 810
Re: Avast conflict with KMP?
« Reply #6 on: March 22, 2011, 10:00:07 PM »
Omid tried it with disabling all 8 shields installed fine.......?
OS: W7 Pro 32bit.

Protection:  Avast 12.3 Free, MBAM.

Offline Yezinki

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 810
Re: Avast conflict with KMP?
« Reply #7 on: March 22, 2011, 10:09:22 PM »
David do you face such issues with Snagit too?

Regards!
OS: W7 Pro 32bit.

Protection:  Avast 12.3 Free, MBAM.

Offline Omid Farhang

  • Frontend Developer
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1660
  • I wish I could write longer personal text!!
    • Homepage
Re: Avast conflict with KMP?
« Reply #8 on: March 22, 2011, 10:13:08 PM »
Omid tried it with disabling all 8 shields installed fine.......?
I tried version 3.0.0.1439 on Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 with Sandboxie 3.52 and got same result as you (Installed inside Sandboxie)
Twitter: OmidFarhangEn - OS: Manjaro KDE

doktornotor

  • Guest
Re: Avast conflict with KMP?
« Reply #9 on: March 22, 2011, 10:46:13 PM »
On another note, AutoSandbox is NOT designed to install applications and run them from there on a permanent basis, so I really don't see the purpose of this excercise? Why are you updating something that will be gone as soon as you have closed the application?  ??? ::)

Offline Omid Farhang

  • Frontend Developer
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1660
  • I wish I could write longer personal text!!
    • Homepage
Re: Avast conflict with KMP?
« Reply #10 on: March 22, 2011, 10:52:41 PM »
doktornotor, if you are referring to me, I installed inside Sandbox just for testing if update is working at all or not to reply Yezinki, if you are talking to Yezinki, he said even if ignore autosandbox still update does not works...
Twitter: OmidFarhangEn - OS: Manjaro KDE

doktornotor

  • Guest
Re: Avast conflict with KMP?
« Reply #11 on: March 22, 2011, 10:59:17 PM »
doktornotor, if you are referring to me, I installed inside Sandbox just for testing if update is working at all or not to reply Yezinki, if you are talking to Yezinki, he said even if ignore autosandbox still update does not works...

No, I'm not referring to you. The original issue here is PEBKAC, takes about 5 seconds to "fix" but you at least need to open the settings and change it to ASK or disable altogether, doesn't matter which one exactly.



Offline Omid Farhang

  • Frontend Developer
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1660
  • I wish I could write longer personal text!!
    • Homepage
Re: Avast conflict with KMP?
« Reply #12 on: March 22, 2011, 11:06:55 PM »
No, I'm not referring to you. The original issue here is PEBKAC, takes about 5 seconds to "fix" but you at least need to open the settings and change it to ASK or disable altogether, doesn't matter which one exactly.
;)
Twitter: OmidFarhangEn - OS: Manjaro KDE

doktornotor

  • Guest
Re: Avast conflict with KMP?
« Reply #13 on: March 22, 2011, 11:08:26 PM »
Oh, and BTW - confirmed with Sandboxie. The application looks kinda buggy.  :)

Offline Omid Farhang

  • Frontend Developer
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1660
  • I wish I could write longer personal text!!
    • Homepage
Re: Avast conflict with KMP?
« Reply #14 on: March 22, 2011, 11:10:57 PM »
Oh, and BTW - confirmed with Sandboxie. The application looks kinda buggy.  :)
If I've been you, I would replace 'Kinda' with 'Too'.  ;D
Twitter: OmidFarhangEn - OS: Manjaro KDE