Author Topic: a new virus ? upsnotify  (Read 10135 times)

mrreg

a new virus ? upsnotify
« on: March 25, 2011, 01:33:28 AM »
i found this email in my spam folder, from upsnotify.rar.  not waiting on a parcel from the states, i avoided clicking on any links and got suspicious of it. so checked it out on google and well, i think it's a brand new virus included in the email,,, a variant of w32:pilleuz . i just deleted it to be safe.

http://news.softpedia.com/news/Fake-UPS-Email-Campaign-Serves-Malware-Cocktail-191161.shtml

Offline Lisandro

• Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
Re: a new virus ? upsnotify
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2011, 01:46:55 AM »
You could have submitted it to www.virustotal.com
You could have added to avast Chest and send them helping improving detection.
The best things in life are free.

mrreg

« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2011, 01:51:26 AM »
that's easy for you to say. :) honestly, i'm a mechanic, not terribly clever @ computing.

mrreg

« Reply #3 on: March 25, 2011, 01:57:10 AM »
i'm sort of wondering if i'm all that good a mechanic too, lately. :)

Offline Lisandro

• Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
« Reply #4 on: March 25, 2011, 02:04:32 AM »
Don't worry mrreg.
Thanks for posting and sharing.
Hope the programmers take a look on it.
Enjoy the forum!

Offline polonus

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • malware fighter
« Reply #5 on: March 25, 2011, 10:06:07 PM »
Cybersecurity is more of an attitude than anything else. Avast Evangelists.

Use NoScript, a limited user account and a virtual machine and be safe(r)!

Offline Lisandro

• Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
« Reply #6 on: March 25, 2011, 10:20:30 PM »
Indeed, the report increased from 17 to 34... Thanks Polonus.

Offline DavidR

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • No support PMs thanks
« Reply #7 on: March 25, 2011, 10:29:48 PM »