Author Topic: Why is IE required?  (Read 15397 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Mele20

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
  • I'm a llama!
Re:Why is IE required?
« Reply #15 on: September 26, 2004, 02:31:49 AM »
I understand now why IE is required and I am fine with that. I know that IE is core to Windows and that Windows uses IE to display help files.

Technical, I haven't installed it yet.  I will today.  

The only reason I asked about IE's involvement was because I thought it possible that avast! required Active X to do updating and that would bother me.  However, needing IE so that Windows can display the help files properly is perfectly acceptable to me.

Again, thanks everyone.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67269
Re:Why is IE required?
« Reply #16 on: September 26, 2004, 02:51:43 AM »
I thought it possible that avast! required Active X to do updating and that would bother me.

Well, you're on the right place so...  8)
No need of ActiveX  ;)
The best things in life are free.

Offline Mele20

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
  • I'm a llama!
Re:Why is IE required?
« Reply #17 on: September 26, 2004, 03:39:24 AM »
I have another question though. I see that it installs a lot of protection that I don't need. Can I disable email, P2P and instant message protection after installing?  I need an on demand scanner for scanning floppies and any files I download to disk before executing.  I would also need a resident scanner if the only way to detect archives is to unzip first.  I don't do P2P or instant messaging and my ISP scans all incoming and outgoing mail plus I never, ever open an attachment that I am expecting (I delete all others) without first saving to disk and then scanning.

Don't get me wrong, I think all the extra protection is great if you need it, but I didn't see a way to exclude any of those things from installing if you don't need them so I hope there is a way to disable them after the installation. I especially do NOT want an email scanner.

S.Z.Craftec

  • Guest
Re:Why is IE required?
« Reply #18 on: September 26, 2004, 03:53:37 AM »
No problems at all... you can disable any of those providers that you don't use. I don't use P2P programs either. Instant messaging provider never ran on my machine. Outlook/Exchange - disable it if you don't use MS Outlook (completely different program than Outlook Express, but of course you already know that).

If you are 100% sure your ISP checks your incoming and outgoing mails of viruses, you can disable Internet mail provider (Outlook Express) as well... why not ?

Script blocking provider is very useful if you use IE... if not, then still it can be very useful if you use Mozilla, because it works with Mozilla too. Unfortunately, Firefox is not supported, and it looks it will never be...

Cheers !
« Last Edit: September 26, 2004, 03:55:02 AM by Craftec »

Offline Mele20

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
  • I'm a llama!
Re:Why is IE required?
« Reply #19 on: September 26, 2004, 04:15:17 AM »
Thanks! I'll go ahead and install it.  As for the script blocking provider I do use Mozilla as well as FF. I have Script Sentry also.

My ISP is Road Runner and they use Symantec Corp to scan all incoming and outgoing mail.  I have tested it and it catches and strips any infected attachment that Symantec detects. My other mail provider is dslreports and they use Kaspersky to scan all incoming mail and they just drop all infected mail.  I don't get a lot of mail either so I am not in the situation that many are in where an email scanner is quite necessary.

S.Z.Craftec

  • Guest
Re:Why is IE required?
« Reply #20 on: September 26, 2004, 04:51:00 AM »
And additional precaution... you can disable PREVIEW PANE in Outlook Express, or even in Outlook. That way, mail messages won't open right away as soon as you click on them... that will give you some extra time to check those names who is sending you and what. If you don't know who is that person that sends you e-mail, especially if it has some strange attachment attached, just delete it and story is over. You don't have to open it to see what's inside... of course, it will not be a bomb  ;D, but it can be something more nastier, something that your computer won't like at all.

I'm always telling to my customers: "... don't be too curious when it comes to newly arrived e-mails from some unknown sources... believe me, there is nothing inside of them that can make your life better... NO ONE WILL EVER SEND YOU SOME MONEY OR SOMETHING VALUABLE FOR NOTHING... don't trust those "sweet" looking mails, they can cost you a lot."

Cheers and good luck with your new antivirus. You won't regret if you install it. I hope you'll like all those skins as well. Of course, they are not so important for antivirus product, but still... they make your antivirus tool more attractive (I hope).

Sasha

Offline Mele20

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
  • I'm a llama!
Re:Why is IE required?
« Reply #21 on: September 26, 2004, 08:20:06 AM »
Thank you for the additional advice. I have never used preview pane in OE, I read all mail in plain text only and if I don't know the sender but am unsure if the email might be from a legitimate source, I read it from properties/details/message source first.  

I'm not a click happy newbie but if I were, your advice is excellent. :)  


S.Z.Craftec

  • Guest
Re:Why is IE required?
« Reply #22 on: September 26, 2004, 01:37:25 PM »
Thank you for the additional advice. I have never used preview pane in OE, I read all mail in plain text only and if I don't know the sender but am unsure if the email might be from a legitimate source, I read it from properties/details/message source first.  

I'm not a click happy newbie but if I were, your advice is excellent. :)  



I know you are not a newbie and you shouldn't take it as insult. I know that you appreciate my trying to help you, and I can see it from here:
Quote
I'm not a click happy newbie but if I were, your advice is excellent. :)]I'm not a click happy newbie but if I were, your advice is excellent. :)
...but please, try to understand me... like it or not, you may be very experienced user, but still you are newbie in these forums. We (technical support) are very patient with everybody who visits these forums, and we treat everybody exactly the same way... there is so many total beginners out there, and believe me, they don't like to hear our "expert" language when they desperatelly seek for some basic help...

I couldn't possibly know are you novice, intermediate or expert. So, don't take anyone's advice in these forums as insult or something like that... I posted almost 2000 posts in these forums and believe me, I know what I'm talking about...  ;) I know you are not ungrateful, you seems like happy avast! user, and user with good knowledge, so take those advices as trying to help and nothing else.

Have a nice day and stick around. Your help in these forums would be much appreciated... of course, if you have some spare time.

Cheers !
« Last Edit: September 26, 2004, 01:41:54 PM by Craftec »

Offline RJARRRPCGP

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
Re:Why is IE required?
« Reply #23 on: September 27, 2004, 07:09:07 AM »
I understand now why IE is required and I am fine with that. I know that IE is core to Windows and that Windows uses IE to display help files.

Microsoft has you believing that, but at least with Windows 9x and Windows 2000, it's possible to run Windows without IE, except for the small part, which is for MSHTML, the Microsoft HTML rendering engine.

98 Lite and 2000 Lite by default leave that small part of IE installed.

BTW, Microsoft has gotten criticized before for integrating IE. There may literally be a court order to stop Microsoft from integrating IE with Windows.
« Last Edit: September 27, 2004, 07:10:41 AM by RJARRRPCGP »
Asus A7V8X-X motherboard BIOS 1005 (5/8/2003)-Athlon XP T-bred 2400+-512 MB PC2700 DDR SDRAM-Maxtor 60 GB 6Y060P0 HDD-eVGA GeForce 4 Ti 4200 64 MB DDR -SoundBlaster Audio PCI 128-Antec True 430 power supply-

S.Z.Craftec

  • Guest
Re:Why is IE required?
« Reply #24 on: September 27, 2004, 12:08:20 PM »
Coourt orders to aside. I wish all the best to Microsoft as well to all other companies. Live and let others live. If they are capable to survive in all conditions, that's plus for them... However, I don't have problems with IE. Always up to date, as soo as some patch comes out of Microsoft shop, it's installed in here, runing avast! Pro with script blocker, and don't have any single problem.

Off-topic - RJARRRPCGP - I have exactly the same motherboard as you. I see you still running BIOS v.1005. There is download of the latest BIOS version which is btw v.1010 (Oct.10th 2004), available on the official ASUS web site. See here:

http://www.asus.com/support/download/item.aspx?ModelName=A7N8X-X

It's actual release, not BETA version. I updated mine and no problems at all. Actually, I migrated from 1009 to 1010. That's only in case you are interested, if not... no big deal, just forget I mentioned anything...   :D

Cheers !
« Last Edit: September 27, 2004, 12:08:47 PM by Craftec »

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 41761
  • 59 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:Why is IE required?
« Reply #25 on: September 27, 2004, 04:49:12 PM »
RJARRRPCGP
Is Microsoft forcing you to use IE or are you using a different browser?
Did you have to pay extra for IE or was it free? ;D
Free avast! Security Seminar: https://goo.gl/kh3cqR  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1903 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 19.6.xxxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline softwareguy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 245
  • WARNING! Worm Found!
Re:Why is IE required?
« Reply #26 on: September 27, 2004, 05:14:56 PM »
Also avast! uses IE to display its Pro interface... :)
Ummm... ActiveX... That's why I hated McAfee so much, they depended on ActiveX scripting so much that they would not stop... sighs :)

Avast - Your Worms Extinguisher

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67269
Re:Why is IE required?
« Reply #27 on: September 27, 2004, 05:24:19 PM »
Also avast! uses IE to display its Pro interface... :)

Althogh, technically, it seems the same problem, you're right, you won't see any html file (or interface)... But, again, can somebody download windows updates without IE in the 'background', I mean, use the website...  ::)
The best things in life are free.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 41761
  • 59 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:Why is IE required?
« Reply #28 on: September 27, 2004, 05:40:58 PM »
Technical,
In order to use the windows update site, you need IE or and IE based browser. There are other sites where the updates can be obtained where IE isn't needed but, you would have to know exactly which update you need.
Free avast! Security Seminar: https://goo.gl/kh3cqR  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1903 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 19.6.xxxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 82079
  • No support PMs thanks
Re:Why is IE required?
« Reply #29 on: September 27, 2004, 05:43:15 PM »
But, again, can somebody download windows updates without IE in the 'background', I mean, use the website...  ::)

I used to be able to access the v4.windowsupdate site using Avant (an IE core based browser), however since the upgrade to v5.windowsupdate, I can no longer access the updates with Avant and have efectively been forced to use IE.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 19.8.2393 (build 19.8.4793.541) UI-1.0.415/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ WinPatrol+/