Author Topic: Prevx - Intrusion Prevention  (Read 32986 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Prevx - Intrusion Prevention
« Reply #30 on: September 28, 2004, 11:19:27 AM »
I'm talking about the regular 32-bit version of Windows XP, not Win64.

BTW Win64 release was again rescheduled - the last news is that it should be out by January 05.
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re:Prevx - Intrusion Prevention
« Reply #31 on: September 28, 2004, 03:45:46 PM »
The best thing about prevx is how they managed to wrap a tiny, almost trivial set of utils to a nicely-looking package and furnished it with an aura of almightiness... :)

Yeah, seems too good to be truth...  ::)
Anyway, it does not 'mess' anything in a non-AMD processor. Working fine at XP SP2 here...  ;)
The best things in life are free.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 46297
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:Prevx - Intrusion Prevention
« Reply #32 on: September 29, 2004, 11:29:47 PM »
If you have it on your system, its time for an update. ;D
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 21.6, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline inthewildteam

  • Advanced Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 772
  • Computers can do that?
Re:Prevx - Intrusion Prevention
« Reply #33 on: September 30, 2004, 02:25:23 AM »
Thanks for the heads-up Bob  ;)
So? I drive a Citroen

Offline watchthisspace

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 637
  • Avast! What the pros use
Re:Prevx - Intrusion Prevention
« Reply #34 on: September 30, 2004, 03:00:53 AM »
Sounds and looks like a nifty program, I'm gonna download it when I get my computer back  :'(  ;D

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re:Prevx - Intrusion Prevention
« Reply #35 on: September 30, 2004, 03:13:50 AM »
I'm gonna download it when I get my computer back  :'(  ;D

Was it stolen from you?  ;D
« Last Edit: October 01, 2004, 12:58:03 AM by Technical »
The best things in life are free.

Offline GF

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • I'm a lobster!
Re:Prevx - Intrusion Prevention
« Reply #36 on: September 30, 2004, 11:20:53 PM »
Prevx has tonight started interfering with Avast updates generating 14 of these alerts within 2 seconds of boot and without giving the option to deny or allow.

Prevx prevented process ASHSERV.EXE[672] accessing a protected system file

Process: ASHSERV.EXE
Path: C:\PROGRAM FILES\ALWIL SOFTWARE\AVAST4\ASHSERV.EXE
Pid: 672
Parentprocess: SERVICES.EXE
Parentpath: C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\SERVICES.EXE
Pid: 696

tried file: C:\PROGRAM FILES\ALWIL SOFTWARE\AVAST4\SETUP\SETIFACE.DLL
AccessFlags: 0x130196
ParentAccess: 0x0
CreateDisposition: 0x5
Security Setting causing this alert: DLL modification protection

This only started tonight after I updated Prevx, so I guess it's somthing in the way prevx monitors the system rather than a change in the way avast updates that is causing the problem.  Anyone getting the same problem?

If I update avast manually Prevx gives me the option to allow.

Offline inthewildteam

  • Advanced Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 772
  • Computers can do that?
Re:Prevx - Intrusion Prevention
« Reply #37 on: October 01, 2004, 12:20:57 AM »
@ GF

Just above the "block" button in the pop-up warning window is a box.  Click it and choose from the options to allow the process (avast! is trusted  :)
You'll probably have to do this for each avast! process that you listed.

I did this and it's allowing manual and auto updates again.
So? I drive a Citroen

Offline watchthisspace

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 637
  • Avast! What the pros use
Re:Prevx - Intrusion Prevention
« Reply #38 on: October 01, 2004, 12:26:59 AM »
I'm gonna download it when I get my computer back  :'(  ;D

Was is stolen from you?  ;D
nope, my brother took it because my LG cd-rom drive was crashing my computer when a CD was put in it and my LG CD-RW drive was burning at very low speeds even when nero was set for it to burn a highest speen and the CD=RW wasnt reading program installers off cds  :'(

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 46297
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:Prevx - Intrusion Prevention
« Reply #39 on: October 01, 2004, 12:27:30 AM »
Apparently the update must have gotten rid of all or some of the info reguarding allowed sites and programs. I've had to give permission on a lot of things again not only avast.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 21.6, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline inthewildteam

  • Advanced Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 772
  • Computers can do that?
Re:Prevx - Intrusion Prevention
« Reply #40 on: October 01, 2004, 12:32:56 AM »
@ Bob3160, it's only been avast! so far, but it'll probably be the same for some of my other programmes too.  I'll try updating Tauscan, Adaware and Spybot and see if that triggers the alarm window.

Small price to pay for having the system files etc. protected I think!

 :) :) :)

Quick edit, just had to do it for adaware update Bob.
« Last Edit: October 01, 2004, 12:36:04 AM by inthewildteam »
So? I drive a Citroen

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 46297
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:Prevx - Intrusion Prevention
« Reply #41 on: October 01, 2004, 12:45:29 AM »
inthewildteam:
I've also had to do it for each instant messaging program as sombody sent me a message. This thing doesn't miss a trick. (sometimes it's a pain in the duper but I guess that's the price of having protection.)
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 21.6, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline inthewildteam

  • Advanced Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 772
  • Computers can do that?
Re:Prevx - Intrusion Prevention
« Reply #42 on: October 01, 2004, 12:53:52 AM »
inthewildteam:
I've also had to do it for each instant messaging program as sombody sent me a message. This thing doesn't miss a trick. (sometimes it's a pain in the duper but I guess that's the price of having protection.)

 :D Had no problems updating Spybot or Tauscan, and I don't use any i.m clients myself.  Probably have the same problem if my youngest daughter logs on here though, she uses them and also p2p!

I think you've hit on something important here though.  You or I work through the warning pop-ups no problem, a new user with this installed might be very confused or worried by them.  Personally I'd rather have the programme do it, but I can see a downside for some users being quite panicked by the warning windows especially if they are new to computers.
So? I drive a Citroen

Offline watchthisspace

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 637
  • Avast! What the pros use
Re:Prevx - Intrusion Prevention
« Reply #43 on: October 01, 2004, 04:46:44 AM »
just a qucik question, how much RAM does prevex use?



Watchthisspace

Offline Negeltu

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 350
Re:Prevx - Intrusion Prevention
« Reply #44 on: October 01, 2004, 10:11:24 AM »
PXAgent.exe is using 2.70MB and SAGUI.exe is using 2.44MB until I bring up the GUI for PrevX then it goes up to 3.31MB.