Author Topic: Behaviour Shield  (Read 3316 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Bellzemos

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 621
Behaviour Shield
« on: April 05, 2011, 09:49:05 PM »
Should I set it to "ask" or "auto-decide"? Now it asks me stuff during program installations (eg. when I was installing WinRAR)? Will it mess up program installation if I set it to "auto-decide" or will it allow everything?

Another thing: I would like to remove Avast icon from my desktop (I never use it since I already have the Avast baloon in the lower right corner) - can I just delete it or will this cause an error (or warning maybe)? I would also like to remove my Firefox desktop icon.

Thank you!
Intel Core i7 Q 740 @ 1.73 GHz, 6 GB RAM, Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1, Avast! Free Antivirus, Malwarebytes Anti-Malware (free version) and Sandboxie (paid version).

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Re: Behaviour Shield
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2011, 10:01:49 PM »
Auto-decide could block if necessary.
If you want control, set "ask".

Just delete the desktop link. No problems.
The best things in life are free.

Offline Bellzemos

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 621
Re: Behaviour Shield
« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2011, 08:40:52 PM »
Hm, I'm always clicking on "allow" so that a program installtion can finish normally. Should I set it to automatic? How have you set it? And yes, I deleted Avast and Firefox links without problems, thank you. :)
Intel Core i7 Q 740 @ 1.73 GHz, 6 GB RAM, Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1, Avast! Free Antivirus, Malwarebytes Anti-Malware (free version) and Sandboxie (paid version).

Nesivos

  • Guest
Re: Behaviour Shield
« Reply #3 on: April 07, 2011, 08:54:41 PM »
Hm, I'm always clicking on "allow" so that a program installtion can finish normally. Should I set it to automatic? How have you set it? And yes, I deleted Avast and Firefox links without problems, thank you. :)

Do you really want a program to install and run before you have the final say on it?

Unless you continually installing and running new programs the best thing to do is to set it to "Ask" and then add it to the approved list once it asks.  That way it will only show the first time that it runs.

Better to have a final "audit" so to speak over new programs before they install and run.  At least that is my opinion

You really don't have to delete the icon.  In fact I would say don't do that.

Here is what I would suggest.

Right click on the "Task Bar"----click on "Properties"-----click on "Customize"---------Then find the Avast icon in the left column.  Go to the right column and click the down arrow and click on "Only show notifications".   If your really don't want the icon to appear on your "Task Bar" at all then click on "Hide icons and notifications"  Then click on "Okay".  The icon will now not show on your "Task Bar" but will show if you click the "Hidden Icons" up arrow on your "Task Bar".

Offline Bellzemos

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 621
Re: Behaviour Shield
« Reply #4 on: April 08, 2011, 05:53:19 PM »
I removed my Avast desktop link, not Avast's "little orange baloon".

Do you really want a program to install and run before you have the final say on it?

Well, yes, because if it asks me in the middle of an installation procedure (at least that's how I've experienced it so far) then it doesn't matter - if I tought that installing a certain program is good for me when I double-clicked on its installation file, then I think I'll probably think just the same a few seconds later. I'd like to set ti to automatic but am afraid that it would cause incomplete insallations etc. That's why I'm asking about it here, to learn. Anyway, thank you for your comment. :)
Intel Core i7 Q 740 @ 1.73 GHz, 6 GB RAM, Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1, Avast! Free Antivirus, Malwarebytes Anti-Malware (free version) and Sandboxie (paid version).

BTCentral

  • Guest
Re: Behaviour Shield
« Reply #5 on: April 08, 2011, 05:59:12 PM »
Should I set it to "ask" or "auto-decide"? Now it asks me stuff during program installations (eg. when I was installing WinRAR)? Will it mess up program installation if I set it to "auto-decide" or will it allow everything?
I have never had any problems with legitimate program installation with this set to auto-decide :)

Hope this helps!

Offline Para-Noid

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6700
  • Trust only what you test yourself!
Re: Behaviour Shield
« Reply #6 on: April 08, 2011, 11:00:38 PM »
I suggest you set to "ask" as this will give you the final say. If it's a program you trust select it as a "trusted" program. No need to make things difficult. Remember "keep it simple". I like to have some level of control. I have mine set to "ask". But to each his own. As far as the icon goes just click and drag to the recycle bin.
« Last Edit: April 08, 2011, 11:02:16 PM by Para-Noid »
Dell Inspiron, Win10x64--HP Envy Win10x64--Both systems Avast Free v17.9.2322, Comodo Firewall v8.2 w/D+, MalwareBytes v3.0, OpenDNS, Super Anti-Spyware, Spyware Blaster, MCShield, Unchecky, Vivaldi Browser and, various browser security tools.

"Look before you leap!" Use online scanners before you click on any link.

Offline Bellzemos

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 621
Re: Behaviour Shield
« Reply #7 on: April 09, 2011, 05:42:45 PM »
I will set it to auto-decide (as this is also the default setting). Thank you both for your comments.
Intel Core i7 Q 740 @ 1.73 GHz, 6 GB RAM, Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1, Avast! Free Antivirus, Malwarebytes Anti-Malware (free version) and Sandboxie (paid version).

Hermite15

  • Guest
Re: Behaviour Shield
« Reply #8 on: April 09, 2011, 05:45:22 PM »

Another thing: I would like to remove Avast icon from my desktop (I never use it since I already have the Avast baloon in the lower right corner) - can I just delete it or will this cause an error (or warning maybe)? I would also like to remove my Firefox desktop icon.

Thank you!

okay... don't know how long you've been using computers, these are just shortcuts ;) ... they can be deleted, re-created at will if needed etc... they're not the files they're pointing to.