Author Topic: [6.0.1044] Avast Running a Full System scan automatically and loops  (Read 19846 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11808
    • AVAST Software
Re: [6.0.1044] Avast Running a Full System scan automatically and loops
« Reply #15 on: March 29, 2011, 07:01:21 PM »
But a shutdown (or reboot) of the machine didn't stop that? That's kinda strange (and scary)...

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85945
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: [6.0.1044] Avast Running a Full System scan automatically and loops
« Reply #16 on: March 29, 2011, 07:09:35 PM »
@ Igor
OK, DavidRAvastSvc.7z (80,440KB) has been uploaded, can you confirm it has been received ?

FireFTP worked this time and is reporting success, received OK.

No a reboot didn't make it bat an eyelid, as soon as avast was up and running it was right back at it looping like a good-un. I couldn't get into the settings to cancel the schedule, hence my lash-up of hacking the avasy5.ini which worked after a fashion.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.9.2494 (build 21.9.6698.703) UI 1.0.672/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11808
    • AVAST Software
Re: [6.0.1044] Avast Running a Full System scan automatically and loops
« Reply #17 on: March 29, 2011, 08:12:59 PM »
Yes, the file is there.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85945
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: [6.0.1044] Avast Running a Full System scan automatically and loops
« Reply #18 on: March 29, 2011, 08:31:41 PM »
Thanks for the confirmation.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.9.2494 (build 21.9.6698.703) UI 1.0.672/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline chrisaroz

  • Avast Reseller
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: [6.0.1044] Avast Running a Full System scan automatically and loops
« Reply #19 on: March 29, 2011, 11:57:40 PM »
Were seeing this both internally and across a HUGE section of our clients - at least a dozen have contacted us. This is entirely unacceptable! Can we please get someone from Avast to step in and help? Window XP, Windows Vista, Windows 7 x86, x64, nothing that is consistent about the machines, both Free and Paid versions.

Offline Nesivos

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1352
  • Artists Rendering of New Pauley Pavilion @ UCLA
Re: [6.0.1044] Avast Running a Full System scan automatically and loops
« Reply #20 on: March 30, 2011, 12:23:59 AM »
I noticed that in the "Full System Scan"-----"Scan" one of the pre-set scans is something called "QuickStartupMem"

This is a preselected area to scan.

I don't believe that "QuickStartupMem" is available as a scan area in any of the other Default Scans or Custom Scans.

OS: W7-SP1, Security: AIS 7, SAS Pro, WinPatrol Plus Network:2 Dell 570MT x64 1 Dell 660 Desktop with 8GB RAM Default Browser & Email: Firefox & Thunderbird latest Betas

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11808
    • AVAST Software
Re: [6.0.1044] Avast Running a Full System scan automatically and loops
« Reply #21 on: March 30, 2011, 12:29:28 AM »
True, but unrelated.

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11808
    • AVAST Software
Re: [6.0.1044] Avast Running a Full System scan automatically and loops
« Reply #22 on: March 30, 2011, 01:05:14 AM »
Seems like I'm still missing some key information... if I just knew what it might be.
If (anybody who had the problem) you schedule a new (well, doesn't have to be a new, but simply some) a task again - does the same problem appear again?

Offline Nesivos

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1352
  • Artists Rendering of New Pauley Pavilion @ UCLA
OS: W7-SP1, Security: AIS 7, SAS Pro, WinPatrol Plus Network:2 Dell 570MT x64 1 Dell 660 Desktop with 8GB RAM Default Browser & Email: Firefox & Thunderbird latest Betas

Offline kbav

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: [6.0.1044] Avast Running a Full System scan automatically and loops
« Reply #24 on: March 30, 2011, 01:06:57 AM »
Hmm... maybe the scheduler got crazy from the DST time change last weekend?
So what are the common variables?
- all were "monthly" schedules for the 1st day of the month, or some were different?
- was it always the full system scan? (even though I don't think this is relevant)
- was your computer turned on during the DST change? was it turned off ever since that?
- all were avast! 6?


Mine was monthly scan set for the first of the month
Was full system scan
Computer was turned on during DST change but that change was last week for me.
Avast 6.0.1000 on XP sp3

Maybe since the problem scan started on 3/29/2011 rather than 4/1/2011 (as scheduled), there is some bug related to the fact that Feb. has 28 days and for some reason the day after 1 month later than 2/28/11 is being seen as 3/29/11.

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11808
    • AVAST Software
Re: [6.0.1044] Avast Running a Full System scan automatically and loops
« Reply #25 on: March 30, 2011, 01:16:58 AM »
Hmm, interesting idea...
Since when was the computer running (i.e. when was the last time Windows booted - before the problem appeared) - approximately?

Offline Nesivos

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1352
  • Artists Rendering of New Pauley Pavilion @ UCLA
Re: [6.0.1044] Avast Running a Full System scan automatically
« Reply #26 on: March 30, 2011, 01:23:52 AM »
On a Full System scan what happens to the scheduled Full System Scan when you have the scheduled scan set for the 29th, 30th or 31st of the month and the month has fewer days in it than the scheduled scan date; e.g Feb?

Does Avast just skip that scan for Feb?







That is kind of what I was thinking that the problem might be related to Feb having only 28 calendar days.

Maybe the scan goes into a loop because of how the program handles the monthly day count.

It may not be exactly the same thing but along the same lines

Just a thought

« Last Edit: March 30, 2011, 01:27:05 AM by Nesivos »
OS: W7-SP1, Security: AIS 7, SAS Pro, WinPatrol Plus Network:2 Dell 570MT x64 1 Dell 660 Desktop with 8GB RAM Default Browser & Email: Firefox & Thunderbird latest Betas

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11808
    • AVAST Software
Re: [6.0.1044] Avast Running a Full System scan automatically and loops
« Reply #27 on: March 30, 2011, 01:28:05 AM »
Well yes, it does just skip that - but it doesn't explain why it should start looping on the next month...
(And most of all, why even a reboot wouldn't help; nothing pre-computed is persisted on disk, it's recomputed on the next boot again... - like if you'd just create a new schedule)  ???
« Last Edit: March 30, 2011, 01:31:28 AM by igor »

Offline kbav

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: [6.0.1044] Avast Running a Full System scan automatically and loops
« Reply #28 on: March 30, 2011, 01:39:33 AM »
Hmm, interesting idea...
Since when was the computer running (i.e. when was the last time Windows booted - before the problem appeared) - approximately?

computer has been running pretty continuously; don't reboot very often.  I tried to recreate the problem by scheduling various scans but i can't get it to start a scheduled scan  with schedule set for daily and time set a few minutes in advance (i.e. its 7:35pm now so I scheduled a daily quickscan to start at 19:37 but nothing started.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85945
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: [6.0.1044] Avast Running a Full System scan automatically and loops
« Reply #29 on: March 30, 2011, 01:54:05 AM »
I will reschedule the full system scan, but I don't know how much use that will be considering I messed the default full system scan up by deleting the task in avast5.ini, Whilst I have recreated the scan (was just named ????) after I deleted it in avast5.ini and rebooted.

So I doubt it is now considered a default pre-defined Full System scan. I will reschedule my win7 one as I only changed the SchedulerEnabled=1 to SchedulerEnabled=0 so it should be the pre-defined scan as it was.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.9.2494 (build 21.9.6698.703) UI 1.0.672/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security